lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How to change the player model
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-03-2004, 06:48 AM   #1
override367
 
override367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 58
Post Here is how to change the player model

This is from my earlier post, it was suggested I make it a new post


Success ! my first mod attempt was...well a failure

my second attempt was to change the players model ---- IT WORKED!!!!

This script
-------------
effect eDisg = EffectDisguise(DISGUISE_TYPE_N_DARTHREVAN);
(there are a bunch of disguise types, every character model in the game under constants)
ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_PERMANENT,eDisg,
oPC);

Does this
---------------

If someone else has posted how to change the player model I'll feel stupid but using that command you can make the player look like almost anything in the game!


It may not be anything spectacular, but I'm quite proud of myself


It's a big step for me because it is like the first time i've ever succesfully scripted anything (once in NWN I made arrows that disintigrated the target, but that was the most impressive thing I ever did)

thanks Lil'jawa and the other modders

CLICK HERE TO SEE PICTURES - LEMME KNOW IF LINK WORKS
http://www.villagephotos.com/pubbrow...elected=710976

-------------------------------------



by the way it does NOT let me reply to threads, just make them... it times out... so if I get a better image host ill have to remake the thread if you wanna see them
override367 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 07:07 AM   #2
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
oh wow. that does look so cool.


and the droid thing is hilarious.
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 07:16 AM   #3
override367
 
override367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 58
look in there again at the one of hk47 with the lightsaber force lightninging the sith guys

too bad hk47 doesnt have saber combat animations, he just stands there and they fall over dead, that'd be really cool


by the way my little bodyswitching mod is just a mod of liljawa's (because i had no knowledge of scripting I started with that and tinkered till I had something)

if someone wants I'll clean it up and make it a full fledged mod and do some other stuff (such as changing your class to be appropriate, etc.. perhaps I can give the player the combat droid or utility droid class or something?)

Last edited by override367; 01-03-2004 at 07:30 AM.
override367 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 07:43 AM   #4
override367
 
override367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 58
http://www.villagephotos.com/viewpub...elected=710976

I will be posting a tutorial tomorrow if no one else does (I'm sure all you script monkeys already knew how to do this)

thanks
override367 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 04:40 PM   #5
CraZy_B
 
CraZy_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 202
We'd appreciate that. BTW What kind of program(s) are you using to edit the scripts? To have different items in a locker, the new player model you mentioned etc. ?
CraZy_B is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 05:37 PM   #6
override367
 
override367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 58
I used neverwinter nights aurora toolset to open up the module file made by liljawa that included his dark jedi script, i used the nwn script editor to edit said script, compiled it, yanked it out of the module's temp folder and put it in my override folder
override367 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 06:26 PM   #7
Alegis
In hiding
 
Alegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,880
LFN Staff Member 
Anything done yet to alter bastila's wardrobe in something..less heavy?


-"The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty: it's twice as big as it needs to be."
Alegis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 07:49 PM   #8
vecdran
Lurker
 
vecdran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3
That is awesome. I hated late game getting Revan's robes but not the cool hood and mask. I'd highly suggest you make this into a mod, it would be a hit.


BTW, how did you give them forcepowers and lightsaber feats and such? I thought you coudln't add feats?
vecdran is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 08:32 PM   #9
CraZy_B
 
CraZy_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 202
I think he didn't need to give force powers because it is the main character with a jedimod and a new model.

So, basically HK can advance as any of your main characters because it's just a model.
CraZy_B is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 08:51 PM   #10
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
but the pictures taken are on the endar spire. so mission holding a lightsaber, is a feat you wouldn't have at this point. also unavailable at this point is the force lightning used by hk-47 in the picture. were these things added by lil jawa's mod? if so how did he add feats or powers this early on in the game? i know it's possible to have every feat in the game by hex-editing your level back to 1 over and over again. but is there an easier way?
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2004, 09:09 PM   #11
Mondo
 
Mondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2
Good job override! That's the Darth Revan robes everyone wants.
Mondo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 01:35 AM   #12
Asmodeus
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Have you tired a Darth Malak model? i think that would be kind of cool.
Asmodeus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 05:28 AM   #13
override367
 
override367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 58
yea malak works too, but I'm working on other stuff right now, namely replacing Carth with Darth Banden or something because Carth annoys me (banden wouldn't have any dialogue but it would be an evil jedi teammember that wouldn't bitch constantly when your bad, I'd just have to overwrite Carth's scripts to check your alignment with blank ones or something
override367 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 06:25 AM   #14
Zod
Rookie
 
Zod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Krypton
Posts: 87
where do I get the nwn toolset??
I really wanna be the Darth Revan Model really really bad, but I have no idea what to do


"I am Terror... I am Eternal... I am Hell... I am ZOD!"

