lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Hapslash's Improved Stormtrooper
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-05-2004, 03:26 AM   #41
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Apparently I spoke too soon. I've just been informed that while the model works in SP fine it won't work in MP at all. With everything else it works, but we keep getting a "bad bone or missing animation file" error when ever we try to choose him in MP. I'm not sure why that would be, but we think that it might be an error in the original .max file causing it.

It sounds like we're going to have to go back and reweight the entire thing.


Quote:
you could use the JA stormtrooper shader from the JA version
I don't have JA, but if anyone wants to send me the appropriate files I'll see what I can do.

Which reminds me,... since Infinity Blade and I don't have JA ,... I'm probably going to need a few beta testers for the JA version of the model.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 03:33 AM   #42
RJW_ca
 
RJW_ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: VANCOUVER BC CANADA
Posts: 175
Current Game: STAR WARS, AVP
I'd love to beta test your trooper !!!

I'm here to help you anyway I can HAPSLASH!!

RJW_ca "OUT"

RJW_ca@hotmail.com
RJW_ca is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 03:54 AM   #43
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
That sucks.

Anyway, if you need the shader file, this is what it looks like:
  • models/players/stormtrooper/armor
    {
    cull twosided
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/armor
    blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ZERO
    rgbGen lightingDiffuse
    }
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/armor_spec
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
    detail
    alphaGen lightingSpecular
    }
    }

    models/players/stormtrooper/helmet
    {
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/helmet
    rgbGen lightingDiffuse
    }
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/helmet_spec
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
    detail
    alphaGen lightingSpecular
    }
    }

    models/players/stormtrooper/torso_legs
    {
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/torso_legs
    rgbGen lightingDiffuse
    }
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/torso_legs_spec
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
    detail
    alphaGen lightingSpecular
    }
    }

    models/players/stormtrooper/armor_blue
    {
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/armor_blue
    rgbGen lightingDiffuse
    }
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/armor_spec
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
    detail
    alphaGen lightingSpecular
    }
    }

    models/players/stormtrooper/armor_red
    {
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/armor_red
    rgbGen lightingDiffuse
    }
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/armor_spec
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
    detail
    alphaGen lightingSpecular
    }
    }

    models/players/stormtrooper/helmet_blue
    {
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/helmet_blue
    rgbGen lightingDiffuse
    }
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/helmet_spec
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
    detail
    alphaGen lightingSpecular
    }
    }

    models/players/stormtrooper/helmet_red
    {
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/helmet_red
    rgbGen lightingDiffuse
    }
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/helmet_spec
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
    detail
    alphaGen lightingSpecular
    }
    }

    models/players/stormtrooper/torso_legs_blue
    {
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/torso_legs_blue
    rgbGen lightingDiffuse
    }
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/torso_legs_spec
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
    detail
    alphaGen lightingSpecular
    }
    }

    models/players/stormtrooper/torso_legs_red
    {
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/torso_legs_red
    rgbGen lightingDiffuse
    }
    {
    map models/players/stormtrooper/torso_legs_spec
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
    detail
    alphaGen lightingSpecular
    }
    }

Last edited by TK-8252; 02-24-2004 at 01:33 AM.
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 09:50 AM   #44
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
i'll beta test for JA

my e-mail is darthVADER@xg-clan.com

{xg}darthvader


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 11:03 AM   #45
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
well about that bad bone error...

Didn't JA use different bones than JK2 did for MP ?
Well I'm not really into Playermodelling (yet) so I won't specultate any more.

What about the Problem with the Blaster only showing up while firing?

I'll bring my EE-3 Blaster (Boba Fett's Weapon) ingame soon and if I come up the same problems I'll tell you ... otherwise I can tell you how to avoid it if I don't get the error ^^

Greets
Pahricida


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 12:12 PM   #46
Autobot Traitor
Junior Member
 
Autobot Traitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tatooine, Canada
Posts: 274
I'd love doing a beta too! I can't wait to get my hands on this model, you've really blown Raven's out of the water!

josh_gilhen@msn.com
Autobot Traitor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 12:29 PM   #47
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
i'd love to beta any of your work, hap.

jesuschristisinheavennow@hotmail.com


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 02:53 PM   #48
Mex
Not the brightest cookie.
 
Mex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom, Abingdon
Posts: 4,550
It seems to be the fad so...

If you are doing beta testing, I'd be glad to help. I'll take screenshots at different resolutions and different graphics.. I have both JO and JA, and it would be an awesome model to beta test a model made by you.


Thanks, Michaelmexp<AT>Msn.com [Replace <AT> with @] [Didn't want to get spammed or anything..]

Last edited by Pal™; 02-05-2004 at 06:42 PM.
Mex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 03:14 PM   #49
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,349
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I never thought that I would be so keen on a new model for an NPC already in the game, but I am!

