lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: New CTF map pics
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-22-2003, 11:15 PM   #1
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
New CTF map pics

Here are some pics of my new Korriban based CTF map. I am looking for some good critiscism and stuff here so let me know what you think from these pictures, some of the texturing and lighting isnt done yet though. Just let me know what you think.

http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0001.jpg
http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0003.jpg
http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0005.jpg
http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0006.jpg
http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0007.jpg
http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0009.jpg
http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0012.jpg
http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0014.jpg
http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0016.jpg
http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0018.jpg
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 01:58 PM   #2
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
Also, could someone tell me where the rebel/imperial sign is in the textures? I cant find em. Thanks
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 02:29 PM   #3
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
Wrong forum. And the textures look very stretched/deformed. Architecture is.. halfway good. Lighting isn't oh-so-great.

Imperial/rebel signals are in mp/, I thought. But adding those would kill this map for sure.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 02:42 PM   #4
WadeV1589
Veteran
 
WadeV1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 952
Not looking too bad, ignore what others may think ^^^

He said textures look stretched, that's true, did you use "Fit" then like 2x1? I'd try just increasing the total numbers, say 3 across for the texture in shot 1.

The lighting is a more obvious problem though, I'd try and get some more light sources in there, perhaps more fires? For lights you're using for ambience i.e. those lights that are there simply to lighten a dark area, reduce their intensity and use more than the 1 to give a more uniform lighting

GothiX what's going on man? Last few days your posts are getting less helpful and more sarcastic or harsh.


StargateMods.com - collaborating all the Stargate mods out there.

SG4RealJA - get a bit of SG realism!
SGEgyptJA - flying and dialing a gate only to be killed by it!
WadeV1589 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 02:43 PM   #5
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
yeah I havent really got the textures nice yet. But I dont mean like the blue and red lighting. I mean just the sign. I have a place for them that will look right but I cant find em. also, how is this the wrong forum? I am looking for feedback from mappers.
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 02:45 PM   #6
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
thanks wade. What textures do you think are most stretched?
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 02:55 PM   #7
WadeV1589
Veteran
 
WadeV1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 952
I'd ignore GothiX for a few days if I were you he seems off lately, hopefully it will pass.

As for 2 fixes I see
http://sgmod.crashespad.com/misc/images/sample1.jpg
By rotate I mean in the surface inspector, rotate the texture


StargateMods.com - collaborating all the Stargate mods out there.

SG4RealJA - get a bit of SG realism!
SGEgyptJA - flying and dialing a gate only to be killed by it!
WadeV1589 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 10:51 PM   #8
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
Awesome thanks for going to the trouble of doing that . I will post more pics before I finish it too. Thanks again!
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-23-2003, 10:53 PM   #9
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
One other thing. I am not sure if there is a better way to do this but if I have two or more burshes next to eachother that arent neccsesarily the same size and I need the texture to fit perfect over the surfaces and be the right size and everything. Is there a good way to do that? That has been my main problem so far.
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-27-2003, 09:42 PM   #10
MasterSidious
Junior Member
 
MasterSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: in game getting flamed and banned
Posts: 412
Don't know about the question but pretty good map (The lighting is fine for the map, it sets a good mood for it)


FP>Sephious
67.15.20.187:29070 - FFA SO
67.15.21.115:29070 - CTF SO
67.15.18.232:29070 - Siege/FFA
Laming is tolerated
MasterSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-27-2003, 09:43 PM   #11
MasterSidious
Junior Member
 
MasterSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: in game getting flamed and banned
Posts: 412
What fps you get with all of those polygons in that on room, I forget which pic. had them


FP>Sephious
67.15.20.187:29070 - FFA SO
67.15.21.115:29070 - CTF SO
67.15.18.232:29070 - Siege/FFA
Laming is tolerated
MasterSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2003, 03:20 AM   #12
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
all of the rooms give very good fps so far, I dont have exact numbers, but you mean the room that is outside? They all run smooth
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2003, 10:07 AM   #13
WadeV1589
Veteran
 
WadeV1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally posted by Rankith
One other thing. I am not sure if there is a better way to do this but if I have two or more burshes next to eachother that arent neccsesarily the same size and I need the texture to fit perfect over the surfaces and be the right size and everything. Is there a good way to do that? That has been my main problem so far.
I presume this is because you want it to "Fit"? Texture the visible sides of both brushes, select one brush face and "Fit" it to that one, then press S to get the texture inspector and copy those values to the second brush, it will line up perfectly with the original Fit. If there's an easier way I've not come across it yet!

If you want it to "Fit" so it covers the surface of both brushes, you need to make one brush the side of both brushes (hope you get that) and Fit the texture to that, then use the clipper tool to break it into 2 and drag the edges around to the shapes you need.


StargateMods.com - collaborating all the Stargate mods out there.

