lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Assimilate Giving "_humanoid.gla" Error
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-21-2004, 10:19 AM   #1
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Assimilate Giving "_humanoid.gla" Error

I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I followed Psykosith's tutorial and I set up everything the way I believe it's supposed to be and when I take my newly exported .XSI and try to run Assimilate, I end up with a problem.

When I click on "Add Files" and choose the JA "_humanoid.gla" it gives back an error message saying that the .gla cannot be found.

I'm pretty much out of ideas since I've already tried doing it 15 times.

Please help if you have any ideas. It's probably something easy that I overlooked.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2004, 01:24 PM   #2
ksk h2o
 
ksk h2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 463
I'm not sure this is THE solution, but, make sure the path of the folder the gla is in does not have spaces.

d:/gamedata/base/models/players/humanoid/humanoid.gla
good

d:/program files/lucas arts/....
bad

I extracted most of the assets files in a shallow path much like the first path I gave you and I work out of there. Carcass does not seem to like really long path names either.

ksk h2o is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-21-2004, 08:04 PM   #3
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Okay, I took your advice and put the "_humanoid.gla" in a folder directory without spaces and then it loaded the gla.

Thank you very much!

Now, however, when I click on B and tell it to compile, I give it the name of "model.car" and then get this error:

Quote:
Process returned error: 1

( c:\games\modelcompiling\carcass.exe -silent C:\Games\ModelCompiling\model.car")
Again if anyone knows what that means (I haven't seen it mentioned anywhere) I would appreciate the help.

First model is being a pain!
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2004, 06:22 AM   #4
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Nevermind. I finally figured it out!

I used this tutorial by MacD for anyone that is interested.
http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=4708

It is an addendum to Spacemonkey's tutorial. It has a good section on using Assimilate.

It's been around for a while, I just never knew about it. It seems out of place on the site, since it's not in the section with the rest of the tutorials.

It seems odd that there's so little documentation for this program seeing as it's so integral to getting models in game.


I also found PsykoSith's tutorials very, very helpful in giving more detail to integral parts of the process.

PyskoSith's Site

Oh well.

Thanks for your advice ksk h2o, it really helped point me in the right direction.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2004, 07:42 AM   #5
ksk h2o
 
ksk h2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally posted by 7th Jedi
Nevermind. I finally figured it out!

I used this tutorial by MacD for anyone that is interested.
http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=4708

It is an addendum to Spacemonkey's tutorial. It has a good section on using Assimilate.

...

Thanks for your advice ksk h2o, it really helped point me in the right direction.
Yeas those two are what got my first models into JO... but still leave you to figure some stuff out to yourself.

Np, you've given me some very helpful pointers yourself

ksk h2o is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2004, 05:07 PM   #6
-]Holoman[-
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
Hi,

I´ve got this problem :

Process returned error: 1

( c:\games\modelcompiling\carcass.exe -silent C:\Games\ModelCompiling\model.car")

too.
But I didn´t find anythig witch can help me.
Can someone from here help me ?

Thanks @ ksk h2o this was my first problem, too.


If you see this, I need help
-]Holoman[- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2004, 05:54 PM   #7
darthviper107
Rookie
 
darthviper107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 197
All of the tags and caps have to be skinned, also you might not have some tags or some bones.
darthviper107 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2004, 06:17 AM   #8
-]Holoman[-
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
I didn´t understand what you mean.
...


If you see this, I need help
-]Holoman[- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2004, 07:04 AM   #9
-]Holoman[-
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
*sry für post*

So far so good ... but now if comes such a Error :

XSI import failed, code = 4599 (file 'd:/lucasarts/starwarsjediknightjediacademy
/gamedata/base/models/players/alo/root.XSI')

O.o Hö ?

can someone help ?


After a few Houers of testing ...

The Error is now change to :


Carcass (GLA/GLM compiler) v2.1. (C) Raven Software 1998-2003.
Written by Gil Gribb, Ste Cork, James Monroe, Mike Crowns


-------- C:\Base\models\players\alo\wars --------
( Build trigger: "c:\base\models\players\alo\wars.glm" missing )
entering c:\base\models\players\alo\wars.car
(90 degree skewing OFF)
Loading GLA "humanoid/humanoid.gla"...21376 frames
Grabbed 1 files with 21376 frames
Processing 'c:/base/models/players/alo/root.XSI'
XSI import failed, code = 6210 (file 'c:/base/models/players/alo/root.XSI')

( Press any Key ... )


If you see this, I need help

Last edited by -]Holoman[-; 03-27-2004 at 01:08 PM.
-]Holoman[- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2004, 05:34 PM   #10
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Wow, first time i've ever seen these error codes... Maybe if i see the max file i can tell you whats wrong.

By the way, you should build your GLM using the standard "model.glm" name.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2004, 04:45 AM   #11
-]Holoman[-
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
Ok I´ll test it.
When it doesn´t work, I´ll be post the .max file... but then I must revise the file .. ... ...

Thx in advance for your help.


If you see this, I need help
-]Holoman[- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2004, 09:38 AM   #12
-]Holoman[-
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
*again on me make attentive*

So I´ve test it .. nothing change...
Give me plz youre Mail, where I must send the .max file ...
Thx to you


If you see this, I need help
-]Holoman[- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2004, 10:59 AM   #13
way
Rookie
 
way's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally posted by Psyk0Sith
Wow, first time i've ever seen these error codes... Maybe if i see the max file i can tell you whats wrong.
I've had the same error as I used his root.xsi

Strange... because when I export his *.max-file by myself, I just get the usual errors (like weight not found etc.)
way is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2004, 05:23 PM   #14
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Maybe he's not using the export plugin v3.0 or somthin?.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Assimilate Giving "_humanoid.gla" Error

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.