lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: 3DS MAX 6 Importing/exporting
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-27-2004, 04:47 AM   #1
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
3DS MAX 6 Importing/exporting

Okay my MILKSHAPE crapped out on me REAL BAD and all my vertices went crazy DESTROYING my POD racer models. So yeah you can imagine my dissapointment after 100 hours+ of insane meticulous planning and then the model disrupting like that.

All that hard work down the

MILKSHAPE

Anyhow can we PLEASE possibly get a few LINKS that people know about in this thread for IMPORTING/EXPORTING MD3s and GLMs for 3DSMax?

I'm just starting to mess with it now and I know that MANY modellers use Max for modelling. So someone must know how to do it.

Thanks in advance .....


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2004, 05:36 AM   #2
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Hmm..answered my own query.
Here is a great LINK from our hero Paul Jaquays!!

Pauls Place

Okay I have to add that Paul is an amazing fella and his site has an overwhelming amount of info!!


My kung fu is also very weak

Last edited by lauser; 01-27-2004 at 05:57 AM.
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2004, 11:33 AM   #3
Jedi_Vogel
Forumite
 
Jedi_Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Three Cheers for Paul
Hip-Hip?



... no one
Bleh.


Jedi_Vogel (aka {KoH}Zandir{JK})
Website: www.resource-centre.net
Do or Do Not. There is no Try.
Jedi_Vogel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 04:49 AM   #4
Pipedream
Rookie
 
Pipedream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
I bet ya learned your lession now, but just in case...

Incremental saves!

Some of my models have over 40 saves before theyre done. You can always go back and erase all those extra saves later if you like... And sometimes its nice to have some of the earlier saves - I'll go back and grab a piece here and there once in a while.

-Pipe
Pipedream is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2004, 06:23 AM   #5
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Actually PIPEDREAM I know about saves and all the save options. It's MILKSHAPE that had the problem. So al the files that got saved.....every last one of them...******. I mean totally screwed. There were at least 4 different versions all with different names. But the ERROR carried through to ALL of the same models. Yeah....yeah...you figure that one out....I dare ya!!


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-01-2004, 07:15 PM   #6
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
Maybe the files are ok and only milkshape is screwed. Send it to someone else who has milkshape (I don't, trial version over...)


My projects:
Snow Speeder
Kaadu

Quote:
Originally posted by yaebginn
not at all, they came here[USA] to worship God however they wanted and it was built on the principals and rules of the Christian religion.
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2004, 11:47 AM   #7
Jedi_Vogel
Forumite
 
Jedi_Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Quote:
Maybe the files are ok and only milkshape is screwed. Send it to someone else who has milkshape (I don't, trial version over...)
So out of curiosity, what proggie did ya switch to?


Jedi_Vogel (aka {KoH}Zandir{JK})
Website: www.resource-centre.net
Do or Do Not. There is no Try.
Jedi_Vogel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2004, 01:40 PM   #8
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
3D Studio Max


My projects:
Snow Speeder
Kaadu

Quote:
Originally posted by yaebginn
not at all, they came here[USA] to worship God however they wanted and it was built on the principals and rules of the Christian religion.
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2004, 08:32 AM   #9
Jedi_Vogel
Forumite
 
Jedi_Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Drattit! I can't even afford the Student Version of that Guess I'll be sticking to mapping until Milkshape v2 comes out then oh well...


Jedi_Vogel (aka {KoH}Zandir{JK})
Website: www.resource-centre.net
Do or Do Not. There is no Try.
Jedi_Vogel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2004, 11:45 AM   #10
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Here is a solution to making MODELS for people on a LOW budget(RADIANT)--------->

Quote:
You can make a set of brushes in a map, and turn it into a misc_model, which you can then attach to movers, use the angle, angles, modelscale, and modelscale_vec keys on! Only the latest q3map2 will do this. rgoer explained the process to me...here goes:

Build the structure you want to make into a model in Radiant (in this case, trees). The origin of the map file will be the origin of the model. Build a caulk box around it to prevent leaks, and add an info_player_start. Next, BSP the map with the line <path to q3map2> bsp -v -meta -patchmeta <path to map>. Then, run the following line on the finished BSP file: <path to q3map2> bsp -convert <path to new BSP file>. Look in your maps directory, and you'll find the file mapname.ase. This file can be used as a misc_model in a map! Just enter the path to the .ase file in the model key in the misc_model entity.

To have the map model react properly to lightmaps, use the key/value spawnflags 4. To have q3map2 auto-clip the model (make it solid), use spawnflags 2. For both, use spawnflags 6.

To sum up:

- Make the model out of brushes, save it as modelname.map
- Compile modelname.map to modelname.bsp
- Convert modelname.bsp to modelname.ase
- Load the model in Radiant as a misc_model


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > 3DS MAX 6 Importing/exporting

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:51 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.