lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: WIP: Durge (Clone Wars)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-19-2004, 03:19 AM   #161
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Did you name the .skin file with the word "default" in it?

Example: "model_default_toondurge.skin"

and the icon named: "icon_default_toondurge.jpg"
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 03:54 AM   #162
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
It's in it's own folder
with icon_default
and default.skin
(same sort of set-up as the Mara Jade model)

I've tried various results but nothing happens.
The other model shows up fine - but no matter what it doesn't show up!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 03:59 AM   #163
RJW_ca
 
RJW_ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: VANCOUVER BC CANADA
Posts: 175
Current Game: STAR WARS, AVP
I can take a look at it for you

RJW_ca


RJW_ca@hotmail.com
RJW_ca is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 05:31 AM   #164
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Is the icon saved as a jpg?

I know I've had problems with icons not showing up, and then I changed it from a bmp to a jpg and it showed up.

Also, I think I've heard that the compression type of the jpg may make a difference, but I'm not positive about that one.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 05:54 AM   #165
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
You know, I tried making a brand new pk3 file - same as the other one but new and when I tried it nothing showed up!
So went back to the very original pk3 file and put the new stuff in there and voila! Showed up again - but still no toon version!
Kinda Baffled now!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 07:58 AM   #166
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally posted by monsoontide
You know, I tried making a brand new pk3 file - same as the other one but new and when I tried it nothing showed up!
So went back to the very original pk3 file and put the new stuff in there and voila! Showed up again - but still no toon version!
Kinda Baffled now!
When you made that new pk3, were both models still accessible via the console?

Do you have the icon, skin file, and the glm in the additional folder for the toon version? I know the skin file can reference textures from other folders so they don't need to be there, but the glm might be easily overlooked when you're moving everthing else around.

There was a shader that was required for the cell shaded look and everything. Is the directory structure in that identical to where the model is located? I don't know if that would cause the icons not to show up, but it's worth checking I suppose.

I know some of those seem like simple mistakes when you've been doing this stuff for a while, but I'm just stabbing in the dark now.

Now you're baffling me!

EDIT: I just remembered that you said it worked spawning in as an NPC, so it probably wouldn't be the shader file.

Also, try placing the icon from the regular Durge in the toon Durge folder. You know that icon works so if it shows up twice maybe something was wrong with the toon icon. Worth a try.

Last edited by Noxrepere; 04-19-2004 at 09:41 AM.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 01:37 PM   #167
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
When I use the command /model cw_durge/default,
the model changes to the toon version and the player icon also changes.
Everything seems to be in place - images, glm, icons, sounds, npcs, shader etc. I just can't work it out, unless it's something within the glm itself.
I've sent it to Psyk0Sith in the hopes he may be able to figure it out! - Always good to have someone else look over your work - sometimes you just can't see the wood for the trees! (In my case it's usually something obvious!)
Thanks for the help though 7th Jedi.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 05:33 PM   #168
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Fixed the cell shaded icon...i already warned you about this...when saving your jpeg files, make sure you use the standard compression .

You also forgot to add the shader to the toon version.

Will check the "regular" shader to see what's wrong.

Edit: Check your default shader in shaderEd2, most of them have errors but i cant really help, i know very little about shaders.

Also you might want to change the "roll" sound when using a saber, it sounds like the default character.


Last edited by Psyk0Sith; 04-19-2004 at 05:55 PM.
Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 06:53 PM   #169
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Thanks for checking it out. Always start going a bit crazy after working on it for too long and miss the obvious.
Still can't understand why when I make a new PK3 file it can't see the model in the player menu, but when I put the SAME files into the original .pk3 you sent me, it works fine!?!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 07:12 PM   #170
MadCow1989
Junior Member
 
MadCow1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
Maybe an Idea but could it also be that you have too many skins in or some lol
MadCow1989 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-19-2004, 11:13 PM   #171
RJW_ca
 
RJW_ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: VANCOUVER BC CANADA
Posts: 175
Current Game: STAR WARS, AVP
Anything new on DURGE??

What's new with DURGE!?!?

