lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Lighning Effects
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-18-2003, 11:54 PM   #1
TPM_Montross
Rookie
 
TPM_Montross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunrunner
Posts: 99
Question Lighning Effects

Ok one question for everybody, but first, i'm making a map with vehicles and stuff and its outside so i thought it would be cool to add rain and lightning and i used the hevil sky so it looks like its dark and raining outside, but my question is what effect do i use for lightning, it says i must specify a effect for the lightningfx key but i dont know what i should put in for a value, if anybody knows this key it would be realy helpful (i just want somthing that looks like regular blueish-white lightning)

THNX


"I'm worth more alive"

"You're worth enough, dead"
-Montross
TPM_Montross is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2003, 12:32 AM   #2
Greymon
Rookie
 
Greymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
I dont know what lightningfx key you're talking about, but lightning is available under the fx_rain entity. Assuming you're using gtkradiant 1.3.12: You can click on the box in the fx_rain that says 'heavy' and that will give you rain, fog, and lightning automatically. If you dont want to use the heavy rain check box, add 64 to your spawnflags for that entity.
Greymon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2003, 01:34 AM   #3
TPM_Montross
Rookie
 
TPM_Montross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunrunner
Posts: 99
r u sure??????????

ya if ur talking about the spawnflag box i dont see anything there so i'm realy confuzed i have 1.3.12 but i dont see anything, there are no spawnflag boxes on fx_rain, and the thing i was refering to was trigger_lighningstrike


"I'm worth more alive"

"You're worth enough, dead"
-Montross
TPM_Montross is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2003, 01:35 AM   #4
TPM_Montross
Rookie
 
TPM_Montross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunrunner
Posts: 99
Post Oh sry

sry didnt read ur full message i'll just add spawnflag 64


"I'm worth more alive"

"You're worth enough, dead"
-Montross
TPM_Montross is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2003, 01:51 AM   #5
Greymon
Rookie
 
Greymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Re: r u sure??????????

Quote:
Originally posted by TPM_Montross
ya if ur talking about the spawnflag box i dont see anything there so i'm realy confuzed i have 1.3.12 but i dont see anything, there are no spawnflag boxes on fx_rain, and the thing i was refering to was trigger_lighningstrike
OK, you dont see the spawnflags box because of a gtkradiant bug. You're in multiplayer mapping mode. Go to Project Settings. It will say SP mode, but its wrong. Change it to MP mode, then, change it back to SP mapping mode. Restart Radiant. Now you'll be in SP mapping mode and you'll have a different entities list. You should then get spawnflag boxes.
Greymon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2003, 12:19 AM   #6
TPM_Montross
Rookie
 
TPM_Montross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunrunner
Posts: 99
Question ummmmmmmmm............

Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmm, will this work if i wanna make a multiplayer map?, cause the rain works in my map on multiplayer so far


"I'm worth more alive"

"You're worth enough, dead"
-Montross
TPM_Montross is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2003, 12:19 AM   #7
TPM_Montross
Rookie
 
TPM_Montross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunrunner
Posts: 99
Re: ummmmmmmmm............

Quote:
Originally posted by TPM_Montross
Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmm, will this work if i wanna make a multiplayer map?, cause the rain works in my map on multiplayer so far
oh ya and adding 64 spawn flags hasnt worked yet i just mean regular rain


"I'm worth more alive"

"You're worth enough, dead"
-Montross
TPM_Montross is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2003, 03:03 AM   #8
Greymon
Rookie
 
Greymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Hrm, I don't know if that works in mp or not. I've only played with weather in singleplayer. Spawnflags 64 is just lightning in sp. Its not rain. If you use Heavy Rain, spawnflags 4 in sp, it automatically has lightning and mist.

I can only suggest you try those in mp and see what happens. Try switching to sp mode to learn the other keys about lgihtning.
Greymon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2003, 12:31 PM   #9
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
but wouldnt the heavy rain lag a bit?
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2003, 11:49 PM   #10
TPM_Montross
Rookie
 
TPM_Montross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunrunner
Posts: 99
Question my question is though

ya with this glitch in radiant i can make mp maps with rain but i'm afraid that if i switch to mp without the glitch then i wont be able to and i wont be able to reverse the glitch and i'll lose the ability to make mp maps with rain forever...............

basically i'm between a rock and a hard place until sombody tells me if u can make mp maps with rain after the glitch has been fixed?

Thnx


"I'm worth more alive"

"You're worth enough, dead"
-Montross
TPM_Montross is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2003, 01:36 AM   #11
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Theres certain textures that people made for jk2, that made it look like it was raining find one, and get permission to use it.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2003, 04:17 AM   #12
Greymon
Rookie
 
Greymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Re: my question is though

Quote:
Originally posted by TPM_Montross
ya with this glitch in radiant i can make mp maps with rain but i'm afraid that if i switch to mp without the glitch then i wont be able to and i wont be able to reverse the glitch and i'll lose the ability to make mp maps with rain forever...............

basically i'm between a rock and a hard place until sombody tells me if u can make mp maps with rain after the glitch has been fixed?
You're not making any sense. If you already got rain in mp, you know rain in mp works. What radiant shows you in your entity list has absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with the game and what its capable of doing.
Greymon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2003, 12:23 AM   #13
TPM_Montross
Rookie
 
TPM_Montross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunrunner
Posts: 99
Post Oh, sry.............

Oh, sry, i'm not a newb to mapping and i know my way around coding a bit, but i didnt think radiant would accept it, but as long as i can put it in there thats cool

Thanx


"I'm worth more alive"

"You're worth enough, dead"
-Montross
TPM_Montross is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2003, 12:24 AM   #14
TPM_Montross
Rookie
 
TPM_Montross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunrunner
Posts: 99
Oh ya and for luke..........

Oh ya and for lukeskywalker1 if u want to put rain in maps on radiant (at least new version) you add fx_rain to your map anywhere, u can also add weatherzones to specify where the rain goes but if you dont it'll just put rain everwhere (including indoors)

Incase u wanted to know


"I'm worth more alive"

"You're worth enough, dead"
-Montross
TPM_Montross is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 03:47 AM   #15
Druid Bremen
 
Druid Bremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Trolling in the Senate Chambers
Posts: 610
How do you make weatherzones?



My signature made by IG-64! Thanks a lot man!

The *only* thing that ALL the religions get right is that ALL the other religions are wrong, excluding this fact.
Druid Bremen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Lighning Effects

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.