lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: What a nice jungle... errr.... ice field.... err... lunar surface... err...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-08-2003, 03:46 PM   #1
RenikDelan
 
RenikDelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 102
What a nice jungle... errr.... ice field.... err... lunar surface... err...

Hey all,
This is a two part question. And of course, you know I like to ask the nearly impossible questions, so this oughta be interesting.

1) For Quake/HL/etc, the skyboxes are make up of seperate images to make up an enviroment. Is there a way to convert that to a sky shader for easier use?

2) Regardless of the answer to Question #1, is there a way to hit a button and change the skybox/shader? I heard there was a way to change textures, so texture-wise, I think it would be similar... if it was changing all 6 images in the skybox, it should be just a trigger_multiple, right?
RenikDelan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-08-2003, 09:43 PM   #2
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Re: What a nice jungle... errr.... ice field.... err... lunar surface... err...

Quote:
Originally posted by RenikDelan
1) For Quake/HL/etc, the skyboxes are make up of seperate images to make up an enviroment. Is there a way to convert that to a sky shader for easier use?
Huh? Skyboxes are always made out of a sky shader. What exactly are you asking here?

I've never tried this, but...you might be able to make your skybox into a func_usable, so that it could be "toggled" invisible or visible...just so long as you've got a structural hull behind it. Or, maybe...making the sky shader have an animmap line...


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2003, 10:50 AM   #3
Mr. Chopper
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 139
That's what I was going to suggest... you beat me to it. :P
Mr. Chopper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-09-2003, 01:21 PM   #4
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Re: What a nice jungle... errr.... ice field.... err... lunar surface... err...

Quote:
Originally posted by RenikDelan
1) For Quake/HL/etc, the skyboxes are make up of seperate images to make up an enviroment. Is there a way to convert that to a sky shader for easier use?
It's the same way for JK2. There are 6 separate images that make up the sky (environment) combined by the sky shader.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2003, 07:35 PM   #5
RenikDelan
 
RenikDelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 102
Re: Re: What a nice jungle... errr.... ice field.... err... lunar surface... err...

Quote:
Originally posted by Eldritch
It's the same way for JK2. There are 6 separate images that make up the sky (environment) combined by the sky shader.
But how do you/can you turn those 6 images into that one sky shader is what I guess im trying to get at.
RenikDelan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2003, 06:37 AM   #6
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
By using the sky shader code as described in the Q3 Shader Manual.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2003, 12:30 PM   #7
RenikDelan
 
RenikDelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally posted by Eldritch
By using the sky shader code as described in the Q3 Shader Manual.
Sweeeeet... now, getting back to the other part of my question, can I use a button to toggle between, say, five different sky shaders? Like hit it once for ice, again for forest, again, again, again..... and it just loops back to the first after the fifth?
RenikDelan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-11-2003, 06:19 PM   #8
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
I'm not sure if it will let you toggle between sky shaders.

But if it does, you could only toggle between 2 on one switch in MP. Of course, you could use multiple switches, but will all those skies you'd probably take a significant FPS hit (if it even lets you do it).

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > What a nice jungle... errr.... ice field.... err... lunar surface... err...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.