lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: I feel like cursing
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-12-2004, 04:05 PM   #1
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Unhappy I feel like cursing

MMMMPIE posted a link to a site and I decided to D/L a custom boot screen, when I installed it my brand new computer would not load windows






*head falls off*
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 04:34 PM   #2
ExcelsioN
Veteran
 
ExcelsioN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 898
Post me a link and I'll see what I can do. I think you've got a virus.

Wait...how did you post this?


ExcelsioN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 04:43 PM   #3
leXX
Forum Mum
 
leXX's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,200
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LF Jester LFN Staff Member 
You shouldn't play around with boot screens unless you are absolutely certain you know what you are doing. Do you have XP? If you do, get Style XP and you can change the boot screen easily, as well as your theme, logon, wallpaper and icons.


Being human totally sucks most of the time.
Videogames are the only thing that
make life bearable.
- Anorak's Almanac, Chapter 91, Verses 1-2

Add me on: XBL | PSN | Last.fm | Steam
leXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 04:43 PM   #4
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by ExcelsioN
Post me a link and I'll see what I can do. I think you've got a virus.

Wait...how did you post this?
my brother's comp

http://www.themexp.org/theme_detail....0049&view=date

btw, I feel like someone just shot my dog
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 04:47 PM   #5
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by leXX
You shouldn't play around with boot screens unless you are absolutely certain you know what you are doing. Do you have XP? If you do, get Style XP and you can change the boot screen easily, as well as your theme, logon, wallpaper and icons.
Yes I have XP, well... I had XP, I can't use it now.

So does that mean i'm screwed?
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 04:49 PM   #6
ExcelsioN
Veteran
 
ExcelsioN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally posted by leXX
You shouldn't play around with boot screens unless you are absolutely certain you know what you are doing. Do you have XP? If you do, get Style XP and you can change the boot screen easily, as well as your theme, logon, wallpaper and icons.
Yeah, you should use Style XP. I do. Its possible that something you changed didn't work, and meant that Windows stopped loading. Either that, or its not displaying the boot screen, so try waiting for a while.


ExcelsioN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 04:50 PM   #7
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by ExcelsioN
Yeah, you should use Style XP. I do. Its possible that something you changed didn't work, and meant that Windows stopped loading. Either that, or its not displaying the boot screen, so try waiting for a while.
Waiting for it to load?
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 05:21 PM   #8
leXX
Forum Mum
 
leXX's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,200
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LF Jester LFN Staff Member 
My husband knows exactly what to do, but he isn't home for another couple of hours, so hold tight.


Being human totally sucks most of the time.
Videogames are the only thing that
make life bearable.
- Anorak's Almanac, Chapter 91, Verses 1-2

Add me on: XBL | PSN | Last.fm | Steam
leXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 05:21 PM   #9
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
I feel like im going to die from greif.

I can't help myself from thinking i'm stupid and its all my fault

EDIT: I'll try
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 06:27 PM   #10
leXX
Forum Mum
 
leXX's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,200
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LF Jester LFN Staff Member 
My husband needs to know:

What type of file system was it - NTFS or FAT32?

Was XP service pack 1 installed?


Being human totally sucks most of the time.
Videogames are the only thing that
make life bearable.
- Anorak's Almanac, Chapter 91, Verses 1-2

Add me on: XBL | PSN | Last.fm | Steam
leXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 06:30 PM   #11
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by leXX
My husband needs to know:

What type of file system was it - NTFS or FAT32?

Was XP service pack 1 installed?
I don't know
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 06:39 PM   #12
Pie™
A peppermint nightmare.
 
Pie™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,132
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by leXX
get Style XP and you can change the boot screen easily, as well as your theme, logon, wallpaper and icons.
I said that when i posted the link
I hope you manage to fix it IG




Pondering the mystery of rainbows, UFOs, and ****ing magnets.
Pie™ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 06:43 PM   #13
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by MMMPIE!!!
I said that when i posted the link
I hope you manage to fix it IG
I did get StyleXP, it did my login but I couldn't find anything for boot screens

Btw, I'm not blaming anything on you, pie.
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 06:43 PM   #14
ET Warrior
PhD in horribleness
 
ET Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Evil League of Evil
Posts: 9,405
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
And todays lesson kids, is don't go messing with your computers settings unless you know what you're doing.



ET Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 06:47 PM   #15
Pie™
A peppermint nightmare.
 
Pie™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,132
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by IG-64
I did get StyleXP, it did my login but I couldn't find anything for boot screens
Then you probably didn't get the newest version, I'm using a custom boot screen...




Pondering the mystery of rainbows, UFOs, and ****ing magnets.
Pie™ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 06:52 PM   #16
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by ET Warrior
And todays lesson kids, is don't go messing with your computers settings unless you know what you're doing.
Lesson learned, I don't know why I was so stupid

When/If I get my computer us and running again, i'll get the newer version of stylexp like pie said
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 06:55 PM   #17
leXX
Forum Mum
 
leXX's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,200
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LF Jester LFN Staff Member 
You need to find out if it's NTFS or FAT32 first.