Looks awesome guys...
Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 07:31 PM   #50
Neo_Knight
Rookie
 
Neo_Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: France (lyon)
Posts: 42
The sandtrooper Looks great and we ve got a dewback made by mst
Neo_Knight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 07:40 PM   #51
Autobot Traitor
Junior Member
 
Autobot Traitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tatooine, Canada
Posts: 274
If I get to beta test it, I plan on testing all the emotes from the admin mods and vehicles. By the way, can you make the sounds for the model something other than the default Raven one? I'd like to hear the signature death cry as its "falling death" sound.

Last edited by Autobot Traitor; 02-06-2004 at 12:56 PM.
Autobot Traitor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-05-2004, 10:01 PM   #52
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Autobot Traitor
I'd like to hear the signature death cry as its "falling death" found.
the wilhelm? i've got that .wav right here.


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 07:25 AM   #53
Mex
Not the brightest cookie.
 
Mex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom, Abingdon
Posts: 4,550
Any progress on this model, looking forward to it being released.
[Looking forward to the imperial officer aswell!]
Mex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 07:57 PM   #54
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
We're in the process of re-weighting the entire thing. Last night LOD 3 was finished and we put it into MP to see if it works. It seems fine, so it must have just been a bad max file.

The other three LODs have to be finished now. I'm not sure how long that's going to end up taking, but I'll try to keep you posted of any new updates.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 08:45 PM   #55
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
that's good to hear that you fixed the mp problem...

on a side note, your tarkin is looking good, as is the blaster... although tarkin looks a little nice (lacks that stonecold glare... ). keep it up.


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 09:03 PM   #56
ronbrothers
 
ronbrothers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 416
Can't wait!


I've got a bad feeling about this...
ronbrothers is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 09:20 PM   #57
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Well,... hopefully fixed the MP problem. Just because the least detailed LOD will work, doesn't mean there won't be problems with the other LODs,...

I'm such an optimist.



Tarkin's coming around, but I'll admit it still isn't right. You should have seen it a week ago. Every time I looked at it, I couldn't help but think to myself,...

MONKEY!!!!

..........

And then here's what I'm working with now.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2004, 02:06 AM   #58
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Quote:
Originally posted by HapSlash
That looks good. He's really got that "bird-like" appearance now.

TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2004, 11:13 AM   #59
Mex
Not the brightest cookie.
 
Mex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom, Abingdon
Posts: 4,550
Oh jeese, I'm gonna need new pants!
Mex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2004, 02:53 PM   #60
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
hap, which other imperials were you planning on for additional heads? it would be awesome if you considered gilad pellaeon or even thrawn (maybe with a possible toggleable ysalimiri on his shoulders? ) was included...


overlord

Last edited by t3rr0r; 02-14-2004 at 03:08 PM.
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2004, 03:00 PM   #61
Mex
Not the brightest cookie.
 
Mex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom, Abingdon
Posts: 4,550
Quote:
Originally posted by t3rr0r
hap, which other imperials were you planning on for additional heads? it's would be awesome if you considered gilad pellaeon or even thrawn (maybe with a possible toggleable ysalimiri on his shoulders? ) was included...
That would be pretty cool.

Hap : Maybe you could make these ideas for new heads after you've released the generic ones?
Mex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2004, 07:09 PM   #62
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Quote:
Originally posted by t3rr0r
hap, which other imperials were you planning on for additional heads? it would be awesome if you considered gilad pellaeon or even thrawn (maybe with a possible toggleable ysalimiri on his shoulders? ) was included...
Grand Admiral Thrawn is in production. Look here, http://hapslash.tripod.com/jkii/proj.html, under Imperial Forces.
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-14-2004, 09:21 PM   #63
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
I wouldn't read too much into that page,... I started it back when I originally revamped the site, and never finished it. Many of the projects listed were never even started, and some of them I don't have much intention of making now anyway. That's why the page is no longer accessible through the site anymore, I thought I had already taken it down.



The ideas mentioned sound pretty good, but they won't be included with the initial model release. I've been planing on including the basic Imperial Officer with the second Dark Forces Mod Demo,... After that's been done, I'll probably re-release the model with some expanded features.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2004, 09:35 AM   #64
Mex
Not the brightest cookie.
 
Mex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom, Abingdon
Posts: 4,550
Any new updates so far?
Mex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2004, 06:00 PM   #65
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Thats really great!


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2004, 08:01 AM   #66
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
/cheer storm trooper storm trooper storm trooper storm trooper

we want storm trooper


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2004, 06:16 PM   #67
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
just a stupid question, what effect do spec shader do?




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2004, 07:37 PM   #68
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Make it a little shiny.. can also be used to add dust type stuff if I remember correctly.... just depends on the colors.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-21-2004, 07:07 PM   #69
Infinity Blade
 
Infinity Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Between here and there.
Posts: 257
Hap's Stormtrooper is in game.. and it works in both SP and MP now!!!!....

Uhmm.. unfortunately he's tweaking another little part of it now.. so you still have a little waiting to do.

I imagine it won't be too long, though.


