lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How do you make new body parts?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-24-2003, 04:52 PM   #1
Pnut_Man
Existential to the Core
 
Pnut_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,061
How do you make new body parts?

Hola. With the release of a Chiss head-addon I thought i'd start some bodypart skinning of my own. The only trouble is, I can't figure out how to add new heads to the human. If anyone can give me a quick tutorial, i'd be grateful...




- Formally hated, praised, and known as Pnut_Man
Pnut_Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 11:38 AM   #2
WhiteShdw
 
WhiteShdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 404
Hot Topic Starter 
The Chiss addon is just a skin. I'm not sure how many different head variations this addon has, but I myself am planning to release a Chiss pack with 8 different head variations(minor variations though ). I'm still working from the demo here, but when i finally get the game I'll put it out after it's been tested

. It's easy to add new skin files, but if you actually want them to show up in game, you'll have to make an icon as well.

For example, I'm assuming you've had some skinning experience: Say you want to add an extra human head skin. Just look at the existing head skins. There named a1, a2, b1, b2 and c1. Depending on the surfaces you want to use for the head(check out the different head surfaces in modview), you can just add a skin file called for example, head_a3.skin or head_b3.skin or even head_d1.skin. As long as you have a head icon to go with it and the skin has been properly made(read: works in modview)it should work in game.

Now if you want to make completely new head models, that's a whole other issue and you should ask that in the modeling thread.


"Call me c0cky, but if there's a alien out there I can't kill, I haven't met him and killed him yet".
WhiteShdw is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 06:48 PM   #3
Pnut_Man
Existential to the Core
 
Pnut_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,061
the reason I kept failing at adding new head skins--

forgot to create a models/player folder before i zipped the files up :S




- Formally hated, praised, and known as Pnut_Man
Pnut_Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 08:28 PM   #4
WhiteShdw
 
WhiteShdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 404
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally posted by Pnut_Master
the reason I kept failing at adding new head skins--

forgot to create a models/player folder before i zipped the files up :S
Hehe, you'll probably never forget again .


"Call me c0cky, but if there's a alien out there I can't kill, I haven't met him and killed him yet".
WhiteShdw is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Skinning > How do you make new body parts?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.