lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Bodies disappear too quick!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-23-2003, 09:51 AM   #1
Sith_Chick
Rookie
 
Sith_Chick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Exclamation Bodies disappear too quick!

Is there anyway to make them last longer? It is useful to see the trail of dead to keep track of where you came from (you have to be rather close to see the dropped weapons).
Sith_Chick is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2003, 10:00 AM   #2
Scoundrel
Rookie
 
Scoundrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 116
Yes, just type this in to the console:
g_corpseremovaltime 0

Od course, you need to type devmapall first, or helpusobi 1.
Scoundrel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2003, 10:20 AM   #3
Sith_Chick
Rookie
 
Sith_Chick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Are the options all or nothing or can I just make them fade slower (say, afer a couple mins)?
Sith_Chick is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2003, 10:52 AM   #4
Starfire13
Rookie
 
Starfire13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 165
You can set it to any value you want.

I have it set to:
g_corpseremovaltime 120

Turning off corpse-removal causes massive slowdowns on my system (and that's with 1 Gig of RAM).


Starfire
I am the "who" when you call "Who's there?"...
I am the wind blowing through your hair...
Starfire13 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2003, 11:29 AM   #5
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Stafire13
Turning off corpse-removal causes massive slowdowns on my system (and that's with 1 Gig of RAM).
funny, i have 256mb and i don't get slowdowns.


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2003, 01:18 PM   #6
Mr.Hawai
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
you can also change the g_corpseremoveltime command in the jaconfig file. then you dont have to use the console all the time.

however, the dismembered body parts still dissapear, is there a way to make them stay like the corpses?
Mr.Hawai is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2003, 01:30 PM   #7
Kstar__2
chaos
 
Kstar__2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: a dreamers wish, wispering in the air
Posts: 4,155
Quote:
Originally posted by Stafire13
You can set it to any value you want.

I have it set to:
g_corpseremovaltime 120

Turning off corpse-removal causes massive slowdowns on my system (and that's with 1 Gig of RAM).
that's because the current OS systems aren't compatible with that amounth of RAM, i think.



+[size=0.5]http://kstar.deviantart.com[/size]
Kstar__2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2003, 02:20 PM   #8
StormHammer
Fallen Jedi
 
StormHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Outer spiral arm of the galaxy
Posts: 5,437
10 year veteran! 
Quote:
Originally posted by Kstar__2
that's because the current OS systems aren't compatible with that amounth of RAM, i think.
Win98 and WinME can only recognise/utilise 512Mb RAM, I believe. I think Win XP recognises (and utilises) whatever is available on your system.
StormHammer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2003, 05:17 PM   #9
DarkangelFOG
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 19
I believe a server can enable this, too. Thanks for reminding me about it, I'm going to try that. I won't to an overkill length of course, but we'll see.
DarkangelFOG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2003, 05:25 PM   #10
Avitor
 
Avitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally posted by Scoundrel
Yes, just type this in to the console:
g_corpseremovaltime 0

Od course, you need to type devmapall first, or helpusobi 1.
Quote:
Originally posted by ChangKhan[RAVEN]
just a note about "devmapall". "devmapall" is just a variation on the "devmap" command which loads a map with cheats enabled. There's no reason to type "devmapall". The "all" on it just tells the game to reload *all* the assets fresh, to not use the cached models, skins, sounds, textures, bsp file, etc. If you're not changing assets and reloading a map, don't use devmapall because it will just make your load times longer. "devmap" will work just fine.

Also, technically, you don't need to type "devmap" to enable cheats. You can load a map or savegame, then type "helpusobi 1" to enable cheats.


"He was a wise man who invented beer." - Plato
Avitor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2003, 05:57 AM   #11
DarthCobra
 
DarthCobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 380
Maybe its just me... But that cvar does not exist. Nor can i find any other cvar that leaves the bodies around for a while.


Just relized thats for SP. Anyone know the MP setting?



The Goal of a Sith is to fight without thought.
There is no pain where strength lies.

Last edited by DarthCobra; 10-31-2003 at 02:58 AM.
DarthCobra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2003, 10:18 AM   #12
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
RAM my ASS !!

Quote:
Originally posted by Kstar__2
that's because the current OS systems aren't compatible with that amounth of RAM, i think.
as Stormie said, xp comes closest to being able to being able to utilize this much RAM. go check out some benchmarking numbers,
OS's of the current day are just not set up to be be able to maximise RAM functionality to that extent....

1 gig RAM, if you put a ferrari F1 engine in your dad's winnibago, does that mean he can win the F1 championship ???

MTFBWYA


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2003, 11:32 AM   #13
BJP3E
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: MN USA
Posts: 304
whats odd about the system specs

so long as you talk about memory and such

I upgraded from a

PII 400
Win98
256 Ram
16 MB Nvidia card
max res 1600x1200

to a
P4 2.20 Ghz w/ 400Mhz FSB
WinXP
512 RAM
128 MB GF FX 2500 card
max res 1600x1200

and what is odd to me is the JO runs pretty sweet most levels at maxed graphics yet I have to keep JA settings a bit less the what I can for JO or the games laggs and my system is well above the minimum for JA


BJP3E "Life will find a way."
BJP3E is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2003, 06:55 PM   #14
DarthCobra
 
DarthCobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 380
Oh this thread is dead for a month. I ask one question, and you all start talkin about memory again.

Does anyone know how to keep the dead bodies around in MP?



The Goal of a Sith is to fight without thought.
There is no pain where strength lies.

Last edited by DarthCobra; 10-31-2003 at 02:58 AM.
DarthCobra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 11:18 AM   #15
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Poor Cobra

Quote:
I ask one question, and you all start talkin about memory again.
Yeah, for God's sake, someone tell cobra how to see the dead people. :P

I'm sure I've seen this in the cheats thread.....

MTFBWYA


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 02:38 PM   #16
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,697
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
this would be for MP, and from what i saw, the g_corpseremoveltime doesnt exist in MP

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 07:16 PM   #17
StormHammer
Fallen Jedi
 
StormHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Outer spiral arm of the galaxy
Posts: 5,437
10 year veteran! 
*whispers*

"I see dead people"

Sorry...couldn't resist.

And bill's right. The MP part of JA seems to be missing some of the features that the SP part contains. The most obvious reason for this is to improve the MP performance - and to be honest, it needs all the help it can get.
StormHammer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2003, 12:51 AM   #18
DarthCobra
 
DarthCobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 380
*BUMP*



The Goal of a Sith is to fight without thought.
There is no pain where strength lies.
DarthCobra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2003, 03:22 AM   #19
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
IIRC, Win2k doesn't have the memory limitation thing either and I'd rather use that than XP. ; )


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2003, 02:01 PM   #20
Akshara
 
Akshara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: In your mind
Posts: 265
Quote:
Does anyone know how to keep the dead bodies around in MP?
I believe the answer is that you can't at this time.

Quote:
I think Win XP recognises (and utilises) whatever is available on your system.
This is correct.


Be Mindful of Your Thoughts...

-----

Online name: Zhen Jou

Last edited by Akshara; 11-03-2003 at 02:25 PM.
Akshara is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2003, 10:02 PM   #21
DarthCobra
 
DarthCobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 380
I dont belive it.

WHAT IS IT! SOMEONE TELL ME!!




The Goal of a Sith is to fight without thought.
There is no pain where strength lies.
DarthCobra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Academy > Bodies disappear too quick!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.