lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Huge Issue
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-24-2004, 05:03 PM   #1
Quisor
Rookie
 
Quisor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Huge Issue

KOTOR used to run fine on my computer, even when I had a geForce 2 MX 100 (yes, that's a 32mb card). Now that I have a Radeon 9800 Pro, it should run even better, right? Yeah, it used to. Now it just comes up with a "Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic has encountered a problem and needs to close." window, just before I get to the main menu.

System specs:
2GHz P4 CPU
60GB HD
768mb hardware RAM, but
about 5gb virtual memory
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro w/ 128mb
AND, what probably causes the problem, I have the Omega drivers installed for the Radeon. Omega drivers are custom drivers some dude made, they usually work great.
Help?

[EDIT] I was using three mods, but I took them out of the Override folder and it still crashed, before anyone asks about mod info.


The Answerer Of Stupid Questions
Quisor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2004, 10:52 AM   #2
Jackel
Senior Member
 
Jackel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,056
witht hat much hardware RAM you shouldnt need more then a gig of virtual memory , hell im running 512 megs ram and have 768 as the max and min for my virtual ram ..

first Q , what is the driver number of the omega driver ? 4.3 ? 4.4 ?

what about your sound card ? got the latest drivers ?

go to your KOTOR folder and run the swconfig.exe file , when it appears select "scan hardware" , once its run , select detailed report and then select "save report" look for any problems the config has with your set up , ie yellow or red dots next to the items
Jackel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2004, 01:34 PM   #3
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,349
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Have you installed the latest patches? IIRC there was an initial issue with some Radeon cards. Check bioware.com for more...
Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2004, 06:35 PM   #4
Quisor
Rookie
 
Quisor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Wow. Thanks for your replies--a few minutes after I posted this, I went into config (from the launcher) and it told me my drivers were "out of date". Not really, they were based on the Cataclyst 4.4, but what the hell. I went over to the ATI website, and got me some official drivers. Works like a charm, now. Thanks.


The Answerer Of Stupid Questions
Quisor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Huge Issue

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.