lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: A question about animation......
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-03-2003, 02:37 AM   #1
StaffMaster
Rookie
 
StaffMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ny
Posts: 95
A question about animation......

I remember readini a post where Chang said that if we wanted to create animations we needed Softimage.

Can you only use softimage?

What about StudioMax?


It is useless to resist
StaffMaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-03-2003, 02:38 AM   #2
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
3ds max works, you can probably use anything that exports to the correct dotXSI format.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-04-2003, 09:10 PM   #3
Oidar
Rookie
 
Oidar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: AA
Posts: 162
Just to clarify, you can't bring an XSI animation file over into 3dsmax. Why would you even wany to? XSI is a far superior progam if you compare the 2. The other reason I say you can't is because in order for xsi to save on file size and make it relativly small(the save file that is) everything in xsi is saved to different folders. All your textures(unless you use custom ones) and effects and stuff come with the program, unlike max where u have to buy them or download free ones. So if you send an xsi file to someone else with xsi they can open it and run in like nothing. 3Dsmax, both ppl need the same plugins, textures, ect.
Oh, and just to cliarify one more thing. trying to port an xsi animation to 3dsmax would be stupid to try and do anyway due to the different animation peramiters both programs use.
Oidar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2003, 12:07 AM   #4
Duncan_10158
 
Duncan_10158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 365
Oidar, let me guess.... you sell it?

(sorry i needed to say that)
Duncan_10158 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2003, 03:34 AM   #5
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
3D max and XSI can both create animations period. Even Wudan coded his own animation tool.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2003, 06:30 AM   #6
Oidar
Rookie
 
Oidar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: AA
Posts: 162
sell it? no. Took it for 2 years to get a degree in 3d animation and special effects yes. Its pointless to argue this, yes Psyk0Sith both create animations, but to take an animation thats been created in xsi and then port it to max is pointless, and just to shed some light on the whole creating an animation for JA, yes u can make an animation in max with a JA or custom model, but save it and convert it to xsi and try to use it and its not going to work. If you doubt me then try it, your trying to compare apples and oranges.
Sure both programs do the same thing but in totally different ways. Oh and if your still doubtful,

"How difficult will it be to make our own custom animations?
To make new animations, you’d need a copy of SoftImage… we don’t expect that many people have access to that…"
Just email
Michael Chang Gummelt @ raven. He'll tell you the same thing i just did.
Oidar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2003, 09:30 AM   #7
Duncan_10158
 
Duncan_10158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 365
you dont sell it? but i am sure you would get that job.

(sorry, dont take me serious Oidar)

seriously, you are right, Oidar. i made animations in 3ds max and it was the most difficult thing i ever made. i finaly brought about 10 animation sequences in game and it realy looked crap. its so difficult to make smooth humanlike animation without moution capturing. i dont know Softimage, but looking at the animations it must be hell good, as Oidar said.
Duncan_10158 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2003, 03:16 PM   #8
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Well yes i agree that its pointless to port it over, im talking about creating new anims from scratch with 3D max.

Ive created my own GLA's and they worked fine with modview but maybe its another story when its actually loaded in-game. I think Corto had partial success on that matter.

I also agree that'd be insane to animate all of those frames manually!.

I was also aware of that quote :

"How difficult will it be to make our own custom animations?
To make new animations, you’d need a copy of SoftImage… we don’t expect that many people have access to that…"

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2003, 03:52 PM   #9
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
I don't understand why are we going through this discussion once again.
Humanoid animations for Jedi Outcast ARE a fact, and it's a fact merging custom animations together or with Raven's humanoid animations thanks to a command line program made by ASk.
It's also a fact that all of this was accomplished with 3dsmax (the creation of a correct skeleton aswell as the new animations) and not Softimage, no matter how much more powerfull SI is.
What me and ASk found out is a realiable process to make animations for the game. I'm not, in any chance, a consumed uber animator. In fact I find it difficult and annoying, and I suck at it.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > A question about animation......

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.