lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Making Maps
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-26-2003, 10:06 AM   #1
benny95
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Question Making Maps

Yo!

I have a problem when making maps!!

I made a map.

And the program named it to a map format.

That is test.map

now I can't seem to open the file.

I know now that the program opens only bsp files.

Is there some kinda program out there that can converte map files to .bsp????
benny95 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 10:10 AM   #2
Omikron
 
Omikron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 264
that wasn't exactly clear, but heres wat i think u mean.

When you make a map and save it as a .map, you can then go to the menu, and there will be something like Compile or BSP with options like FullVis, HalfVis etc.
Select one of those, and that will create the .bsp and all necessary files, but that will only work for Jedi Outcast as there aren't any tools for Jedi Academy yet, tho i think MP maps might work.




Its nice to be important but its more important to be nice - Scooter, Move Yours Ass
Gunners rule!
Omikron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 11:30 AM   #3
benny95
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
I know of bspfullvis.
I just havent tried it on Jedi outcast.
But am I suposed to rename it to .bsp to open it in SP in Jedi Outcast!?
benny95 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 11:41 AM   #4
DarthStorm
Rookie
 
DarthStorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Holland
Posts: 18
Use bsp extra to finalize your map.. fullvis for just testing
DarthStorm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 11:54 AM   #5
benny95
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
But I get the folowing messege when i try to load it

Error:

CM_Load/test.bsp has wrong
version number
(1935764579 should be
1)

What does that mean?

By the way am I suposed to name it test.map or test.bsp???
benny95 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 03:45 PM   #6
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
You open your .map file in Radiant, and when you finish with it and want to load it in game, you select a compile from the compile menu, and that will CREATE the .bsp file in the correct location for you. Here's an explanation of what happens.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 07:16 PM   #7
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
Are you trying to run this map in Jedi Academy?

And note, don't ever manually change the extentions on the files.
.map files are general editor-ready files, and .bsp files are compiled maps that the engine can directly read. You always require a compiler to change a .map into a workable .bsp file.


I don't like quake, never liked quake, and don't like Star Wars quake. So basically jk2mp.exe never gets used on my computer.

Shaving is not a high priority with Jedi. Would you want to shave with a lightsaber?
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Making Maps

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:54 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.