lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Router I.P
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-08-2004, 09:29 AM   #1
Jeansy
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Router I.P

How do i find the IP number of my router?
Jeansy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2004, 09:32 AM   #2
Jeansy
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
And how do I open ports? Thanks.
Jeansy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2004, 06:56 PM   #3
gotcha8903
Rookie
 
gotcha8903's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central FLorida
Posts: 156
that all depends on the router. check your instructions manual (the what?), it should be in there.

I have a lnksys router, and I enter the IP address (192.168.1.1) into the address bar in internet explorer. I get asked for a password/username (mine defaults at no name and admin as the password). Then there is a menu tab called applications and gaming, and it has port forwarding under it. This will most likely be different on other routers, but I listed it because the last person that asked me also used linksys.

Also, if you want your IP address, go to http://whatismyip.com/.
gotcha8903 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2004, 11:50 PM   #4
Jeansy
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Ok I'll search the manual for finding the i.p thanks alot for the help.
Jeansy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-17-2004, 07:55 AM   #5
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally posted by gotcha8903
that all depends on the router. check your instructions manual (the what?), it should be in there.

I have a lnksys router, and I enter the IP address (192.168.1.1) into the address bar in internet explorer. I get asked for a password/username (mine defaults at no name and admin as the password). Then there is a menu tab called applications and gaming, and it has port forwarding under it. This will most likely be different on other routers, but I listed it because the last person that asked me also used linksys.

Also, if you want your IP address, go to http://whatismyip.com/.
I also have a linksys router(Wireless) and once the guy at linksys gave me the breakdown of the basics of it (since I told him I knew the # of the ports to open, he was able to guide me. and since that day(like 3 years ago on my original router) I have been to host like 2 servers off one cable connection (set the maxrate to 2,000 each for like 5 players) and no one ever complained (even the whiners didnt complain ) so if you ever need help on the router stuff, just give me a holler.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-17-2004, 03:41 PM   #6
gotcha8903
Rookie
 
gotcha8903's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central FLorida
Posts: 156
2 servers on a cable connection? wow. i guess you got the more expensive wireless computer card, mine has a maxrate of 11 mbps, and my dads new laptop gets 54 mbps
gotcha8903 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2004, 04:54 AM   #7
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
No, just that the server itself is wired to the router, and my connection is a 2Mb download/128-256K upload (more towards the 256 than the 128). But lately, I've just been running one server, so that all the bandwidth is available to it for the best performance achievable


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2004, 08:35 PM   #8
TripleM25
Rookie
 
TripleM25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 26
Linksys connecting

I have a linksys wireless router, and i entered the ports into the port triggerring under the port forwarding tab under my router. I tried putting them under the port forwarding, but everytime i applied it with my LAN ip, as it is under the status tab, my ip would change. I wanted to know what my friend would put in the console to connect to my non-dedicated server.
TripleM25 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2004, 10:01 PM   #9
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
well, you have to set the IP under the forwarding tab to the IP of the server machine, which will be like 192.168.100.101 or something (default) but for your friend to join, he must type in your actual Network IP (ROUTER's IP). Also, make sure under the filter option to make sure that BLOCK WAN REQUEST is DISABLED (Enabled by Default) or your friend wont be able to establish a connection. Also, it never hurts to set the DMZ to the server IP as well.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2004, 12:21 AM   #10
TripleM25
Rookie
 
TripleM25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 26
I did what u said, but when i put in the ip in port forwarding and apply it, it changes my ip to something else.
TripleM25 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2004, 12:22 AM   #11
TripleM25
Rookie
 
TripleM25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 26
oh yeah, I wanted to know if i could use port triggering instead of port forwarding. Thanks
TripleM25 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Dedicated Server > Router I.P

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.