lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KotOR and KotOR2 Savegame Editor (KSE) - Current Version: 3.3.3
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-22-2005, 11:29 AM   #481
XTra KrazzY
Rookie
 
XTra KrazzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Journal editing anyone? (just like tes editor):
-Journal entry name, complete/incomplete
-the right side (where you put the values usually) will be used to radio buttoned journal options(the game does have "quest entries" from 0 and up)+desc. for each one at the bottom...(what it says in the journal)
-Button to complete journal entry
-add journal entries(??? not necessary ???)

This seems very complicated, but without desc and radio buttons and only a "complete" button will do

EDIT: First post... SAY SOMETHING PLEASE... REPLY...

Last edited by XTra KrazzY; 03-23-2005 at 06:25 AM.
XTra KrazzY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2005, 04:25 PM   #482
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
3.2.7 released

v3.2.7 released
Added Components and Chemicals to the treeview for TSL savegames.

@hus: It is possible, but I doubt I will have time to hardcode everything. Plus that would add a 3rd version to maintain (already have KSE and KSEA).

@Lakario: Don't know exactly what you mean, but I think the answer is no in regards to adding NPCs.

@Xtra Krazzy: Your request has been noted. And welcome to the forums!


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2005, 04:29 PM   #483
Lorden Darkblade
Computer Crazy
 
Lorden Darkblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,474
Thanks tk
Believe it or not I were looking for them in the item list the other day LOL



Lorden Darkblade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 12:52 AM   #484
XTra KrazzY
Rookie
 
XTra KrazzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
(I thought you would fix this after two versions but here goes):
You forgot to update the "3.2.5" at the bottom right corner of the program.

BTW think of adding computer spikes and parts as well, and I'm really grateful for the chems and comps, managing them before was tough(adding them to the list everytime).

KSE RULEZ
XTra KrazzY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 02:06 AM   #485
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally by Guyver619
I just downloaded the latest version.. and it's a great program you got there, but I noticed one thing.

Now, I'm hoping it's not just my computer, when whenever I open a uti file with the GFF editor, it automatically sets the upgrade lvl to 0.

Anyone else have that problem?
Er'... Guyver619 I believe you have the wrong thread this is the KSE thread not KOTOR Tool's thread...

I have never been able to open an item .uti in KSE.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 03:35 AM   #486
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by XTra KrazzY
(I thought you would fix this after two versions but here goes):
You forgot to update the "3.2.5" at the bottom right corner of the program.
How embarrassing.

Quote:

BTW think of adding computer spikes and parts as well
Unlike chems/comps, spikes and parts are recorded in the inventory.res file as normal stacked items and should appear under the inventory node.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 07:52 AM   #487
orbe76
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
KSE

Hey!

I`m a new member from Norway, and I`ve been here frequently here from when you started this page. I most say you have made KOTOR a better game whit KSE! It`s a great save game editor!!

But.... I got problems with the latest versions. I can use KSE 2.1.1.am but when I have tried to use kse 326 or 327, they won`t load. Do you have any idea what the problem might be?

Greetings from Norway...
orbe76 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 08:55 AM   #488
XTra KrazzY
Rookie
 
XTra KrazzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Re: KSE

Quote:
Originally posted by orbe76
I can use KSE 2.1.1.am but when I have tried to use kse 326 or 327, they won`t load. Do you have any idea what the problem might be?
I suggest that you should try KSEA 3.2.7
XTra KrazzY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 11:13 AM   #489
orbe76
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
hmmmmm

I`ve tried kse 3.2.7. But I read the "readme" file for kse 211a, so maybe it`s because I use non-English versions of Windows XP?

EDIT: bluss bluss ...or maybe I didn`t read what u "said"... ksea 3.2.7 works fine...
orbe76 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 11:19 AM   #490
XTra KrazzY
Rookie
 
XTra KrazzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
once again:
did you try KSEA (KSEA Download)

EDIT: Nice to see it works, I am always happy to help.

Last edited by XTra KrazzY; 03-24-2005 at 01:20 PM.
XTra KrazzY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 01:40 PM   #491
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Just fixed the version number and reuploaded. Thanks XTra KrazzY,


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 01:52 PM   #492
XTra KrazzY
Rookie
 
XTra KrazzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Hey, no problem. As I said I am glad to help.

