lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Loading root.xsi in Milkshape3D
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-28-2003, 07:13 AM   #1
Hamburglar
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 9
Post Loading root.xsi in Milkshape3D

Someone called $ilk on another JK forum claims to use Milk for his player models but is vague about loading the root.xsi (from the Modelling/Skinning Tutorial pack)... this file is needed for correctly scaling and orienting your model according to the JA animations, and more importantly for weighting your mesh to.

The problem:

I'm using Milk 1.6.6a and everytime I try to load the .xsi file it crashes to desktop. I've tried Corto's new skeleton and it only loads materials (should there even be materials on a skeleton?) for some reason... no bones!

Can anyone confirm that this actually works?

Would it be worth trying an older version of Milk3d or even waiting for a newer version of the .XSI importer plugin?

Surely there has to be someone else whos trying/has successfully made JA models in Milkshape

Thanks
Hamburglar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2003, 05:40 PM   #2
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
My skeleton has only nulls (small crosses) to represent bones. If it has materials, erase them, cuz you donīt need them for the nulls.
Perhaps Milkshapeīs dotXSI importer does not support nulls, which I seriously doubt.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 07:14 AM   #3
Hamburglar
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks Corto. Unfortunately, this is as good as it gets :/

http://old.cstrike.co.nz/~hamburg/skeleton.jpg

Thats with your ja_skeleton.xsi. The root.xsi wont even load. Perhaps I'm flogging a dead horse... or a sleeping dog... or however the saying goes, but I'm a big fan of Milk3D
(It loves Half-life models. Though I suppose thats what it was designed for... go figure)


Looks like Max might be the go. Thanks for your help.
Hamburglar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 12:10 PM   #4
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
I tried it myself, and no, it doesnīt support nulls as skeleton. I guess Iīll have to make a mesh skeleton. Most of you will feel more comfortable with that anyway.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Loading root.xsi in Milkshape3D

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.