lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: quake 3
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-22-2004, 02:31 PM   #1
kingdomwinds
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 132
quake 3

when i play quake 3 at 1280 by 1024 the frame rate is maxed at 90fps. i thought its suppose to go more than 90 and im using a radeon 9800 pro 128mb? what can i do to make it run faster?

jedi academy never goes above 90fps either at same resolution
kingdomwinds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2004, 02:33 PM   #2
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Because older opengl games like quake 3 will run better on nvidia cards as they tend to do better at opengl.

Just lower your res to 1024x764 and you should see an fps boost.

EDIT: Get the latest Cat3.10 Cat4.1 from ATI if you havent, they may improve performance. Seach for the driver here

If you are fans of older OpenGL games like Quake 3 or Jedi Knight 2, you may want to opt for the FX card instead




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7

Last edited by |GG|Crow_Nest; 02-02-2004 at 04:17 AM.
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2004, 02:39 PM   #3
kingdomwinds
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 132
i got latest drivers. in a review of the card that i have im suppose to get 300 fps for quake 3. still 90fps at lower res.
kingdomwinds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2004, 02:41 PM   #4
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
lol, those people got 300 fps because they overclocked their card and have a super fast comp 100 times faster than yours and mine




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2004, 06:30 PM   #5
kingdomwinds
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 132
do vid card reviewers turn details down to get high fps?
kingdomwinds is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2004, 07:14 PM   #6
MennoniteHobbit
Veteran
 
MennoniteHobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 760

help me... what is quake 3? game? game w/runtime? anythin? Im not a recent gamer, so now u know why.

btw, get a ATI RADEON 9800XT 256DDR FOR ME NOW!

MennoniteHobbit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2004, 08:39 PM   #7
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Why would you want more than 90FPS?


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2004, 08:48 PM   #8
Samuel Dravis
 
Samuel Dravis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,973
Quote:
Originally posted by MennoniteHobbit

help me... what is quake 3? game? game w/runtime? anythin? Im not a recent gamer, so now u know why.
Q3's engine is the same as JO's and JA's. It was a FPS with practically no story or SP.


"Words are deeds." - Wittgenstein
Samuel Dravis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2004, 08:52 PM   #9
MennoniteHobbit
Veteran
 
MennoniteHobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 760
thanks sam

MennoniteHobbit is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2004, 02:04 AM   #10
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally posted by MennoniteHobbit
btw, get a ATI RADEON 9800XT 256DDR FOR ME NOW!
I wouldnt expect anyone to buy a $500-$800 video card.

Unless someone is paying for you or its free.

Quote:
Originally posted by DarkLord60
Why would you want more than 90FPS?
That is what everyone wants to get.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2004, 12:05 PM   #11
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by DarkLord60
Why would you want more than 90FPS?
Exactly. No one seems to listen when I have repeatedly stated that the human eye cannot process anything over the equivalent of 120-150 fps. Combined with factors such as screen refresh rates, lighting levels and visual fatigue, youd be very lucky to catch TRUE 90 fps anyway.... sheesh.. CROW, you wont listen will you !!!!!


MTFBWYA


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2004, 12:07 PM   #12
XERXES
werd
 
XERXES's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 3,732
Quote:
Originally posted by kingdomwinds
i got latest drivers. in a review of the card that i have im suppose to get 300 fps for quake 3. still 90fps at lower res.
hey there,

its not just the vid card that makes it do that.


like woah
XERXES is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2004, 02:55 PM   #13
Pie™
A peppermint nightmare.
 
Pie™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,132
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
heh i get below 40 fps for most games




Pondering the mystery of rainbows, UFOs, and ****ing magnets.
Pie™ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2004, 04:20 AM   #14
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Kingdomwinds, i think i know whats your problem, your AA and AF is at 8x or 16x, you dont need it. Turn it off or put it at 2x.

For me its set to controled.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > quake 3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.