If it's a brand new computer (recently bought within the last 8 months), it should have windows xp service pack one installed.

There are two possible solutions:

FAT32:
1. Create a dos boot disc. Copy the file ntoskrnl.exe (C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe) from another computer which is running Windows XP with SP1 onto the boot disk.

2. Boot from the dos disc and copy the ntoskrnl.exe file to C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe.

3. Remove dos disc and restart the computer.

NTFS:
1. Create a emergency boot disk from a computer running Windows XP with SP.

Goto Start>Programs>Accessories>System tools>Backup. From the Tools menu, select the ASR wizard and take a back up of the files.

2. Copy the file ntoskrnl.exe (C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe) onto the disk if wizard hasn't done so.

3. Boot from the emergency boot disc and copy the ntoskrnl.exe file to C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe.

4. Remove disc and restart the computer.

You should have your computer up and running.

The above will work if you had service pack 1 installed, but if you didn't, then you need to copy the same files from a PC which is not running service pack 1.

Lastly, thank my husband.


Being human totally sucks most of the time.
Videogames are the only thing that
make life bearable.
- Anorak's Almanac, Chapter 91, Verses 1-2

Add me on: XBL | PSN | Last.fm | Steam
leXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 06:57 PM   #18
-=DarkZero=-
Riddle Of The Day
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: U/A
Posts: 1,503
If I were you, I'd just get rid of windows, you know, uninstall it, set it on fire, kick it a few times, smash it with a hammer or other blunt objects, until it turns to a pile of nothingness.

Get LINUX! (Or Unix!)
-=DarkZero=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 07:01 PM   #19
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
poor IG, that sux, hope you get it fixed dude.

Im playing with style xp at the moment, Im just sticking to visual styles rather than themes, so as not to mess with those other things.....

MTFBWYA


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 07:17 PM   #20
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by leXX
You need to find out if it's NTFS or FAT32 first.

If it's a brand new computer (recently bought within the last 8 months), it should have windows xp service pack one installed.

There are two possible solutions:

FAT32:
1. Create a dos boot disc. Copy the file ntoskrnl.exe (C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe) from another computer which is running Windows XP with SP1 onto the boot disk.

2. Boot from the dos disc and copy the ntoskrnl.exe file to C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe.

3. Remove dos disc and restart the computer.

NTFS:
1. Create a emergency boot disk from a computer running Windows XP with SP.

Goto Start>Programs>Accessories>System tools>Backup. From the Tools menu, select the ASR wizard and take a back up of the files.

2. Copy the file ntoskrnl.exe (C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe) onto the disk if wizard hasn't done so.

3. Boot from the emergency boot disc and copy the ntoskrnl.exe file to C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe.

4. Remove disc and restart the computer.

You should have your computer up and running.

The above will work if you had service pack 1 installed, but if you didn't, then you need to copy the same files from a PC which is not running service pack 1.

Lastly, thank my husband.
Ok, the computer i'm on uses FAT32 and doesn't have Start> Programs>Accessories>System tools>Backup but my computer uses NTFS, so what do I do?
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 07:19 PM   #21
leXX
Forum Mum
 
leXX's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,200
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LF Jester LFN Staff Member 
Then you do this...

Quote:
Originally posted by leXX
NTFS:
1. Create a emergency boot disk from a computer running Windows XP with SP.

Goto Start>Programs>Accessories>System tools>Backup. From the Tools menu, select the ASR wizard and take a back up of the files.

2. Copy the file ntoskrnl.exe (C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe) onto the disk if wizard hasn't done so.

3. Boot from the emergency boot disc and copy the ntoskrnl.exe file to C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe.

4. Remove disc and restart the computer.


Being human totally sucks most of the time.
Videogames are the only thing that
make life bearable.
- Anorak's Almanac, Chapter 91, Verses 1-2

Add me on: XBL | PSN | Last.fm | Steam
leXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 07:22 PM   #22
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by leXX
Then you do this...
But the one i'm on doesn't have a Start>Programs>Accessories>System tools>Backup
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 07:26 PM   #23
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Quote:
Originally posted by leXX
You shouldn't play around with boot screens unless you are absolutely certain you know what you are doing. Do you have XP? If you do, get Style XP and you can change the boot screen easily, as well as your theme, logon, wallpaper and icons.
LeXX is right Infact I wouldnt even change it its noth worth messing around for new art at a bootup screen


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 08:04 PM   #24
ET Warrior
PhD in horribleness
 
ET Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Evil League of Evil
Posts: 9,405
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by IG-64
But the one i'm on doesn't have a Start> Programs>Accessories>System tools>Backup
Find one that does.



ET Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 08:27 PM   #25
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
I have the originall file backed up on the comp itself, is there any way I can copy and paste it using DOS or something?
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 09:13 PM   #26
ET Warrior
PhD in horribleness
 
ET Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Evil League of Evil
Posts: 9,405
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
The Wizard you're gonna run is going to put more than one file on your disk. IF Lexx can get you a list of all the files you need, then yes, you could copy them to a disk from DOS.



