lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: making objects visable only at close distance
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-28-2003, 04:47 PM   #1
[SASH]Nathan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 49
making objects visable only at close distance

just wondering how i can make a model im using only visable when im real close to it. im using a big corridor full of models but i wnat them to kinda appear one by one as u get closer to the end of the level. any help will be awesum, nathan


www.JK2mods.com
[SASH]Nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2003, 05:29 PM   #2
WadeV1589
Veteran
 
WadeV1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 952
If you mean something simple like distance culling (keep in mind this will affect the entire map and may not work anything like you want it to) you select any normal brush then press N, type a key of "_distancecull" and a value of whatever distance you want to stop drawing at. It's usually used where there are skyboxes about or a fog hull for best results.


StargateMods.com - collaborating all the Stargate mods out there.

SG4RealJA - get a bit of SG realism!
SGEgyptJA - flying and dialing a gate only to be killed by it!
WadeV1589 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2003, 11:59 PM   #3
[SASH]Nathan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 49
naa just certain flares, rocks and plants that im making, i want them to fade into veiw, looking thru sum forums i need a shader but im not sure on the currect content of it. i need a shader for horizontial sprites if any1 knows correct one or how to do it pls. i looked at the ones with jka, had ago but they didnt work as well ( faced one way and didnt fade in or out) ill keep at it and if i found out how ill post but if any1 alse can help out there it will be great


www.JK2mods.com
[SASH]Nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 02:07 PM   #4
fahtajorj
Rookie
 
fahtajorj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 44
im just theorizing here, but would it be possible to make a entirely clear fog thats only purpose is to have distancecull set into it ?
fahtajorj is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 03:43 PM   #5
WadeV1589
Veteran
 
WadeV1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 952
An entirely clear fog...wouldn't that be...no fog?


StargateMods.com - collaborating all the Stargate mods out there.

SG4RealJA - get a bit of SG realism!
SGEgyptJA - flying and dialing a gate only to be killed by it!
WadeV1589 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 03:51 PM   #6
[SASH]Nathan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 49
guess the fog idea would work but wouldnt that be the same as adding distance cull to worldspawn? thing is i only want certain brushs to fade into distance / be visable only when close, kinda like flares on the lights or astroids in the kotor flight school map.


www.JK2mods.com
[SASH]Nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > making objects visable only at close distance

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:51 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.