lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Help with XP's Command
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-28-2004, 01:42 AM   #1
BongoBob
Good Eye, Sniper
 
BongoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Camper Velourium
Posts: 6,391
Current Game: BC2, FFXIII
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Help with XP's Command

I need help. I recently picked up an iterest in C++, so I downloaded Borlands C++ Free tools. I am reading how to set it up. Here's the direction I am stuck on...
Open a console box.
1. Start | Run...
2. Type "command" into the field [Enter]
* Or, if Windows 2000/XP:
Add a path reference to the Environment variables:
3. Using the mouse, right-click on the "My Computer" icon (on your desktop) and choose "Properties".
4. Click on the "Advanced" tab.
5. Click on the "Environment Variables..." button.
6. Highlight the "Path" System variable (bottom).
7. Click on the "Edit..." button.
8. Append the line with ";C:\BORLAND\BCC55\BIN;"
9. Click OK (in the "Edit System Variables")
10. Click OK (in the "Environment Variables" window) and click OK (in the "System Properties" window) Navigating to the directory, "c:\Borland\bcc55\bin"
11. cd borland [Enter]
12. cd bcc55 [Enter]
13. cd bin [Enter]

I am stuck on 10. I click all the oks, but WTF does it mean by "Navigating to the directory, "c:\Borland\bcc55\bin""? And how do I do it? Any help would really be aprecieated.

EDIT: When it says Append the line with ";C:\Borland\BCC55\BIN;", I think I did it right. It used to look like this...
C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32 \Wbem;c:\Python22;C:\Program Files\PC-Doctor\services;C:\Program Files\Sonic\MyDVD;—;C:\Program Files\UltraEdit;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\;C:\3dsmax5\backburner2\
Now...
C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32 \Wbem;c:\Python22;C:\Program Files\PC-Doctor\services;C:\Program Files\Sonic\MyDVD;—;C:\Program Files\UltraEdit;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\;C:\3dsmax5\backburner2\;C:\BORLAND\BCC55\B IN;

Please help.


BongoBob is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 03:31 AM   #2
ET Warrior
PhD in horribleness
 
ET Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Evil League of Evil
Posts: 9,405
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
I have no idea how to help you there..............but...uh......if you need help programming in C++ you can PM me...i'm good with that..

But from the looks of things you should be operating at the DOS command prompt if you wanna goto Directories. the 'cd' in front of cd borland and whatnot means 'change directory' in the command prompt.......

My guess is your best bet is to open your command prompt, and then type 'cd \' and hit ENTER
then do steps 11-13



ET Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 08:45 AM   #3
BCanr2d2
Chief B*log Man
 
BCanr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the nursery, changing a nappy
Posts: 1,977
Remove the ; from the end, that could be making it play up, it probably thinks it is expecting another command in the path statement


Any resemblence to intelligence in my posts is purely coincidental and accidental..

No posts were harmed in the creation of this post!

B*log....
BCanr2d2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 10:11 AM   #4
Ray Jones
[armleglegarmhead]
 
Ray Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: digital
Posts: 8,255
10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! Forum Veteran 
Re: Help with XP's Command

Quote:
Originally posted by BongoBob

10. Click OK (in the "Environment Variables" window) and click OK (in the "System Properties" window) Navigating to the directory, "c:\Borland\bcc55\bin"
11. cd borland [Enter]
12. cd bcc55 [Enter]
13. cd bin [Enter]

I am stuck on 10. I click all the oks, but WTF does it mean by "Navigating to the directory, "c:\Borland\bcc55\bin""? And how do I do it? Any help would really be aprecieated.
err..

navigating to the directory means change to the directory, which actually will be done with steps 11 - 13

you could also simply type "cd c:\Borland\bcc55\bin" at the command line..

and like BCanr2d2 said, the environment variable "PATH" mustnt end with a ";" so you should remove it anyways..

*sigh*

good ol' times



Ray Jones is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-29-2004, 08:58 AM   #5
BCanr2d2
Chief B*log Man
 
BCanr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the nursery, changing a nappy
Posts: 1,977
Why type in the C:, if he is on the C drive, why not just type

cd \Borland\bcc55\bin ???!!

What the are trying to get you to do is to use the DOS way of getting to a directory. You know, BEFORE there was a proper windows GUI.....

(Steps 11 - 13 are the DOS way of getting to a directory, or the alternatives that we have given you)


Any resemblence to intelligence in my posts is purely coincidental and accidental..

No posts were harmed in the creation of this post!

B*log....
BCanr2d2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > Help with XP's Command

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.