BTW any progress(or will there be any) on the journal thing? because right now i used some tools and built my own "quest completer". it's basucally a dialog with the battered robot from dantooine that I edit constantly, and I can never know what the quest entry num. will be (especially for quests that I can't find where to solve them(like "redemption" for instance(I used entry #91))) and it will be a tool for the dumber ppl among us (no offence), that [cannot]/[don't want to] go through these tough stages of editing the journal through the game.

Thanks in advance.
XTra KrazzY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 04:38 PM   #493
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
BTW any progress(or will there be any) on the journal thing?
I haven't yet decided whether or not to include this functionality into KSE.

It appears that the data for Journal entries is stored in the PartyTable.res file. For KotOR, chaning the Journal states doesn't appear to be an issue since no scripts in that game use the GetJournalEntry function provided in nwscript.nss (they use Globals instead). However TSL does use the GetJournalEntry function in a number of scripts to track the plot. Changing the values could corrupt the plot of the game. (But one could argue: so can the globals.)

So basically this is a non-answer to your question, except insofar as I've
looked at what it would take.

Edit: I take that back, there are a couple instances of GetJournalEntry function in KotOR:
k_ptat20aa_acqui.ncs
k_ptat_noraceyet.ncs
k_ptat_norules.ncs
k_ptat_pazzjour.ncs
k_ptat_sandjourn.ncs



Last edited by tk102; 03-24-2005 at 04:56 PM.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 04:54 PM   #494
dr_kayoz
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bremerton, WA
Posts: 18
what is the difference between KSE and KSEA?
dr_kayoz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 05:01 PM   #495
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
KSE is compiled with Perl/Tk 804.027. KSEA is compiled with Perl/Tk 800.024. The former is Unicode-aware which means it bends over backwards to try to handle other non-ANSI characters.

Unfortunately, it fails for reasons that are slightly mysterious. KSEA does not try to do anything fancy and it seems to work just fine for everyone. KSE is prettier though and has more display options.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 05:03 PM   #496
dr_kayoz
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bremerton, WA
Posts: 18
ahh ok, here can i make a sugestion for the editor... in the areas where you can change the skins... maybe making the skin appear so you know what skin you are selecting when you select a skin. Like the Player Portrait and Player model i mean, and any where else that models or skins are selected.
dr_kayoz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 05:08 PM   #497
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Implementing eiz's tpc2tga code was something I once considered but I was boggled by it and left it aside rather than try to convert the VC++ to Perl.

And models... not going to happen.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 05:36 PM   #498
XTra KrazzY
Rookie
 
XTra KrazzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
I haven't yet decided whether or not to include this functionality into KSE.
You could add "USE WITH YOUR OWN RISK, IT MAY DAMAGE YOUR PLOT!(only if it's not a "Bonus quest")"

EDIT: if you already know what that quest entry writes in your journal(if you do add that to the journal editor), then it will not be as risky as what i do(#91)... The only thing that bothers me is the connection between the journal entries and the global vars.

Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
Implementing eiz's tpc2tga code was something I once considered but I was boggled by it and left it aside rather than try to convert the VC++ to Perl.
tpc2tga means portrait files to pictures? if so, then maybe i could help with porting the code from vcpp to pl... just because i think the idea will contribute alot to the gui when changing a portrait
XTra KrazzY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 05:38 PM   #499
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
tpc2tga means portrait files to pictures? if so, then i maybe could help with porting the code from vcpp to pl... just because i think the idea will contribute alot to the gui when changing a portrait
That'd be cool. Here's the URL for eiz's source:
http://blitz.phpwebhosting.com/eiz/tpc/

Edit: Not strictly a VC++ project... just straight up C++.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2005, 05:41 PM   #500
XTra KrazzY
Rookie
 
XTra KrazzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
[notice my edit above]


about the porting, I will compile the code tomorrow (friday, nothing to do ), then check it out in action, and start to port.
XTra KrazzY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2005, 10:21 PM   #501
hus
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Re: 3.2.7 released

Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
v3.2.7 released
Added Components and Chemicals to the treeview for TSL savegames.