SG4RealJA - get a bit of SG realism!
SGEgyptJA - flying and dialing a gate only to be killed by it!
WadeV1589 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2003, 01:37 PM   #14
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally posted by WadeV1589
I presume this is because you want it to "Fit"? Texture the visible sides of both brushes, select one brush face and "Fit" it to that one, then press S to get the texture inspector and copy those values to the second brush, it will line up perfectly with the original Fit. If there's an easier way I've not come across it yet!
Either select the first fitted surface, and hold SHIFT+CTRL and click the middle mouse button on the second surface; or, select the second surface, and click the middle mouse on the first surface. That will copy the texture and its scaling from one face to another.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 11:52 PM   #15
MasterSidious
Junior Member
 
MasterSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: in game getting flamed and banned
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally posted by Rankith
all of the rooms give very good fps so far, I dont have exact numbers, but you mean the room that is outside? They all run smooth
Ya, that's what I meant GOOD JOB ON THE MAP

are there any vehicles in it?


FP>Sephious
67.15.20.187:29070 - FFA SO
67.15.21.115:29070 - CTF SO
67.15.18.232:29070 - Siege/FFA
Laming is tolerated
MasterSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 03:16 PM   #16
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
no, its all enclosed pretty much except for that outdoor area in each base, its also fairly linear unfourtanetly
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 05:25 PM   #17
MasterSidious
Junior Member
 
MasterSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: in game getting flamed and banned
Posts: 412
I was thinking that you could, its just a thought, but you could make an underground dugeon area sort of modeled after hell with a rancor or something since the map sort of has a dungeon look to it. Just a thought though

Ya, right around pic 14, maybe I don't know


FP>Sephious
67.15.20.187:29070 - FFA SO
67.15.21.115:29070 - CTF SO
67.15.18.232:29070 - Siege/FFA
Laming is tolerated
MasterSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 06:04 PM   #18
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
Eh, yeah, sorry for my first reply. Wade, contact me on MSN, I'll explain it ton you then.

As for the more constructive criticism to this map:

-I see you used the k_wall texture (I believe) multiple times above eachother. (Shot0007 as reference) Try to use only the lower/upper part, and use stones for the other part. I guarantee a better effect.

-Play around with lighting and shadows, some highres, comp[lex shadows could definitely do justice to this map. Also, your lightsources look a lot like eachother, try to use different types of torches all around your map.

-Here's what I missed: Pillars! Use pillars and support struts in the corridors, it seems more detailed, and a lot more realistic then.

-Talking about realistic, I'd suggest getting Easygen to create better looking terrain.

-1st shot, if those boxes/graves are really that big, there might be a gameplay issue, as people can easily sneak past..


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 08:52 PM   #19
MasterSidious
Junior Member
 
MasterSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: in game getting flamed and banned
Posts: 412
Ya, that's the thing with maps on the comp. you don't actually have to put support beams to hold it togeather (DUH!) but its better because it just makes it more realistic. Just agreeing with the above post


FP>Sephious
67.15.20.187:29070 - FFA SO
67.15.21.115:29070 - CTF SO
67.15.18.232:29070 - Siege/FFA
Laming is tolerated
MasterSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 09:08 PM   #20
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
thanks for tips, gothic could you be more specific on that first one, not quite sure what ya mean by it(shot 0007). Also I have never heard of easygen
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 09:40 PM   #21
WadeV1589
Veteran
 
WadeV1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 952
GothiX, eternus_insilenti@hotmail.com ... got a new account and can't remember your MSN addy.


StargateMods.com - collaborating all the Stargate mods out there.

SG4RealJA - get a bit of SG realism!
SGEgyptJA - flying and dialing a gate only to be killed by it!
WadeV1589 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2003, 08:24 PM   #22
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
http://blargh.mine.nu/test/130/81067728094.jpg

Delete the upper one, and replace it with a brick texture.

Also, any death traps in that map? I believe there is at least one.. (Hence the HAH!)


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2003, 08:48 PM   #23
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
ok I see thanks. There will be death traps but I killed myself cause I had a couple rooms that werent connected, so that wasnt from a death trap. But there will be some
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2003, 10:24 PM   #24
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
more pics to pique(get it pic?) your interest!

http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0021.jpg http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0022.jpg http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0023.jpg http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0024.jpg http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0025.jpg

also is this what you mean gothic?

http://www.juleswebdesign.com/shot0026.jpg
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2003, 07:52 AM   #25
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
Exactly what I ment.

Now, for those new shots.. Still not much support struts, I hope those will be added later? That'd add quite some detailm to the walls. What I'm worried about more, is the foor and ceiling. The all look a bit plain.. Maybe have a window in the roof, a plateau on the floor, anything to break it up a little.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2003, 07:18 PM   #26
Rankith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
I will add support struts and the like, right now I am trying to get the level flowing so I can test the playability. Thx for feedback!
Rankith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > New CTF map pics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.