---

"To do something right takes Skill,
... To do something well takes Style!" - Me
Infinity Blade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 04:46 AM   #70
RJW_ca
 
RJW_ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: VANCOUVER BC CANADA
Posts: 175
Current Game: STAR WARS, AVP
GREAT! GREAT!

I can't wait to replace those funny lookin' white guys!!!
HAP's a great guy I'm sure he is just doing what needs to be done for great acureacy!!!

RJW_ca"OUT"

RJW_ca@hotmail.com
RJW_ca is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 08:47 AM   #71
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
While I was waiting for the model to be re-weighted I noticed
something about the helmet and preceded to change it.

Here's how the alternate head looks,...



Since the model has already beed compiled, I might not bother.
I would have to go back and rework the Sandtrooper helmet
texture to match the altered mesh, and I'm not sure if it's worth it.

What do you guys think?


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 09:33 AM   #72
Stormtrooper X
 
Stormtrooper X's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: England
Posts: 159
which one's which?


The one one the lefts eye thingys are too far away from that line circling his head. Plus, the eyes are a bit too grey. I like the one on the right better.

But if the one on the left is HapSlashs' then all he's done is make it look worse.


Sorry, HapSlash!

Edit: I preferred it how it was when you took the screenie of the headless shadow one.


No Disintergrations? Ooops!

Sorry mate, too late!
Stormtrooper X is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 11:47 AM   #73
Autobot Traitor
Junior Member
 
Autobot Traitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tatooine, Canada
Posts: 274
Personnaly, I prefer the one on the right, but bear in mind, both of the variations exist in the Star Wars universe, especialy in ANH were the extras had the black piece of rubber floating around anywhere!
One thing though, the one on the right looks like his eye holes got shrunk a little along the Y axis. Mabye you can do like Goerge Lucas and take the eyes of the one on the left and place them like the one on the right



Oya, Infinity blade, you have a broken link in your sig. It says you can find the Dark Forces mod at http://darkforces.jediknightii.net/.
(instead of http://darkforces.jediknight.net/)
Autobot Traitor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 02:11 PM   #74
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
both hero and stunt version of the helmet. :O if only you could include both.

ooh, if you don't want to be troubled with the new mesh, could you possibly make alternate skins (for both storm and sand) with the rubber brow up?


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 06:00 PM   #75
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Hap, I think it'd be a great idea to include both helmets with your model. In ANH, there were two styles of helmets, "hero" and "stunt". Hero helmets have three "teeth" either side of the frown and a low brow. Stunt helmets however have four teeth, and usually a higher brow. For example:

A hero style:


A hero style, next to a Stormtrooper:


A stunt style, next to a Sandtrooper:

All Sandtroopers were the stunt style.

Here is a comparison between the two:


Since there are two NPCs for Stormtroopers in Jedi Outcast/Academy, one Stormtrooper could use a stunt helmet, and the other Stormtrooper could use a hero helmet. Just a suggestion.
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 06:12 PM   #76
Neverhoodian
If I may make a point...
 
Neverhoodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The Sohma house
Posts: 1,293
Maybe you could give the E-11 stormies one helmet and the Repeater/Fletchette/Rocket stormtroopers the other helmet.

EDIT: Doh! I just repeated what TK said! Oh well.


Dark Forces Total Conversion-http://darkforces.jediknight.net
Relive the classic that started it all!
Open Jedi Project-http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisp...s=&forumid=542
Working to expand the JA experience!
Neverhoodian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 07:30 PM   #77
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Well, not quite.

There are two regular Stormtrooper NPCs, stormtrooper1 and stormtrooper2. I'm saying maybe stormtrooper1 could use the stunt helmet and stormtrooper2 could use the hero helmet. I'm planning on replacing the Stormtrooper Officers with the Sandtrooper. Although I might give the officers "clean" armor since they should only be sandy if they are on Tatooine, which they are not.
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 08:32 PM   #78
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
off topic, but i'm likin' the new facelift you've given/are giving the site, hap.


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 10:39 PM   #79
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Thanks, I've been meaning to do that for some time now, but never quite got around to it. The original navbar was only meant to be temporary, but that ended being far too long,...



I don't think I'll add both textures, it's just more space that doesn't need to be there. As is, it's going to be a pretty hefty download for those with slower connections.

I haven't decided on which one it will be yet. Almost every shot from the movies that I can find, has the white between the eyes and the black brim. While there are a few that don't, I haven't found very many of them.

I'll just wait to see what it looks like in-game before I make a final decision.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2004, 11:00 PM   #80
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by HapSlash
I don't think I'll add both textures, it's just more space that doesn't need to be there. As is, it's going to be a pretty hefty download for those with slower connections.
hmm, how about separate surfaces for the brows (ie. one surface low, the other high)? since this wouldn't affect texture filesize.


overlord

Last edited by t3rr0r; 02-23-2004 at 04:14 PM.
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Modelling > Hapslash's Improved Stormtrooper

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.