Last edited by Zod; 01-05-2004 at 06:42 AM.
Zod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 06:59 AM   #15
override367
 
override367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 58
simple you buy neverwinter nights

as far as I know you need NWN to edit KOTOR's scripts

but if someone gives me a place to upload scripts I imagine I could make a malak script that's permanant... I mean there are a bunch of scripts that fire every time you zone, just put the model change at the end of them
override367 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 08:12 AM   #16
Zod
Rookie
 
Zod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Krypton
Posts: 87
When you change worlds does the Revan model still show up? And does he show up in cut scenes?


"I am Terror... I am Eternal... I am Hell... I am ZOD!"
Zod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 08:59 AM   #17
override367
 
override367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 58
no and no

ive got the changing worlds part fixed, unsure about cutscenes (at least in the initial waking up cutscene he is invisible havent tested further yet)
override367 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2004, 07:01 PM   #18
Xavier2
Forumite
 
Xavier2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 504
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Since the script posted here seems to change the PC model for a specific model. What should be the script to switch the PC current app.2da row for another row, permanentelly?
Xavier2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2004, 02:15 AM   #19
StoneDragon
Rookie
 
StoneDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: No where
Posts: 178
The link won't work.


LOTR and SW fan.

"We will die fighting with honor not with jealousy or for the lust of blood but for our love ones and for the innocent."

Hardcore gamer.

http://lauren.barelyfitz.com/pics/matrix-laugh.jpg

http://www.feebleminds-gifs.com/heart2.gif
StoneDragon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2004, 04:13 AM   #20
Rook&Pawn
Lurker
 
Rook&Pawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
I can't see the pics either.


I need more sleep, but I won't let that get in the way of my "Knights" time.
Rook&Pawn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2004, 05:19 AM   #21
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally posted by StoneDragon
The link won't work.
If you and Rook&Pawn will look at the dates this thread was started you will notice that those links were from january. Many of those who posted to this thread aren't even at the forums any longer. This Thread was revived by Xavier2 in relation to a whole other topic. That topic is the script referenced in the top post.

Xavier2

I could be wrong but I believe this script may effect a permanent change untill you send a command to do otherwise.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2004, 05:36 AM   #22
Xavier2
Forumite
 
Xavier2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 504
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Quote:
Originally posted by Darkkender
If you and Rook&Pawn will look at the dates this thread was started you will notice that those links were from january. Many of those who posted to this thread aren't even at the forums any longer. This Thread was revived by Xavier2 in relation to a whole other topic. That topic is the script referenced in the top post.

Xavier2

I could be wrong but I believe this script may effect a permanent change untill you send a command to do otherwise.
I know, but the command DISGUISE_TYPE_N_DARTHREVAN sugests that the change is to a specific model. The set back i think is that it may mantain the changed appearence despite the armor.uti you may be wearing.

I am looking for a specific app.2da entire row instead. Pretty much the same way the disguise property works when attached to .uti file. The set back here is that when you remove the .uti from your inventory the disguise goes away also.

Maybe i should formulate better. I am trying to simulate aging. The game changes face textures but only according to Dark side status. The only other way i could think it could be done is by scripts placed in certains points, where the PC current app.2da row, would be replaced by another custom made row, this one with the aged models and textures.

It can be done using KSE, but of course it is not the same effect than having it happen within the plot.

That said. Does anyone know how should be this script?
Xavier2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2004, 06:44 AM   #23
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
I know there is a bunch of scripts for darkside lightside transitions in the scripts source.bif I would use those as an example for making use of the above script and see if you can't use those scripts as a foundation for your appearance change that you are attempting.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2004, 06:35 PM   #24
Xavier2
Forumite
 
Xavier2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 504
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
I have found this interesting code by tk102, that detects the PC app.2da row:
Code:
int StartingConditional() {
  int nMyAppearance; // declare an integer variable
  object oMe;        // declare an object variable
  oMe=GetFirstPC();   // set the object 

  //call the function
   nMyAppearance=GetAppearanceType(oMe);

  if (nMyAppearance==73) {
     return TRUE;
   }
   else {
      return FALSE;
   }
}
Is there a function to adapt this script and make it change the nMyAppearance of the PC?
Xavier2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2004, 09:39 PM   #25
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
You'd think there would be a SetAppearanceType but there is not. The disguise effect is probably the closest you'll get.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > How to change the player model

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:06 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.