@hus: It is possible, but I doubt I will have time to hardcode everything. Plus that would add a 3rd version to maintain (already have KSE and KSEA).
...
oh well, thanks for the reply though.
hus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-29-2005, 09:53 PM   #502
Blacktrim
Lurker
 
Blacktrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
I am an avid RPG player and a tremendous fan of the KOTOR series so far and i would like to say i am deeply impressed with the work done by the modding community for KOTOR and TSL, most especially the savegame editor!
keep up the fan-freaking-tastic work!
Blacktrim is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2005, 06:00 AM   #503
The Lost Jedi
Lurker
 
The Lost Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 4
Hey there! My compliments on the latest KSE! I really love these two games and being able to create the characters the way I want them to be just gives you that EXTRA sense of 'cool.'

I just wanted to ask though, where do I go to edit Force Powers like Force Storm or Force Wave and Throw Lightsaber? I can't seem to find them anywhere in the dropdown lists?

Am I missing something?


Again, great stuff!


Sorry! My bad! My bad! I found them!!


I learned that the people I care about are taken away from me too soon, and the ones that don't matter never go away!

FEY VICTUS!

Last edited by The Lost Jedi; 03-30-2005 at 06:13 AM.
The Lost Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-30-2005, 10:29 AM   #504
XTra KrazzY
Rookie
 
XTra KrazzY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Hey, you've got a stupid smallish bug:
when cheats are used it says: "cheat used : 1" and when it's not it says: "cheatS used: 0"

smallish bug
(i fixed it on mine, just took the source code, changed it and recompiled)
XTra KrazzY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-31-2005, 05:38 PM   #505
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v3.2.8 released

Added the ability to see portraits in KSE when they are selected from the portraits list.

Screenshot

(And I fixed that nitpick bug Xtra)



Last edited by tk102; 04-01-2005 at 12:35 AM.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-31-2005, 09:47 PM   #506
Blacktrim
Lurker
 
Blacktrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Thumbs up v3.2.8

the new version works, and the faces do show up in the upper-right hand corner when you highlight them on the list.

this would probably reguire a lot of work, but would it possible to display pictures of the character models when they're selected on the editor? It would save the trouble of having to go back and forth from the game to the editor deciding on a model you like
Blacktrim is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-31-2005, 10:02 PM   #507
chuckymonster
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Hello,
Sorry, I havent been able to find an answer to this, so I´m posting here...
Is there some sort of guide for editing the global scripts? I mean something that can tell me what OBE 511 or whatever means, and what´s the meaning of the numbers besides it?
This is the problem I want to fix
After almost thirty hours of playing KOTOR II, I seem to have found a problem...After following the light side (in a general way) I arrived in Oberon, and decided to follow the General...planning to infiltrate his organization and betray him, in almost the same way go could play along with the assasination of the Sith Lords of Korriban in the first KOTOR. I left the planet met the other Jedi Masters, and left peacefully, but aparently this was not an option in Oberon, since coming back the jedi left me no choice but to fight....and after killing him, the game decided to label me sith and force me to go on the dark path of the storyline.
So, can anything be done about it? I have a save game just before finishing the tomb...so is there a way to fix my game so that I may continue on the path of the light side story? I dont mind beign a sith...but I was hoping to finish off the game with my first choice of alignment, and then go a second time as the oposite....

Last edited by chuckymonster; 03-31-2005 at 10:13 PM.
chuckymonster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 04:59 AM   #508
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v3.2.9 released

v3.2.9 released
After having fun with porting eiz's tpc2tga code to Perl, I figured why not add images for the items in KotOR/TSL.

Screenshot


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 05:05 AM   #509
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Re: v3.2.9 released

Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
v3.2.9 released
After having fun with porting eiz's tpc2tga code to Perl, I figured why not add images for the items in KotOR/TSL.

Screenshot
Kick ass addition man
Will definitely come in handy!


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 05:37 AM   #510
Mav
8-Bit Code Monkey
 
Mav's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: A House
Posts: 4,043
Current Game: SWTOR
Re: v3.2.9 released

Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
v3.2.9 released
After having fun with porting eiz's tpc2tga code to Perl, I figured why not add images for the items in KotOR/TSL.

