lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Projected Shadows?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-27-2003, 12:53 PM   #1
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Projected Shadows?

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I deleted all my .cfg files from base and was suprised to find this shadow option called "Projected". I didnt noticed it before. When i turned it on, i got these shadows:





This is Simular to Volurmic (sp?). But better FPS with "Projected".

The thing is how did i get this shadow? I havent seen it before nor seen screenshots with it.

Is it because my card supports this feature?




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7

Last edited by |GG|Crow_Nest; 11-27-2003 at 01:03 PM.
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2003, 01:05 PM   #2
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
c'mon crow, you should know having shadows on isnt good for fps - plus the game is mostly travelling so fast, you really dont have time to notice them.....

shadows off for me

MTFBWYA


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2003, 01:26 PM   #3
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally posted by Astrotoy7
c'mon crow, you should know having shadows on isnt good for fps - plus the game is mostly travelling so fast, you really dont have time to notice them.....

shadows off for me

MTFBWYA
yes i know that. If you lag alot with shadows, maybe its your RAM. (You're using GeForce FX Go5700 right?)

You shouldn't have much frame drops with DG or shadows with a good card like that. I'm using a GeForce FX 5700 Ultra, i have DG on with projected shadows and i can still get 57 fps.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2003, 02:02 PM   #4
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
What ! you get 57fps with DG on, no fair ! I have a Geforce FxGo 5600, but Im sure I need to fiddle with my bios setting(as per the wonderful guide by 'saberstaff') to find a way to help...... as you have seen, I get 30%+ drop in fps..... maybe that or new drivers, which arent terribly forthcoming on laptop video cards......

MTFBWYA


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-28-2003, 02:11 PM   #5
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
i put vsync off and i can hit to 80-90 fps with projected shadows and dynamic glow!


try it!




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Academy > Projected Shadows?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.