lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Please help! (lag and packet loss)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-07-2004, 03:10 PM   #1
ChazHS
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
Please help!

Can someone please help, my server is totally going wrong.

The players lag whilst moving, not ping lag, but packet loss lag. They all report massive yellow spikes on their lagometers.

Now, I have re-uploaded the .pk3 files, and re-installed the library files. So what could be causing this problem?

Please help!
ChazHS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2004, 04:59 PM   #2
Bilbo Skywalker
 
Bilbo Skywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mid
Posts: 703
can your server.cfg file here for us?


For all your current and upcoming Star Wars needs come too...

[size=big]echonetwork[/size]

Check out my CTF guide for JA Here
Bilbo Skywalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2004, 03:12 PM   #3
ChazHS
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
Here you go (with passwords changed obviously):

// Server Config
seta sv_hostname "^1Hyper-Stream.com -=- JK3 Server 1"
//seta g_motd "^4Welcome to HS!"
//rconpassword "password"

seta sv_maxclients 20
set timelimit 0
// gametypes
// 0 = FFA
// 3 = DUEL one on one tournament
// 4 = POWER DUEL
// 6 = TEAM DEATHMATCH
// 7 = SIEGE
// 8 = CTF

Thats it, thats all I have in it, is there somthing I need to add?
ChazHS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2004, 06:26 PM   #4
Bilbo Skywalker
 
Bilbo Skywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mid
Posts: 703
thats the whole thing?!?


are yo urunning this from your home pc?


For all your current and upcoming Star Wars needs come too...

[size=big]echonetwork[/size]

Check out my CTF guide for JA Here
Bilbo Skywalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 04:49 PM   #5
ChazHS
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
No, it's running a Redhat Linux 9 Server in Texas, pretty bog-standard piece of kit.
ChazHS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 04:54 PM   #6
Bilbo Skywalker
 
Bilbo Skywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mid
Posts: 703
that cant be your entire config, please post the rest of it


For all your current and upcoming Star Wars needs come too...

[size=big]echonetwork[/size]

Check out my CTF guide for JA Here
Bilbo Skywalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2004, 04:59 AM   #7
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
basically what bilbo is getting as is that your server should look more like this (certain things changed for security and comical matters)

//start of server.cfg
//my server config
seta g_gametype "6"
seta g_dismember "100"
seta g_filterBan "1"
seta g_banIPs ""
seta g_log "myserverlog.log"
seta g_forcePowerDisable "18208"
seta g_spawnInvulnerability "3000"
seta g_forceRegenTime "100"
seta g_saberDamageScale "1"
seta g_logClientInfo "0"
seta g_autoMapCycle "0"
seta g_weaponDisable "0"
seta capturelimit "8"
seta sv_master1 "masterjk3.ravensoft.com"
seta sv_master2 "clanservers.net"
seta g_warmup "20"
seta sv_floodProtect "1"
seta sv_allowdownload "0"
seta sv_maxPing "1000"
seta sv_minPing "0"
seta sv_maxRate "2000"
seta sv_maxclients "4"
seta sv_privateclients "0"
seta g_password "Gerber Babies RULE!"


seta sv_hostname "JA Server #1"
seta g_motd "Prepare for the Invasion"
seta g_maxForceRank "7"
seta fraglimit "200"
seta timelimit "0"
seta rconpassword "doobie doobie doo"

set m1 "map mp/siege_hoth ; set nextmap vstr m2"
set m2 "map mp/siege_korriban ; set nextmap vstr m1"

vstr m1
//starts the server

//
//end of file


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2004, 06:10 AM   #8
ChazHS
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
Thats all that was in it, I would then do everything else through SSH root to set it all up.
ChazHS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2004, 03:13 PM   #9
ChazHS
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
Bump!
ChazHS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2004, 07:31 PM   #10
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Arrow

What is your maxrate set to?

Check sv_maxrate (and sv_rate too I think)?

Set too high and you'll get major lag when broadband people with high rates join (since they suck up all the bandwidth).

Get Amidala on the here to quote you the figures! ; )


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2004, 04:55 PM   #11
ChazHS
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
The SV_Maxrate is 2000.
ChazHS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 04:49 PM   #12
ChazHS
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
Bump! (I'm getting tired of this :P)
ChazHS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Dedicated Server > Please help! (lag and packet loss)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:55 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.