RJW_ca


RJW_ca@hotmail.com
RJW_ca is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2004, 12:50 AM   #172
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Unhappy

Sorry. I'm at work for several more hours.
Maybe get to it tonight if I can.
Psyk0Sith says the roll sound is default sound.
Hope to have the problems fixed ASAP.
I tried to e-mail you at yahoo but it wouldn't take more than 5mb and as I've already stated , I don't use MSN messenger.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2004, 03:05 AM   #173
RJW_ca
 
RJW_ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: VANCOUVER BC CANADA
Posts: 175
Current Game: STAR WARS, AVP
I'm looking forward to "DURGE"

What was the name of the sound that sounded that way???
can you send me DURGE the same way I sent you the sounds threw email or something or maybe even Yahoo messenger???

I'm really looking forward to seeing that model work ans hearing it with those sounds so I can see if the sound rate is fine


RJW_ca

RJW_ca@hotmail.com
RJW_ca is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2004, 05:50 AM   #174
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
OK! I have the shader working now (including team shaders), so everything is all go apart from the cel-shaded one.

Sorry RJW_ca, I've tried mailing it to you in parts but I can't get through on the yahoo account you specified and hotmail keep rejecting one of the files!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-20-2004, 09:43 AM   #175
RJW_ca
 
RJW_ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: VANCOUVER BC CANADA
Posts: 175
Current Game: STAR WARS, AVP
monsoontide HELP!

the email to my hotmail worked but I only got part1 and part4

RJW_ca


RJW_ca@hotmail.com
RJW_ca is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2004, 04:54 AM   #176
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Post Download DURGE 1.0 Now!

http://www.pcgamemods.com/5119/

or wait another day for version 1.1 which will correct several minor issues.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2004, 06:45 AM   #177
Lei Hng Wei
Rookie
 
Lei Hng Wei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 243
I can wait. I'll just make silly screenshots while waiting.

Last edited by Lei Hng Wei; 04-22-2004 at 08:38 AM.
Lei Hng Wei is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2004, 08:15 AM   #178
Mex
Not the brightest cookie.
 
Mex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom, Abingdon
Posts: 4,550
Try this model out in Jedi Outcast, you get hilarious results. Durges body is all messed up and his arms around his head! ^_^;
Mex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2004, 08:36 AM   #179
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Post Download DURGE 1.1 NOW!

Get the improved version here:
http://www.pcgamemods.com/5125

End Of Thread.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2004, 09:42 AM   #180
Lathain Valtiel
Ex-Angel
 
Lathain Valtiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 929
LFN Staff Member 
Lovely model, especially consider the limitations worked with.

There's a typo in both botfiles.

Killed
{
The Rebublic will fall!
}

Rebublic! Woohoo!


Kurgan's Meatgrinder (JA Server: 72.5.248.212:29070)

Player tested, Valtiel approved.

Valtiel approved downloads for Meatgrinder: http://strategy.jediknight.net/jka/downloads.shtml
Lathain Valtiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2004, 11:19 AM   #181
Mex
Not the brightest cookie.
 
Mex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom, Abingdon
Posts: 4,550
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/3637/shot0004.jpg

Look at that, it's hilarious!
Mex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2004, 11:33 AM   #182
Lei Hng Wei
Rookie
 
Lei Hng Wei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 243
Hmmm, looks like only parts of him are subject to Grip.
Lei Hng Wei is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2004, 09:57 AM   #183
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Funny pic Michaelmexp!



The update is great. Nice to see those issues cleared up.

I just wanted to mention that the falling1.mp3 sound is missing, so when he falls off a cliff he sounds like Kyle. Also, the shader for the shading on the cel shaded version doesn't apply to the team skins for that version.

Anyways, both simple fixes, but I don't know if you'll consider it worth it to post another update. (Well, three including the typo pointed out by Lathain Valtiel.)
Quote:
There's a typo in both botfiles.

Killed
{
The Rebublic will fall!
}

Rebublic! Woohoo!
Either way it's still a great model and nice to add to the collection. Great Job! I definately wouldn't worry about any clipping on it, given the constraints of JA's skeleton. (That's most likely why all of Raven's models have near skin tight clothing. )

Sorry to bring this thread back up, but I thought you might want to know in case you decide they should be fixed.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2004, 10:21 AM   #184
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
You'd think you'd at least find cell-shaded weapons to go along with all these cell shaded characters.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2004, 12:16 PM   #185
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
Hope you didn't mind that I used your shader in the cell shaded rebel skin I made.


My projects:
Snow Speeder
Kaadu

Quote:
Originally posted by yaebginn
not at all, they came here[USA] to worship God however they wanted and it was built on the principals and rules of the Christian religion.
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Modelling > WIP: Durge (Clone Wars)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.