lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: 9800 pro
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-21-2004, 08:26 PM   #1
kingdomwinds
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 132
9800 pro

i just got a 9800 pro. should i use direct3d or opengl for gaming?
kingdomwinds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2004, 08:36 PM   #2
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
OpenGL is the way to go I got same card


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2004, 10:04 PM   #3
kingdomwinds
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 132
Post

mine is the 128mb version. so far my opinions are mixed. i get like 90fps at 1280 by 1084 with 4x aa in jedi academy. but when there are alot of effects like force pull, drain, lots of ppl, my frame rates jerk. suddenly drop to 30 and back to 90 and its annoying. i have the latest drivers and the card itself is installed correctly. any suggestions?
kingdomwinds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2004, 04:02 PM   #4
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Yes.

1. lower your res

2. turn off AA and AF

3. Turn of video sync




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2004, 11:04 PM   #5
MennoniteHobbit
Veteran
 
MennoniteHobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 760
Get an ATI Radeon 9800XT!!!!! YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!

MennoniteHobbit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2004, 11:39 PM   #6
kingdomwinds
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 132
lol 9800 xt is for hardcore gamers. and i dont have that kind of money for xt.
kingdomwinds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 01:52 AM   #7
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
You shouldnt buy it, its one of those $700-$800 video card. it aint worth. Just a bit more you could already buy a new PC complete with everything




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 02:37 PM   #8
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
My card was $500 when I bought it now I wish I would have waited for the XT


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2004, 07:39 AM   #9
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally posted by DarkLord60
My card was $500 when I bought it now I wish I would have waited for the XT
Really the XT aint that good. The All-In-Wonder Radeon 9800 Pro is one of the best ATI cards right now.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2004, 09:05 AM   #10
[RAA]-=Chi3f=-
Schism
 
[RAA]-=Chi3f=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Paris, Hilton
Posts: 2,111
Just bought a Radeon 9600XT and it wouldn't boot correctly. Kept giving me "failure to find .dll" which is a sign that the system is recognizing the RAM or the GART (AGP) isn't configured properly...

I changed every possible setting, updated the GART, reconfiged (flashed) the BIOS, and still no luck. It's on it's way back to newegg as we speak. I'll just stick with the GeForce cards, never had a problem with them.

/shrugs


This is not a custom sig.
[RAA]-=Chi3f=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2004, 09:19 AM   #11
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
I say return the 9600XT (or just sell it away) and get a GeForce FX 5700 ultra, i have it and it runs great!




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2004, 05:20 PM   #12
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Is that because you have it crow?


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2004, 05:29 PM   #13
kingdomwinds
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 132
is there a huge performance diff between the 9800 pro 128mb version and 256mb? like frame rate?
kingdomwinds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2004, 10:36 PM   #14
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
maybe like 10FPS or 5FPS different


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 06:12 AM   #15
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
All i can say getting 128 MB is your best bet, 256 is an overkill, it may or may not improve performance.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 06:20 AM   #16
Tyrion
nothing is real
 
Tyrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: no one I think is in my tree, I mean it must be high or low
Posts: 6,917
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
All i can say getting 128 MB is your best bet, 256 is an overkill, it may or may not improve performance.
The extra mb is used for details usually(for instance, you cannot set the general textures in CoD to maximum if you only have 128 mb). However, (luckily, I suppose) I cannot notice the difference between high and maximum details in CoD so it isnt much of a problem for me.

But the 9800 Pro is extremely good. I can get 40+ fps with everything on high, with 4XAA and 16Xaf in CoD.



Tyrion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 04:29 PM   #17
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Its not overkill if you can afford it


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 06:43 PM   #18
kingdomwinds
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 132
Tyrion, you also own a 9800 pro 128mb? Yeah i noticed it does not perform that well with very high tex.
kingdomwinds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 09:58 PM   #19
Tyrion
nothing is real
 
Tyrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: no one I think is in my tree, I mean it must be high or low
Posts: 6,917
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by kingdomwinds
Tyrion, you also own a 9800 pro 128mb? Yeah i noticed it does not perform that well with very high tex.
Yeah, I sure do. Very high textures arent very important for me though. I cant really notice the differences when I'm trying to dodge getting my head blown off.



Tyrion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-29-2004, 01:08 AM   #20
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
I have 9800 Pro 256Mb I have no problems with it at all.


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 08:53 PM   #21
MennoniteHobbit
Veteran
 
MennoniteHobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 760
Umm, i have a question, is the ATI Radeon 9600XT DirectX 9.0b compatible? I need to know so that I can start playing Empires: Dawn of the Modern World with the right AGP card.

MennoniteHobbit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 08:58 PM   #22
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Yes I am sure it is its new card.


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 09:03 PM   #23
Pie™
A peppermint nightmare.
 
Pie™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,132
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by MennoniteHobbit
Umm, i have a question, is the ATI Radeon 9600XT DirectX 9.0b compatible? I need to know so that I can start playing Empires: Dawn of the Modern World with the right AGP card.
I have that card, and i haven't had any problems




Pondering the mystery of rainbows, UFOs, and ****ing magnets.
Pie™ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 09:04 PM   #24
MennoniteHobbit
Veteran
 
MennoniteHobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 760
Sorry, I just want to be positively sure, but the ATI Radeon 9600XT. The 9600XT. I just want to be sure... don't want something to not work...

MennoniteHobbit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 09:05 PM   #25
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Quote:
Originally posted by MennoniteHobbit
Sorry, I just want to be positively sure, but the ATI Radeon 9600XT. The 9600XT. I just want to be sure... don't want something to not work...
Better to be safe then sorry.


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 09:09 PM   #26
Pie™
A peppermint nightmare.
 
Pie™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,132
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Oops sorry, i have 9600 EZ, not XT




Pondering the mystery of rainbows, UFOs, and ****ing magnets.
Pie™ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 09:23 PM   #27
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Well it will still work


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 09:46 PM   #28
Tyrion
nothing is real
 
Tyrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: no one I think is in my tree, I mean it must be high or low
Posts: 6,917
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by MennoniteHobbit
Umm, i have a question, is the ATI Radeon 9600XT DirectX 9.0b compatible? I need to know so that I can start playing Empires: Dawn of the Modern World with the right AGP card.
Yes, the 9600XT is DirectX9.0B compatible. The 9600EZ(less specs than the 9600XT) is DirectX9.0B capable,too. Infact, only the 9200 and below(9100, 8500, ect) isnt DirectX9 compatible.



Tyrion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2004, 05:31 AM   #29
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally posted by Tyrion
only the 9200 and below(9100, 8500, ect) isnt DirectX9 compatible.
My cousin is using the 9200 pro, and he can run DX 9 games. And using directx 9.0a.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-10-2004, 09:26 PM   #30
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Quote:
Originally posted by Tyrion
Yes, the 9600XT is DirectX9.0B compatible. The 9600EZ(less specs than the 9600XT) is DirectX9.0B capable,too. Infact, only the 9200 and below(9100, 8500, ect) isnt DirectX9 compatible.
It will still run but you might get bugs.


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > 9800 pro

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.