lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Cardboard Tube Showdown zombie model
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-27-2004, 04:58 PM   #1
lkraan
Rookie
 
lkraan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 38
Cardboard Tube Showdown zombie model

Here a new model for the Cardboard Tube Showdown MOD (http://www.obeythetube.com) that I am running...

This zombie player model is modelled by Zaron3d and skinned and rigged by my person.



wire:http://www.obeythetube.com/images/ch...ombie_wire.jpg
in-game:http://www.obeythetube.com/images/ch...rs/zombie2.jpg
http://www.obeythetube.com/images/in-game/ig6_2.jpg
http://www.obeythetube.com/images/in-game/ig6_3.jpg
http://www.obeythetube.com/images/in-game/ig6_4.jpg
[url]http://www.obeythetube.com/images/in-game/ig6_7.jpg[/url

lkraan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2004, 06:48 PM   #2
Miko Reglia
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 768
Haha that's awsome!

I love the arm...



Jedi Knight of "The Jedi Order"
Miko Reglia is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2004, 07:24 PM   #3
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
hehe nice work guys!

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2004, 03:46 PM   #4
lkraan
Rookie
 
lkraan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 38
Thanks

Thought for a while about giving the CTS characters a more cel shaded/outlined look like the Clone Wars MOD look.

Does that really make the poly-count twice as high?

lkraan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2004, 07:02 PM   #5
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Yes, most of the time it doubles the polys, some "lines" can be deleted to cut down.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-29-2004, 03:25 AM   #6
lkraan
Rookie
 
lkraan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 38
I should do a test with one of our models because I do like the look of it.
But I dread the thought of having to redo the rigging of all of our player models that are ready

lkraan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-29-2004, 08:58 AM   #7
MadCow1989
Junior Member
 
MadCow1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
JK2 mod? Oh god we need it JA! This rocks
MadCow1989 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-29-2004, 06:47 PM   #8
lkraan
Rookie
 
lkraan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 38
W switched to JA a while back .... just hadn't updated my signature
Thanks for pointing that out

lkraan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-29-2004, 06:50 PM   #9
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally posted by lkraan
I should do a test with one of our models because I do like the look of it.
But I dread the thought of having to redo the rigging of all of our player models that are ready
Cell shading is kinda like doing LODs, you dont have to re-weight anything.

Here's a quick how-to:

-Save your character to a duplicate max file (lets call it outline.max)
-Get rid of the tags
-Rename the skeleton (use renamer helper to add a _1)
-Rename body parts (i call them "_outline" like hips_outline)
-Save, then open original max file and merge outline.max

I suggest hiding the original setup (or use the name selection rollout to hide/unhide parts of the rig)

-Remove the _1 from the skeleton's bones (renamer helper)
-Flip the normals of every mesh (the "_outline" version of course)
-Add a push modifier below the skin modifier (scale down like -0.9)
-Create a 256x256 black jpeg and assign to the outline
-Unhide original player model and link the "outlined" children
(hips_outline is linked to hips and so on)
-Try to export

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-30-2004, 07:53 AM   #10
lkraan
Rookie
 
lkraan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 38
Thanks!
I'm gonna try that out this week and will post the result.
Thje player models are all about 2500 polys right now so I gotta do a little bit of a cleanup of the cloned/outline mesh.

lkraan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-30-2004, 08:02 AM   #11
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Quote:
-Try to export
Ya he dares you.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Modelling > Cardboard Tube Showdown zombie model

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:07 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.