lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Sorry in advance, but...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-09-2004, 12:49 AM   #1
FeceMan
Lurker
 
FeceMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Sorry in advance, but...

OK, to echo the title, I'm sorry. Why? I have to ask for help.

I'll admit, I'm a complete n00b at modding, although I have dabbled here and there before. I've already read through most of the board, but I need some help with editing parts of the game and creating items.

First, I'm looking to modify the skill points + feats gained by some of the classes, force regen rate, etc. in the game. I've edited and saved the .2da files, but I have no clue where to put them. I've looked through all the KoTOR folders and none of them contain what I'm looking for.

Secondly, I extracted the lightsaber/crystal files but I'm not sure exactly what to edit on them, where to put them so they appear in the game, and how to assign specific properties to them.

Is there any place that has a comprehensive guide to this? I'd hate to ask Rupturous (sp?) to do so, but perhaps he could have his friend's mom translate for him and he could have it be stickied on the board.

Any help would be appreicated, so thanks.
FeceMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 12:55 AM   #2
Stator
Rookie
 
Stator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 81
Place the edited .2da files in the override folder.

I can't help you with the saber-crystal files. I haven't even begun to mess with them yet so I don't know what to say.

Stator
Stator is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 12:59 AM   #3
FeceMan
Lurker
 
FeceMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
I tried putting them into the override folder, but to no avail. Oh, well, maybe I'll just have to go and redo them.

Speaking of completely random, try opening the pregen.2da file....it is rather odd, in my opinion. Anyone care to explain it? (If you're too lazy to do so, it seems to have an entire listing of D&D classes.)
FeceMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 01:11 AM   #4
T7nowhere
Did you reset?
 
T7nowhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,972
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
1. anything you change you would put it the override folder Default C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\Override

The only thing you need to edit on the color crytals is the file name, and the line Tag [CExoString]=filename and TemplateResRef [CResRef]=filename. If you want to make changes to how a upgrade crystal reacts you need to change them in the propertylist and if you want to add new properties to your Saber you need to add a new userdefinestruct under the propertylist you can copy one of the crystals structs then remove the line upgrade here is a usefull thread on editing item properties

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...tem+properties
T7nowhere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 01:15 AM   #5
T7nowhere
Did you reset?
 
T7nowhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,972
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by FeceMan
I tried putting them into the override folder, but to no avail. Oh, well, maybe I'll just have to go and redo them.

Speaking of completely random, try opening the pregen.2da file....it is rather odd, in my opinion. Anyone care to explain it? (If you're too lazy to do so, it seems to have an entire listing of D&D classes.)
It's probly just left over junk from NWN. if you look there is also a nwconfig.2da and nwconfig2.2da.now why would KotOR need a config for NWN
T7nowhere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2004, 01:52 AM   #6
FeceMan
Lurker
 
FeceMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
OK, I've got the basics down, but how do I automatically give myself the lightsaber/crystal?

ROAR! I can get the thing with cheats, but I can't get the Force Regen to work, and my lightsaber is normal. ROAR! Anyone have any idea on how to change that? ROAR, I say, ROAR.

Last edited by FeceMan; 02-09-2004 at 02:35 AM.
FeceMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Sorry in advance, but...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.