Screenshot
Very cool I'll give you 2

This new addition make KSE much more aesthetically pleasing and dare I say... beautiful


"Women are like sunsets… they’re beautiful, but there will be a different one tomorrow." - Gilder
Mav is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 01:14 PM   #511
Lorden Darkblade
Computer Crazy
 
Lorden Darkblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,474
Awesome work tk
I cant wait to see what you'll do next



Lorden Darkblade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 06:18 PM   #512
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v3.2.10 released

v3.2.10 released

svösh discovered a bug in 3.2.9 where baseitems.2da in the TSL override would prevent item's icons from appearing. That bug has been fixed

Also added the ability to see portraits and item icons that have .tga files in the override folder.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 06:40 PM   #513
svösh
 
svösh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 733
Veteran Modder Helpful! Contest winner - Modding 
Awesome man , thanks , works perfectly now , what are the chances we will be able to see icons for our custom stuff ?

If’s not a ton of work that is .. Would be a cool addition

Thanks again

svösh


pixel, poly builder
svösh's kotor mods
svösh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 07:53 PM   #514
PsyckoSama
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19
I try and run kse v3.28 and v3.210 but it gibves me an error that says its trying to read past the end of the diologue.tlk and mentions the kotor1 spells.2da before crashing...

and ideas what the heck is up?
PsyckoSama is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 08:22 PM   #515
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
@svösh: You should be able to see them now. The .tga files have to be in your override root folder -- subfolders in the override aren't supported.


@PsyckoSama:
Sounds like you have a TSL spells.2da file in your KotOR override folder.

Other possiblities:
- KotOR dialog.tlk in your TSL folder
- the paths in your registry are pointed to the wrong game


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 09:01 PM   #516
PsyckoSama
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19
Quote:

@PsyckoSama:
Sounds like you have a TSL spells.2da file in your KotOR override folder.
I doubt it considering I don't have any post-KOTOR2 PC release mods in the override...

Quote:
Other possiblities:
- KotOR dialog.tlk in your TSL folder
I haven't modded TSL yet so I can't see how that might work...

Quote:
- the paths in your registry are pointed to the wrong game
Any ideas how and where to check? I don't like mucking around in the reg (and for good reason)

Hmm... would the fact that I still have KSE v2.11 (which works) on my computer fowl anything up?
PsyckoSama is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 09:05 PM   #517
T7nowhere
Did you reset?
 
T7nowhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,972
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by PsyckoSama
I try and run kse v3.28 and v3.210 but it gibves me an error that says its trying to read past the end of the diologue.tlk and mentions the kotor1 spells.2da before crashing...

and ideas what the heck is up?
I got this exact same error last night. The problem was I have All-in-one Force Power mod installed But I recently updated the game to 1.03(don't ask why I just did that) and so the patch overwrote the dialog.tlk that is installed by All-in-one Force Power mod. So if you have that mod installed then you will want to reinstall the dialog.tlk from the mod.
T7nowhere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2005, 10:29 PM   #518
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
@PsyckoSama:
Try making a file called kse.log in the same directory as KSE. Then try to run KSE to make it crash. After that happens, post the contents of kse.log here.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2005, 12:24 AM   #519
PsyckoSama
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
@PsyckoSama:
Try making a file called kse.log in the same directory as KSE. Then try to run KSE to make it crash. After that happens, post the contents of kse.log here.
04-02-2005 23:22:45 KSE startup v3.2.10
04-02-2005 23:22:46 KSE found KotOR1 saves directory in C:\Games\SWKotOR
04-02-2005 23:22:46 KSE found KotOR2 saves directory in C:\Games\SWKotOR2
04-02-2005 23:22:46 KotOR1 spells.2da override detected.
Dialog.tlk error: Attempted to read past end of end of dialog.tlk
(tried to read string 49295 but dialog.tlk has 49265 entries)
Breadcrumb: KotOR1 Spells.2da at /PerlApp/Bioware/TLK.pm line 32.
PsyckoSama is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2005, 03:49 AM   #520
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,767
Current Game: FTL
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Looks like T7 nailed it... the AIOFPM needs the AIOFPM dialog.tlk


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > KotOR and KotOR2 Savegame Editor (KSE) - Current Version: 3.3.3

Tags
kotor modding tool, kse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.