lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Hapslash's Improved Stormtrooper
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-03-2004, 07:50 PM   #161
[FotF]Maddog
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 62
If using photoshop 7.0 do not use the save for the web option for saving. Save them as jpeg and use baseline ("Standard") option. I tried using the save image for the web and it was causing problems. Hope this helps you out, if not good luck.
Dog
[FotF]Maddog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2004, 08:40 PM   #162
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by [FotF]Maddog
If using photoshop 7.0 do not use the save for the web option for saving. Save them as jpeg and use baseline ("Standard") option.
that did it! i noticed mine was set on progressive scan. thanks maddog (and IB for trying to figure out the problem ).


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2004, 02:34 AM   #163
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Ack, looks like I was wrong. Putting *off in a skin file will indeed turn the surface off completely. Thanks for correcting me!
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2004, 02:57 AM   #164
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
what do you guys think of the shader thus far?



maybe hap will allow a public release once the JA version is out.

edit: oops, just realised something with the shader is wrong... it's shiney even in dark shadow.


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2004, 03:18 PM   #165
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577



One of the reasons why the JA trooper wasn't already completed is that I've been finishing the images for a specular shader that Infinity Blade set up for me.

Here's a picture of the shader at work on the model with only flat black textures. I took this in JO, so I'm not exactly sure if it will look the same in JA.



And here is a shot with the shader on the base stormtrooper textures.






I was thinking about doing an updated JO version with the shader and a few of the texture fixes that I've applied to the Academy version, but I'm beginning to think that there isn't much point to it anymore. Out of the 180 people who've downloaded it, I imagine that most of them are trying to use it with JA anyway.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2004, 05:20 PM   #166
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
very impressive... that spec texture must be very detailed.

i've given up on the pilot model method of shineyness, as it's either not effected by lights (so it glows, in a sense) or it is just all dark.


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2004, 01:58 PM   #167
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Yeah,.. it's just as detailed as the base textures. It pulls off the semi-gloss sheen pretty well, but I don't think it would work very well for a high-gloss shine.


Oh yeah,... I was looking at the first pic you posted of the black trooper and it looks like a mod-view shot and he's holding a blaster. I didn't think that was possible.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2004, 02:42 PM   #168
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Arggghhh,.... I caught another mistake.

There's been something bothering me about the E-11's in the shots that have been posted. After I took a look through the pk3 I see what it is,...

Here is the one that was released,... and then the correct one,...


It released blaster appears to be the first test version that was compiled before I refined the uv-map and textures.

It's just one more thing that needs to be fixed I guess,...


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2004, 05:17 PM   #169
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by HapSlash
There's been something bothering me about the E-11's in the shots that have been posted. After I took a look through the pk3 I see what it is,...
i noticed the lighter texture too, but i just figured that's how it turned out.

and yes, you can bolts items/weapons/whatever to tags in modview.

hap, you should try adding glow to the final JA spec shader. it makes it just a little bit nicer.

ex.

models/players/stormtrooper/arms
{
cull twosided
{
map models/players/stormtrooper/arms
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ZERO
rgbGen lightingDiffuse
}
{
map models/players/stormtrooper/arms_spec
blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
detail
glow
alphaGen lightingSpecular
}
}


overlord

Last edited by t3rr0r; 03-05-2004 at 05:56 PM.
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2004, 07:22 PM   #170
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally posted by t3rr0r
you can bolts items/weapons/whatever to tags in modview.
How do you do that?
Quote:
hap, you should try adding glow to the final JA spec shader. it makes it just a little bit nicer.
What kind of effect does it add?


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2004, 07:55 PM   #171
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by HapSlash
How do you do that?
on the side menu, go to tag surfaces or whatever it's named (i'm not at home so i can't check), then right click on the tag and select add and then seek out the .glm you want to bolt on.

