lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Will these settings work for a win32 Server?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-22-2003, 07:06 PM   #1
gotcha8903
Rookie
 
gotcha8903's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central FLorida
Posts: 156
Exclamation Will these settings work for a win32 Server?

My comp has a pIV at like 2ghz, 256 ram, geforce 2 graphics card, an ethernet router to a cable connection at 11mbps, are these specs enough to host a server with the win32 program?

When i play on my server by joining from the "local" tab it lags pretty bad. Is there anything I can do to help this or will it be better if someone on a different comp joins?

Would it be better just to rent/buy a server?

-tia
------------
Master Carter
gotcha8903 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2003, 09:25 PM   #2
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
What operating system are you running on that PC? what do you have the SV_MAXRATE set at? how many people are you wanting to have on it?


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2003, 09:33 PM   #3
Amidala from Chop Shop
Politically-correct jerk
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In exile
Posts: 1,433
Your computer is more than powerful enough to be a dedicated server. But before you try to run a server and a client on the same computer, read this:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...65#post1348865

Amidala from Chop Shop is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2003, 11:30 PM   #4
gotcha8903
Rookie
 
gotcha8903's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central FLorida
Posts: 156
thanks for the replies, my operating system is xp home. The maxrate is set at 1000 but want atleast 8 people and up to 16 people to be able to play at once. I think I should set maxrate to 2000 for 16 people, is this right?

I read the thread and feel better about my servers performance when I was playing on it. Do you know if the thing about setting the server to a high priority and the game to a low priority improves performance will playing on the same machine, or will mine still lag?

-thanks again
---------------------
Master Carter
gotcha8903 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 12:50 AM   #5
Amidala from Chop Shop
Politically-correct jerk
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In exile
Posts: 1,433
The upload speed of your Internet connection determines how many people you can serve and the data rate to use. Number of players, max data rate, and Internet connection speed are all interrelated. The faster your connection is, the more people you can serve and\or use a higher data rate. The lowest data rate you should use is 4000 for acceptable performance. Say you have a 256kb\sec DSL line. 8 bits per byte, so 256kb\8 = 32,000 bytes\sec. If data rate is 4000 bytes\sec, 32,000\4,000 = 8 players. If you raise data rate to 8,000 then 32,000\8,000 = 4 players. So if you have a 256kb\sec DSL connection, you can have:

sv_maxRate = 4000
sv_maxClients = 8

or

sv_maxrate = 8000
sv_maxClients = 4

Amidala from Chop Shop is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 02:58 AM   #6
gotcha8903
Rookie
 
gotcha8903's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central FLorida
Posts: 156
thanks, ill change that.

-----
Master Carter
gotcha8903 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Dedicated Server > Will these settings work for a win32 Server?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.