lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Convert sp maps from JO to JA
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-12-2004, 12:01 AM   #1
Bell
 
Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 461
Convert sp maps from JO to JA

hiya'll,

I've searched about but can't find info on this. Any help would be appreciated. I have gtkradiant, and was able to bring the textures for our maps from JO to JA ok. Can anyone shed light on the entities and if they will compile in JA? I've already attempted a compile of a JO map in gtkradiant set for JA, but got this error.....

Quote:
************ ERROR ************
Error opening C:/Program Files/LucasArts/Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy/GameData/base/maps/jtr/JTR.bsp: No such file or directory
my goal is to convert about 8 maps for our single player mod we are migrating to JA
thanks


Bell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2004, 04:35 AM   #2
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Did you copy the JO .map file from the Outcast maps directory to the JA maps directory? I'm not 100% sure of how the program handles directories, but maybe it just assumes they are in the JA maps directory, and is not able to compile them if they are not.

There must be some slight incompatibility issues between JO and JA, since not all JO SP maps work in JA even if you provide the assets. One thing might be more complicated cinematic scripts and one thing is npc_spawners. According to my experience (from playing my JO Lighthouse in JA) NPC_spawners from JO didn't work at all in JA. However, this says nothing about compling the maps, that's true. Maybe it's something happening during the compile, if things look the same in the map file (although I haven't checked if they do).


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-12-2004, 10:16 AM   #3
Codja X
Junior Member
 
Codja X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 445
Have you tried looking here:

http://66.90.64.18/showthread.php?s=&threadid=113158
?
Codja X is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-14-2004, 01:36 PM   #4
Bell
 
Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 461
hiya thanks for the replies I did in fact go throgh that thread thanks.

I believe what I have is a gtk radiant problem since I tried to compile a map that came with the academy sdk an also made a new map (room with a light) to test and got that same error. Any thoughts? I'm still googling for it but found nothing yet.. thanks for your help


Bell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2004, 03:33 AM   #5
Codja X
Junior Member
 
Codja X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 445
You may want to go into FILE|PROJECT SETTINGS in Radiant and make sure that the paths to your game files are correct.

e.g. your error states: C:/Program Files/LucasArts/Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy/GameData could not be found, but if JA is installed in say: c:\ja then you're going to have problems.

I don't know if you've checked this, but if the compiler can't find the game files, then it can't compile.

Hope this helps
Codja X is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2004, 05:27 AM   #6
zag
Rookie
 
zag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: england
Posts: 80
its sounds to me like your trying to do a bsp stage that is to far ahead
i think the game needs a bsp first to build off that (you know like how it combines the .prt etc with the bsp i think im no expert on Q3map)
try a meta compile first if your not already


Movie Battles Team Member
zag is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2004, 11:56 PM   #7
Bell
 
Bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 461
ah thank you gentelmen it was something simple as I suspected. the project settings were kosher,,, I was using the wrong bsp command.
thanks again


Bell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 12:06 AM   #8
Jinni Tsurugi
Banned
 
Jinni Tsurugi's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dark abyss.
Posts: 61
And I would also like to thank you people. I needed that info too.
Jinni Tsurugi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Convert sp maps from JO to JA

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.