lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: help please
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-16-2004, 06:22 PM   #1
Da Vinci
Lurker
 
Da Vinci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
help please

Does anyone know where i can download a thing that opens the .pk3 files? i had one before and know i dont mean winzip.

If there isnt one i can get, how do i make the .zip file back into a .pk3. Because i tried renaming and it just sayes *.pk3.zip

Please help its really bugging me.
Da Vinci is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2004, 08:16 PM   #2
Amidala from Chop Shop
Politically-correct jerk
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In exile
Posts: 1,433
PakScape

You have to "Unhide File Extensions" in Windows 98\ME\XP File\Folder options, so you can change the file extension directly.

Amidala from Chop Shop is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2004, 10:01 PM   #3
Da Vinci
Lurker
 
Da Vinci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
ok thanks that helped. You see what i was trying to do was make a jawa with gray robes and red eyes, i have these pictures of that but when i put it into assets file my jawa was just a floating lightsaber. Its probable that im just a idiot and i have to do something else besides changing the picture in teh assets file but once again i dont know what to do.
Da Vinci is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2004, 10:54 PM   #4
Amidala from Chop Shop
Politically-correct jerk
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In exile
Posts: 1,433
NEVER ALTER YOU ASSETS FILES!

If you do you won't be able to join "pure" servers or you might even corrupt the file(s) so your game won't work.

If you want to change something in the assets files you override your assets files by making a "mod" (.pk3 file). Put what you want to change in the mod's .pk3 file with a name that starts with a letter B through Z and the game will load it after the assets files (it loads .pk3 files alphabetically), overriding what it loaded from the assets?.pk3 files.

The .pk3 file must store the new files with the same directory structure as the assets files. So if the file you want to change is jawa_head.jpg, and in the assets?.pk3 file it is in the \models\players\jawa directory, the mod .pk3 file has to have the new jawa_head.jpg file in the \models\players\jawa directory inside the mod .pk3 file.

The easiest way to do this is to search www.jk2files.com , www.pcgamemods.com , or www.lucasfiles.com for a jawa skin mod and download it. Change the name of the .pk3 file to whatever you want (name starting with B-Z), then replace or insert your new files into that mod. The mod should already have the correct internal directory structure, which you must maintain. Then put your new .pk3 in your base folder and it will override the standard files.

Simply remove the mod .pk3 file from the base folder to return to normal.

Amidala from Chop Shop is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2004, 01:48 PM   #5
Da Vinci
Lurker
 
Da Vinci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
oops! well ive fixed it now and im running around with my black evil jawa. Thanks Amidala
Da Vinci is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Skinning > help please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.