lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Srf?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-21-2003, 04:12 PM   #1
fattysbox
 
fattysbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 67
Srf?

Just started out mapping, so I'm kinda newb...


WHen I go to complie my map (any BSP command) an error occurs saying that I do not have an SRF file.

Can someone please explain what this is and how do I create one? thanks.
fattysbox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2003, 04:18 PM   #2
WadeV1589
Veteran
 
WadeV1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 952
It is automatically created in the BSP phase, if you do a vis or light compile first you won't get the srf file generated, hell you won't even get a .bsp! Be sure you select one that has the word "-meta" as all those will create a BSP.


StargateMods.com - collaborating all the Stargate mods out there.

SG4RealJA - get a bit of SG realism!
SGEgyptJA - flying and dialing a gate only to be killed by it!
WadeV1589 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2003, 04:29 PM   #3
fattysbox
 
fattysbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 67
OK, that sounds like an easy fix.

On general knowledge principles, what is an srf file? and its purpose?

Thanks Wade...
fattysbox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2003, 04:38 PM   #4
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
The .srf file has to do with lighting calculations...but it's not necessary to play a map, it's an intermediate step. You need only include the .bsp in your pk3 when you finish (the .map, .srf and .prt files don't have naything to do with the actual gameplay).


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2003, 04:41 PM   #5
fattysbox
 
fattysbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 67
makes sense...

Then I assume correctly that all the srf/prt/map information will be included in the bsp file when I pk3 it?
fattysbox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2003, 06:43 PM   #6
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Yup. The .bsp file is the final product of a compile, and that file contains all the information the game needs to know.

(Besides custom textures, models, etc, of course.)


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2003, 07:16 PM   #7
WadeV1589
Veteran
 
WadeV1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 952
Just to be picky, the bsp file does include custom models provided you placed them as misc_models, they're built into the BSP tree


StargateMods.com - collaborating all the Stargate mods out there.

SG4RealJA - get a bit of SG realism!
SGEgyptJA - flying and dialing a gate only to be killed by it!
WadeV1589 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Srf?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.