lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Invisible Caps!?!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-25-2004, 09:33 AM   #1
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Angry Invisible Caps!?!

The caps on my model are all working except for the caps that appear on the hips when one of the legs gets cut off.

The caps on the severed legs appear properly but I just get the see-through holes on the hips.

I had linked the model according to SpaceMonkey's tutorial.

Also, the model is segmented right above the knee.

I would really appreciate help on this since I've tried several times to fix it and I'm currently out of ideas.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2004, 05:54 PM   #2
darthviper107
Rookie
 
darthviper107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 197
Did you do UVW mapping for the Caps? You have to do it for the caps as well as the model.
darthviper107 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2004, 09:12 PM   #3
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
Yep.

All the caps are uvmapped correctly.(I double checked after your post just to make sure.)

The cap texture shows up in max, and when I move the hips in max, the caps go with it (as per the linking).

Last edited by Noxrepere; 03-27-2004 at 09:05 PM.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2004, 09:42 PM   #4
ksk h2o
 
ksk h2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 463
I think this is the XFORM error.

1-save your model
2-select the cap
3-pick xform from the TOOLS TAB (with the hammer)
4-click 'reset xform'
5-go back to the modifier stack
6-ADD a new 'edit mesh' modifier DO NOT SELECT THE PREVIOUS LAYER BELOW XFORM, if you do the cp will automatically move to its pre-mirror location and you will be forced to estor your save as this is not undo-able
7-expand the newly added edit mesh modifier and select faces
8-select ALL the faces in this mesh
9-click flip normals
10-either add a new skin layer to re-weigh the cap or drag the skin modifier layer below xform above the new edit mesh modifier (Clic-drag the skin modifier, dont select it for editing untill it is above the xform layer)
You can now collapse the stack up to the 'edit mesh' modifier above xform (but belo the skin modifier)

Dont switch the order of the steps... hope this helps.

ksk h2o is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2004, 10:20 AM   #5
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
When I follow those steps and flip the normals, they are now facing up into the thigh.

Is that right?
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2004, 07:23 PM   #6
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
You might need to unlink the cap first...or just re-do it, just takes a few seconds.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-29-2004, 05:10 AM   #7
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
I think I may have discovered the problem, but I want to know for sure, so I'm asking to see if anyone knows.

Some of the mesh parts were uvw mapped as one piece but afterwards I applied an Edit Mesh modifier to detach faces as a new piece.

The pieces missing caps were at the places that I had detached the faces. (I unwrapped the legs with the hips and the hands with the arms. The caps show up for the legs and hands but not on the arms and hips where the faces were detached.)

If this is the problem, where should I move the Edit Mesh modifiers in the stack to fix this? (I'll experiment to try and figure it out myself, but would appreciate feedback from anyone that knows for sure.)

If that was it, that was a really deceptive problem. Luckily I find them all.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-29-2004, 06:13 PM   #8
darthviper107
Rookie
 
darthviper107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 197
I would put it on the bottom, or if you could just copy the UVW Modifier and the Skin modifier and convert it to an editable mesh (right-click convert-Editable Mesh) then paste the UVW Modifier and the Skin modifier back.
darthviper107 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2004, 10:59 AM   #9
lkraan
Rookie
 
lkraan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 38
I think that one of the caps might not have the right name in Tim's tutorial.

http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/tu...s/image002.jpg

I think that l_arm_cap_hand_off should be l_arm_cap_l_hand_off

This ofcourse also counts for the right arm.

lkraan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2004, 06:12 AM   #10
Noxrepere
 
Noxrepere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 147
I think that's it. The caps were named wrong. I compared mine with the Kyle Katarn model caps names and fixed a couple errors on the legs and hands.

They appeared grey in game so I still need to fix that (maybe unwrap them again.).

If I have any other problems with it I'll be back.

Thanks everyone!

EDIT: I figured out why they were grey in game at first....

I had fixed the names in 3ds Max but not in the skin file. Once I fixed that they appeared perfectly.

Silly oversight.

Last edited by Noxrepere; 04-14-2004 at 06:33 PM.
Noxrepere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Invisible Caps!?!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.