Quote:
What kind of effect does it add?
it gives the highlight a little bit of ambient glow (definately not as if it's it's own light source like lights using glow in JA). you can see a distant glow around the lamps in my second image (the one with 4 squares). it just makes it a bit more shiney looking, to me anyway.

we really gotta get you JA, hap.

edit: here's a couple of examples.

the first column is showing the slight glow of the spec lighting. the second, the full blow glow of a lamp.



the first row is with dynamic glow turned off.
the second is with dynamic glow on (set to 1).
the third is dynamic glow set to 2 (shows glow only).


overlord

Last edited by t3rr0r; 03-05-2004 at 08:52 PM.
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 12:46 PM   #172
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Thanks!



I just couldn't help myself.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 03:24 PM   #173
Neverhoodian
If I may make a point...
 
Neverhoodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The Sohma house
Posts: 1,293
ROFL!

That's classic, Hap.


Dark Forces Total Conversion-http://darkforces.jediknight.net
Relive the classic that started it all!
Open Jedi Project-http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisp...s=&forumid=542
Working to expand the JA experience!
Neverhoodian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 05:47 PM   #174
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Did anyone have to make any modifications to the E-11 to get it to work with outcast, such as renaming anything, or did it work as it is?

I'm pretty much ready to pack this thing up, and wanted to know if there's anything I should add or change.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 06:15 PM   #175
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
jeah perhaps you should include a different Version of the Sandtrooper.

Sandtrooper Model with Stormtrooper Textures ... like the Storm Commandos from Dark Forces 2: Jedi Knight.

Don't know, wether you already did this, but it would be cool .. no doubt.


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 07:47 PM   #176
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Nah,... TK-8252 had that idea and has already started setting them up.

I just want to get these two finished. I'm not really looking for any new ideas, just what I need to do in oder to get this thing released.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 08:44 PM   #177
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by HapSlash
Did anyone have to make any modifications to the E-11 to get it to work with outcast, such as renaming anything, or did it work as it is?
they have the same name, and work as is.


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 08:50 PM   #178
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
Ok,... Thanks.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 09:52 PM   #179
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
just remember the officer thingy


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 10:33 PM   #180
RJW_ca
 
RJW_ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: VANCOUVER BC CANADA
Posts: 175
Current Game: STAR WARS, AVP
Does you mean that your Rockettrooper will replace the one in JA???
would that suck because the Rockettrooper in JA looks more like a real guard--like something a little more fearfull-- and remember this is years later so the Rockettrooper has probably been updated over the years

What do you think?

I so want to see the stormtroopers for JA with shaders--it will be so kool!!!

RJW_ca "OUT"

RJW_ca@hotmail.com
RJW_ca is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 10:39 PM   #181
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
There are two different Rocket Troopers in Jedi Academy. There's the rocket launcher-wielding Stormtrooper, and then the jetpack trooper with a rocket launcher or a repeater. So the jetpack trooper still remains.
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 10:52 PM   #182
Sounds Risky
No sir, that's paper
 
Sounds Risky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally posted by HapSlash

I just couldn't help myself.
Hehe.



onthefly

The player formerly known as OCH.

Sounds Risky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 11:32 PM   #183
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 11:42 PM   #184
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Quote:
Originally posted by Sounds Risky
Eww... the ugly trooper! Get it away!
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2004, 12:07 AM   #185
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
hehe ... clumsy troopers could never do that


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2004, 02:06 AM   #186
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
The only people Storm Troopers can't shoot ('Cos they're under orders BTW) are the "Heros". All the standard rebels get whupped! example: On the bloackade Runner, The Jawas, On Hoth, On Bespin (They take over the whole city), on Endor (The rebel troopers get kicked) it's just those damn Ewoks - perhaps they're just "too short for stormtroopers".


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2004, 02:13 AM   #187
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
I don't know,... if you watch 'Jedi' a whole lot of them little suckers get whacked,...

Mwaaa, haa, ha, ha, haaaa!!!



The Imperials were just severely outnumbered.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2004, 03:23 AM   #188
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Post

Those Ewoks must breed like rabbits!!!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2004, 04:36 AM   #189
ace_rogue1
Rookie
 
ace_rogue1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
Stormies helmets just dont let them see low
Its those darn ewok pimps we have to thank for the large number of ewoks -_^
ace_rogue1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2004, 12:32 PM   #190
Infinity Blade
 
Infinity Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Between here and there.
Posts: 257
Furry little Ho's?.... yuuuuugghhh.... *shudder*


I dunno... I don't think they're really that accurate.. I just think if they concentrate enough fire power on one spot, eventually they'll hit something.