ET Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 09:36 PM   #27
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by ET Warrior
The Wizard you're gonna run is going to put more than one file on your disk. IF Lexx can get you a list of all the files you need, then yes, you could copy them to a disk from DOS.
but don't I want to copy them to System32?
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 09:38 PM   #28
RoxStar
Moderator
 
RoxStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,411
Current Game: Everything Zelda
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by IG-64
Yes I have XP, well... I had XP, I can't use it now.

So does that mean i'm screwed?
If you bought XP you probably have an XP disc or s system restore disc. Pop it in and watch the magic work.

RoxStar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 09:42 PM   #29
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by RoxStar
If you bought XP you probably have an XP disc or s system restore disc. Pop it in and watch the magic work.
What doees that do? Does it get rid of anything already on my comp?
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 09:46 PM   #30
ET Warrior
PhD in horribleness
 
ET Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Evil League of Evil
Posts: 9,405
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by IG-64
What doees that do? Does it get rid of anything already on my comp?
If it's a system restore, then it'll just set your computer settings to how they were at some past time. Sometimes you'll lose a lot of files in a system restore...sometimes you dont.



ET Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 09:48 PM   #31
Tyrion
nothing is real
 
Tyrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: no one I think is in my tree, I mean it must be high or low
Posts: 6,917
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Yeah, you can pop the XP CD in to do a complete repair. Heck, I had to do this a few weeks ago(reminder kids, dont set LargeSystemCache to 1..it can possibly screw up your computer), even though I did end up formatting..

Anyway, personally, one of your best bets is to search for the sites on Google. I found a few there that were pretty helpful, but I forgot the names of the sites.

By the way, if you think it's a virus you could pop in the Norton Systemworks CD if you have it, it can scan for viri.



Tyrion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 09:59 PM   #32
leXX
Forum Mum
 
leXX's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,200
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LF Jester LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by IG-64
but don't I want to copy them to System32?
You need to get this file into your c:\windows\system32 directory.

The commands to do this with dos are:

If you are booting from a floppy -

copy ntoskrnl.exe c:\windows\system32


Being human totally sucks most of the time.
Videogames are the only thing that
make life bearable.
- Anorak's Almanac, Chapter 91, Verses 1-2

Add me on: XBL | PSN | Last.fm | Steam
leXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2004, 10:30 PM   #33
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
NM, were just gonna reformat

I learned my lesson, don't over-customize

We lost Bloody Nuke 5 and 4 but we still have them on VHS and maybe on CD somewhere, other than that I can't think of anything I would really cry over losing, just as long as I get my beloved back
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 01:07 AM   #34
ZBomber
Octavarium
 
ZBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,916
Forum Veteran 
Same thing happened to me in the summer. Worst feeling n the world......

I got a little pop up that wanted me to log in. I kept pressing cancel, eventually got logged into an account, got into stylexp and burned up that bitch.


Last.FM - Ow, give up the funk
Let the truth of love be lighted
Let the love of truth shine clear
Sensibility
Armed with sense and liberty
With the heart and mind united
In a single perfect sphere
ZBomber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 05:06 AM   #35
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Yeah could be a virus that came with the file you downloaded or there was some spyware in the link, did you try doing a scan?




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 05:09 AM   #36
ET Warrior
PhD in horribleness
 
ET Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Evil League of Evil
Posts: 9,405
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Kinda tough to do a scan when he can't get into windows



ET Warrior is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 09:12 AM   #37
leXX
Forum Mum
 
leXX's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,200
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LF Jester LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by IG-64
NM, were just gonna reformat
After all that, you are gonna re-format and loose everything for no reason! Oh well, I tried.


Being human totally sucks most of the time.
Videogames are the only thing that
make life bearable.
- Anorak's Almanac, Chapter 91, Verses 1-2

Add me on: XBL | PSN | Last.fm | Steam
leXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 10:45 AM   #38
Orca Wail
Veteran
 
Orca Wail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Look outside your window...
Posts: 778
I did something dumb like this last year...

...i inherited my aunt's seven (yesh, 7) year-old laptop. I was SUPPOSED to use it only for typing, but you know...I wanted to make room for some old DOS games...

...I deleted NortonAntiVirus(instead of uninstalling it) and some how deleted SYSTEM.INI....

Jesus....H...Christ...

...the thing acted possesed...restarting randomly and crashing..and...and...




Fortunately for me, my dad was able to make it stable (eneogh) again for typing, but never for games or anything requiring more then only a bit of memory use...
...now I have a new "typing" computer. I had CMI and EFMI and GhostMaster on it, but smart man, my dad, he took them off after Xmas break...*sobs*
Orca Wail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 11:16 AM   #39
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally posted by ET Warrior
Kinda tough to do a scan when he can't get into windows
Hey i said that because i proberly wasnt paying attention.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-13-2004, 11:36 AM   #40
Sivy
coming soon
 
Sivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7,314
Forum Veteran 
you can start windows in safe mode by pressing the F7 key (or maybe F5?? can;t remember which) at start-up. then once in safe mode you can replace the corrupted boot screen files with the original ones from the XP CD.

when replacing the start-up/ shut-down screens, you should always back-up the originals just in case.
Sivy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > I feel like cursing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.