lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: New Twi'lek Based Skin
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-17-2004, 09:02 PM   #2
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
Looks good, as does all your work.

I am especially impressed with the detail of the garment ornamentation.



I don't like quake, never liked quake, and don't like Star Wars quake. So basically jk2mp.exe never gets used on my computer.

Shaving is not a high priority with Jedi. Would you want to shave with a lightsaber?
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-18-2004, 05:57 AM   #3
Teancum
 
Teancum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
Clever! I love the skin!
Teancum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2004, 01:29 AM   #4
SparedLife
Rookie
 
SparedLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
Excellant work


SparedLife is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2004, 01:47 PM   #5
Ziechel
Junior Member
 
Ziechel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
cool

Hey, could you tell me how you did that twilek skin because all the time i try to skin a twilek, all those singleplayer things irritate me and i never get my skins to work as i want it when they are based on a SP skin
Ziechel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 02:44 PM   #6
Plasmacoolant
 
Plasmacoolant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 60
Thanks for the comments.

Final Screenshots:
http://plasmaskins.jk2files.com/main...variations.jpg

Ziechel what exactly do you want to know?

If your making a multi player skin the do this;

1) Open the twi'lek .glm model in modview and select the default.skin file

2) In modview you will see a complete list of surfaces for the model (all the combinations) - turn on or off surfaces until you get the base model you want to skin - make sure you don't have surfaces overlapping eachother.

3) save the configuration when you have it how you want it.

4) open the default.skin file in notepad and using the list of surfaces you've turned on or off in modview as a guide, then go through all the surface references and place a skin location for the surfaces you want to be visible and type *off for the surfaces you dont want to be visable.

5) find the appropriate textures for the surfaces you have chosen to be visisble and skin, making sure you save them in the right locations you have specified in the default.skin file

Thats all I think. lol, does this make sense?




-Plas.

Plasmacoolant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2004, 01:32 PM   #7
Ziechel
Junior Member
 
Ziechel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
hm... i tried that , but there appears
MODEL NAME: c/dokumente und einstellungen/besitzer/desktop/models/players/jedi_tf/model_default.skin exceeds Max_Qpath

and when i put it in the directory of modview, there seems to be a problem with unknown file id
Ziechel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2004, 01:34 PM   #8
Ziechel
Junior Member
 
Ziechel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
that means it appears in Modview, i already skinned a bit and know how to put some surfaces off and on, but modview doesnt even open the file
Ziechel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2004, 01:49 PM   #9
Ziechel
Junior Member
 
Ziechel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
by the way plasma, where can i get your JAN COLLECTION?
Is this also for jk3?
Ziechel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2004, 02:45 PM   #10
Plasmacoolant
 
Plasmacoolant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 60
You can get the jan collection for JA from here http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=23044

--------------------------------

I think you may have modview configured wrong - also you are trying to open a model .glm from a bad location. It should be in

\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData\Base\models\players

or the equivalent JK2 folder.


Also do you have the _humanoid folder set up with these files in it

animation.cfg
animevents.cfg
_humanoid.gla

Beyond this stuff I don't know what else could be the trouble.

Plasmacoolant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2004, 02:58 PM   #11
Ziechel
Junior Member
 
Ziechel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 266
Sry but i used photoshop until now. These humanoid.gla and the animevents.cfg and this other thing doesnt appear.
You said JK2 directory in your reply, works this only for jk2 ?
hm.. anyway, thx ill stay at skinning with adobe photoshop painting
Ziechel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2004, 02:26 AM   #12
Plasmacoolant
 
Plasmacoolant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 60
I use photshop too. Modview is not a graphics program it's a program that lets you see the model and its textures.

Having to load up the game every time you want to check a change you make is too much trouble. Modview also lets you access all the animations as well as the different combinations of surfaces.

Anyway, whatever suits you best.

-Plas.

Plasmacoolant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Skinning > New Twi'lek Based Skin

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.