lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: No CD patch For Academy (no more like this please!)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-15-2003, 09:26 PM   #1
Plowon
Rookie
 
Plowon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 16
No CD patch For Academy

My Friend was telling me about something called a NO CD patch for Computer games. He said you can download them off the net and this way you won't have to have the CD anymore to run the game. I am wanting to go buy the game and do this so I can let my Friend borrow my game. This way we can play each other. IS there a NO CD patch out there yet for Jedi Academy. Also
I ahve never done this, but is it this easy to do.
Thanks for any help
Plowon is offline   you may:
Old 12-15-2003, 09:28 PM   #2
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,363
Current Game: Skyrim, Vector Thrust
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
You will not be able to play online with a no CD patch.
Prime is offline   you may:
Old 12-15-2003, 09:34 PM   #3
Plowon
Rookie
 
Plowon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 16
Really, I know we did on Outcast, I had the CD and he had the No CD patch. we could both play people on the net. I don't know maybe its different on Academy. Does anyone have a link, I guess SP is better than nothing, right. Thanks
Plowon is offline   you may:
Old 12-15-2003, 10:54 PM   #4
Plowon
Rookie
 
Plowon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 16
I just looked on the net and found a SP/MP NO CD patch for Academy. SO I guess it is possible.

I swear me and my friend played on the net.
Plowon is offline   you may:
Old 12-15-2003, 11:09 PM   #5
Pnut_Man
Existential to the Core
 
Pnut_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,061
Did your friend buy the game ?




- Formally hated, praised, and known as Pnut_Man
Pnut_Man is offline   you may:
Old 12-15-2003, 11:26 PM   #6
WadeV1589
Veteran
 
WadeV1589's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 952
Yeah tread carefully, NOCD patches are legal (ignore the ranters on here who say otherwise) as long as you bought the game and use it yourself to prevent wear and tear on the CD. However what you're saying would consitute an illegal activity so I wouldn't post about it again, you can always lie and say it's for personal use But you've said otherwise now.

The alternative people seem to totally not mind though is copying the CD bit for bit....even though you could then give a working copy to a friend - I AM allowed to say that because the original purpose is for back-up...strange how people think that's legal even though you can literally give a free JA cd away.

Anyhow, JA+NOCD patch = "illegal response from server" or some other packet bug, basically the NOCD screws up packet transmission so you can rarely play online for long with it.


StargateMods.com - collaborating all the Stargate mods out there.

SG4RealJA - get a bit of SG realism!
SGEgyptJA - flying and dialing a gate only to be killed by it!
WadeV1589 is offline   you may:
Old 12-15-2003, 11:42 PM   #7
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
I used a no-cd fix on my old hdd and it worked well until the end, sp and mp. Be careful though, sometimes they can stop working for no explainable reason
Agen is offline   you may:
Old 12-16-2003, 12:23 AM   #8
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Andy said that using the no-cd patch could give u the Cl-packenites error and the insert disk 1 error.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may:
Old 12-16-2003, 12:54 AM   #9
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
Only if the patch is bad.

I've yet to see a working JKA or JK2 nocd patch.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may:
Old 12-16-2003, 01:30 AM   #10
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,329
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Needless to say, asking for CD Cracks is against the rules, and Raven, LA or us can provide no tech support if/when your crack stops working or gives you problems.

If you still want to look for cracks and use them, that's your business, but such posts have no place on our forums.


Thread Closed.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may:
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Academy > No CD patch For Academy (no more like this please!)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:10 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.