lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Making MP sabers in SP
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-10-2003, 07:07 PM   #1
Arniefett
Rookie
 
Arniefett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25
Making MP sabers in SP

Hi, I was told at PCGamemods to post about this here. I followed the guide about making MP sabers into SP ones, but I just couldn't get it working. I done it exactly how it said, so could you please post a "Guide to making MP sabers into SP ones for morons"? Thanks...
Arniefett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2003, 07:19 PM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
What happens when you try to run the game with your altered files?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2003, 07:28 PM   #3
Arniefett
Rookie
 
Arniefett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25
Well, when I run it, I go to new game, and flick through all the single saber hilts, but my new one's not there... and it can't have been conflicting with the Luke, Reborn and Desann sabers because I wasn't reunning OJP at the time.
Arniefett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2003, 08:20 PM   #4
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
So did you base your files on the OJP files or the vanilla JKA files?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2003, 08:30 PM   #5
Arniefett
Rookie
 
Arniefett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25
I really have no idea, I just followed what the intructions said.

P.S. Sorry if I'm being a jerk, great mod/patchy thing. Thanks so much for devoting your time to it.
Arniefett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2003, 08:43 PM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Well, please find out.

Also, are you sure that your pk3 has the correct file structure?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2003, 11:16 PM   #7
Marker0077
 
Marker0077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 510
I would think if it works in MP it would work in SP. I haven't done any testing with this but I'd be more than happy to. Can you give me a link as to where we can find these hilts you are trying to make accessable in SP?


Cool Links
Star Wars Funnies
Cool Mods for Medal of Honor
Cool Mods for the Jedi Knight Series
Don't want to wait for Star Wars 3? Well here ya go!

In-Game Names
Marker0077 (normal name)
Obi-wannabe (practice name)
Bar Upstairs from AA Building (drinking name)

Contact Info
ICQ: 16442029
AOL, Yahoo, Jabber, & IRC (QuakeNet): Marker0077
Cool Mods E-Mail: MoH @ Cool-Mods.com or JK @ Cool-Mods.com
E-Mail & MSN IM: Marker0077 @ Hotmail.com (*** anywhere in subject or won't get email)
Marker0077 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2003, 12:09 AM   #8
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Well, remember that the SP menu system for the sabers is totally different. The point of the tutorial is to get them into the SP menus.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2003, 12:15 AM   #9
Marker0077
 
Marker0077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 510
Either way, if you add a new hilt, it should be for MP & SP.


Cool Links
Star Wars Funnies
Cool Mods for Medal of Honor
Cool Mods for the Jedi Knight Series
Don't want to wait for Star Wars 3? Well here ya go!

In-Game Names
Marker0077 (normal name)
Obi-wannabe (practice name)
Bar Upstairs from AA Building (drinking name)

Contact Info
ICQ: 16442029
AOL, Yahoo, Jabber, & IRC (QuakeNet): Marker0077
Cool Mods E-Mail: MoH @ Cool-Mods.com or JK @ Cool-Mods.com
E-Mail & MSN IM: Marker0077 @ Hotmail.com (*** anywhere in subject or won't get email)
Marker0077 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2003, 12:49 AM   #10
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
We can't change the SP menu system to do that without the SP UI code. Sorry.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2003, 03:48 AM   #11
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Yep at the moment Single player doesn't pull any outside .sab's like multi does. So you have to "inject" them yourself.

Once in the menu and a name in the strings.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2003, 04:09 AM   #12
Marker0077
 
Marker0077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 510
Honestly, between this & the needing to change the .menu files with new CPC models, it makes me wonder how people so smart could be so stupid. Ridiculous.

Anyways, perhaps I'll add SP support for CM. We'll see.


Cool Links
Star Wars Funnies
Cool Mods for Medal of Honor
Cool Mods for the Jedi Knight Series
Don't want to wait for Star Wars 3? Well here ya go!

In-Game Names
Marker0077 (normal name)
Obi-wannabe (practice name)
Bar Upstairs from AA Building (drinking name)

Contact Info
ICQ: 16442029
AOL, Yahoo, Jabber, & IRC (QuakeNet): Marker0077
Cool Mods E-Mail: MoH @ Cool-Mods.com or JK @ Cool-Mods.com
E-Mail & MSN IM: Marker0077 @ Hotmail.com (*** anywhere in subject or won't get email)
Marker0077 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2003, 04:22 AM   #13
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Now I don't know about CPC models. I'm sure the code could be altered for MP, to have the names stored in the playerchoice file. But again you'd need the Single player source to modify it for single player.

Why they didn't do it that way is beyond me though. Guess they didn't think of it.

ie HindSight is 20/20


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2003, 08:14 PM   #14
Arniefett
Rookie
 
Arniefett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25
OK, I'm sorry, but I can't work out what I was basing my files on. I just don't know. I followed the guide exactly... but it doesn't work... I know, I'm being thick, but I'm useless at this kind of thing. Anyway,these were what I was trying to make into SP...
Arniefett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2003, 08:39 PM   #15
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Ok, try posting the changed sections of the menu files.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2003, 06:48 PM   #16
Arniefett
Rookie
 
Arniefett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25
How do I do that?
Arniefett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2003, 07:36 PM   #17
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Just cut and paste.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > Making MP sabers in SP

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.