lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Compiling included scripts (?)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-21-2004, 06:52 PM   #1
k0la
Lurker
 
k0la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
Compiling included scripts (?)

y0

I'm trying to make a lil mod in k_inc_force.nss.. but I cant get it compiled, cuz its a included script. Is there any easy way to search for the scripts where the *force.nss is included? I've found these so far:

k_sp1_generic.nss
k_sup_grenade.nss
k_sup_healing.nss

all of em in script.bif

I haven't looked in the RIMs but I guess there are some there too *sigh*

Has anyone sucessfully compiled k_inc_force.nss? or any other inc script, I'd appreciate if anyone have any tips or tricks.

-k0la

gigglz
gigglz


eat me!
k0la is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2004, 09:20 PM   #2
Darwithe
Lurker
 
Darwithe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Assuming you're editing the Jedi powers you just need to compile k_sp1_generic(with k_inc_force.nss in the same directory of course) and drop it in the override directory.
Darwithe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2004, 08:25 AM   #3
k0la
Lurker
 
k0la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 8
ahhhhh

Aha! Then I get it. Thanks alot


eat me!
k0la is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2004, 05:41 AM   #4
thenewguy
Rookie
 
thenewguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
i can't seem to get this to work properly. I extract (with no edits)

k_sp1_generic.nss
k_inc_force.nss
k_inc_debug.nss

into my override folder.

i run _compileAll.bat and it creates

k_sp1_generic.ncs
k_sp1_generic.ndb

in the override folder.

i run kotor and all the jedi powers i've tested are broken (they eat forcepoints but don't do anything... i've tested valor, armor, immunity, and energy resistance and they both don't do anything, not even give me the upgrade icons in the portrait or status screen.

were you able to get your script to compile and override properly k0la?
thenewguy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2004, 10:45 AM   #5
Stator
Rookie
 
Stator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by thenewguy
i can't seem to get this to work properly. I extract (with no edits)

k_sp1_generic.nss
k_inc_force.nss
k_inc_debug.nss

into my override folder.

i run _compileAll.bat and it creates

k_sp1_generic.ncs
k_sp1_generic.ndb

in the override folder.

i run kotor and all the jedi powers i've tested are broken (they eat forcepoints but don't do anything... i've tested valor, armor, immunity, and energy resistance and they both don't do anything, not even give me the upgrade icons in the portrait or status screen.

were you able to get your script to compile and override properly k0la?
You don't need to compile those scripts. What exactly are you trying to accomplish. If I know more then I might be able to point you in the right direction.

Stator
Stator is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2004, 03:18 PM   #6
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Actually, I had some similar problems when using that (modified) command line compiler.

I even tested compiling some unmodified source, and it still "broke" things, not to mention the version it made and the version that the game was originally using never seemed to match up in regards to compiled size and such.

Soo... lacking any better answer, I switched to using NWN Toolset with that KotOR module (I believe Li'l Jawa made that) to compile my scripts.

Ever since I started using that instead, my scripts seem to compile flawlessly.

-Kitty


Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2004, 02:12 AM   #7
thenewguy
Rookie
 
thenewguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
thanks for the info Kitty. I have downloaded the "kotor builder!.mod" from lil'jawa's site, but alas, i do not own nwn nor do i have the toolset. would someone be so kind as to point me to a link or site where I can download a version that is compatible with the above file? on the site there was a note saying it may not work with a demo copy for example.

i can only find the beta version for download. will that work or do i need to buy nwn to get the full version
thenewguy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2004, 04:18 AM   #8
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Not sure to be honest. From things I've heard, I somewhat assumed it had to be the basic toolset from the original version of NWN.. but that may or may not actually be the case.

I was lucky enough to have actually bought NWN, though I never liked it.. so it sat shelved until I needed it to mod KotOR ;p

-Kitty


Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Compiling included scripts (?)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.