---

"To do something right takes Skill,
... To do something well takes Style!" - Me
Infinity Blade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2004, 03:37 PM   #191
AlphaleX
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 37
How I can download the blackhole stormtrooper?
AlphaleX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2004, 04:49 PM   #192
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by AlphaleX
How I can download the blackhole stormtrooper?
with haps permission, i'll upload it once he releases the JA version. unless he would want it included with the release... whatever hap thinks.


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2004, 05:06 PM   #193
Autobot Traitor
Junior Member
 
Autobot Traitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tatooine, Canada
Posts: 274
You know what would be cool is if the stormie model could be made compatible with Ducan's exposed weapons mod. The E-11 could actualy fit in the holster.
Autobot Traitor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2004, 12:38 AM   #194
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
a couple shots... wee...





edit: btw... tk, what's the name of that cinematic map you used for your screenshots? i knew it once, but i'm too lazy to go through the maps to check. :P


overlord

Last edited by t3rr0r; 03-12-2004 at 02:01 AM.
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2004, 01:20 AM   #195
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
I think it's t1_inter.

And t3rr0r, shhhhh... <_< >_>
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2004, 02:00 AM   #196
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by TK-8252
I think it's t1_inter.

And t3rr0r, shhhhh... <_< >_>
shh what? <_< >_>


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2004, 03:53 AM   #197
HapSlash
 
HapSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Kingdom of Mongo
Posts: 577
I tried posting this around 4pm, but my server went down. I'll probably release the JA versions around midnight tonight(CST), which is in just a few hours, as I haven't heard of any other bugs with it. I've redone a few of the textures fixed the shader and created new icons for the Stormtrooper.



Here's the message I tried posting earlier today,...

Quote:
Originally posted by t3rr0r
with haps permission, i'll upload it once he releases the JA version. unless he would want it included with the release... whatever hap thinks.
I don't plan on including anything other than the base & team skins, So if anyone wants Black Hole Stormtroopers or clean Sandtroopers, they'll have to be made afterwards.


Quote:
Originally posted by Autobot Traitor
You know what would be cool is if the stormie model could be made compatible with Ducan's exposed weapons mod. The E-11 could actualy fit in the holster.

I think that idea works well for the sabers, but it looks kinda odd having the blasters just dangling from their legs. It would look better with a holster, but only the weapon that the holster was made for.

And, as an npc, the Stormtrooper is always holding his weapon. Therefor, the only time you would ever use those tags would be as a player character.


HapSlash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2004, 12:17 PM   #198
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by HapSlash
I don't plan on including anything other than the base & team skins, So if anyone wants Black Hole Stormtroopers or clean Sandtroopers, they'll have to be made afterwards.
i take it that you'd be fine with me releasing the blackhole trooper skin then... and of course 99% of the credit will go towards yourself.

mind you i still need to figure out how to add new npc weapons...


overlord

Last edited by t3rr0r; 03-12-2004 at 12:34 PM.
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2004, 04:03 PM   #199
Neverhoodian
If I may make a point...
 
Neverhoodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The Sohma house
Posts: 1,293
Just dropped in to say the JA versions of Hap's Stormtrooper and Sandtrooper are now available for download.

Improved Stormtrooper:

http://www.pcgamemods.com/4628/

Improved Sandtrooper:

http://www.pcgamemods.com/4629/

Great work as always, Hap!


Dark Forces Total Conversion-http://darkforces.jediknight.net
Relive the classic that started it all!
Open Jedi Project-http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisp...s=&forumid=542
Working to expand the JA experience!
Neverhoodian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2004, 05:50 PM   #200
AlphaleX
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by HapSlash
I don't plan on including anything other than the base & team skins, So if anyone wants Black Hole Stormtroopers or clean Sandtroopers, they'll have to be made afterwards.
AlphaleX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Modelling > Hapslash's Improved Stormtrooper

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.