lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Is there some new saber hack utility out or something?(Modder/Admin Alert!)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-16-2004, 12:05 PM   #41
Slider744
Junior Member
 
Slider744's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France
Posts: 260
JA+ Mod block all debug cmds and cheat cmd since the beginning of the mod

it is even one of the main things i did when i begun with JA+


******************************
Slider
JA+ MOD Author for Jedi Academy
the lastest version on

http://www.japlus.net/


******************************
Slider744 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 12:28 PM   #42
RenegadeOfPhunk
 
RenegadeOfPhunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 731
Are you sure slider?
I thought I had heard that you could activate them on certain early versions of admin mods (And I was quite sure JA+ was specifically mentioned).

And if I'm reading what people are saying - it sounds like it's still going on, apperently with several mods - including your own...

If I'm wrong about this, I apologise. But that's what i'm getting from reading these posts...


/* RenegadeOfPhunk */

OJP forums
OJP website - WIP

Movie Battles!
RenegadeOfPhunk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 12:34 PM   #43
Slider744
Junior Member
 
Slider744's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France
Posts: 260
perhaps it was the case on the first version 1.0 or 1.1
but i corrected it very quickly

it makes a long time it is corrected

i just took a look on all the cmds that you can use in JA+

and absoluty are blocked

if you know a cmd that is not blocked tell me i will see if you are right

but i am nearly sure you are wrong
but perhaps i missed some debug cmds in all this code

so tell me the cmds?


******************************
Slider
JA+ MOD Author for Jedi Academy
the lastest version on

http://www.japlus.net/


******************************
Slider744 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 12:41 PM   #44
RenegadeOfPhunk
 
RenegadeOfPhunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 731
Slider,

This was my point though.

If you just make Final builds, you wouldn't have to try and find all these debug commands. They get taken out automatically

Try doing a quick search for:

#ifdef _DEBUG

See all that stuff coming up? THat's all the stuff your adding to your builds which shouldn't be there in the first place.
Not only are you adding commands and cvars which shouldn't be there, your also adding loads of unnessesary test code and debug trace stuff which will be eating up a few unnessesary cycles here and there (not much granted - but still, your mod is running slower as a result...)

You don't release debug builds man - seriously! Debug builds are for testing and (funnily enough) debugging - your not suppost to use them on 'real' servers. This is very basic stuff...

btw - the reason this didn't happen in JO is because we had the .qvm compiler avaliable. THis automatically makes 'release' builds, stripping out all the debug stuff.
(Or at least the default configuration of the .bat files used made release builds. Not sure if it's possible to set them up to make debug builds. But anyway - that's a side issue. THe point was it didn't take any brain power to make sure your compiling release builds in JO - whereas it does in JA. Well, not that much tbh. But you at least need to switch configs on your compiler...)


/* RenegadeOfPhunk */

OJP forums
OJP website - WIP

Movie Battles!

Last edited by RenegadeOfPhunk; 06-16-2004 at 01:01 PM.
RenegadeOfPhunk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 01:01 PM   #45
Slider744
Junior Member
 
Slider744's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France
Posts: 260
hehe
i am not a novice

i already checked all of that

and all my version are relaeased in FINAL_BUILD

i was only saying that perghaps there are cmds that i didn't see and that are not in IFNDEF FINAL_BUILD block ir IDFED _DEGUG blocks

but i just took all the cmds one by one to be sure, and normally except if i missed some of them
all those cmds are not compiled in the mod


******************************
Slider
JA+ MOD Author for Jedi Academy
the lastest version on

http://www.japlus.net/


******************************

Last edited by Slider744; 06-16-2004 at 01:33 PM.
Slider744 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 01:10 PM   #46
RenegadeOfPhunk
 
RenegadeOfPhunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 731
Quote:
and all my version are relaeased in FINAL_BUILD
OK - good.
...but you also removed the _DEBUG pre-processor define right?! If you didn't do that, your builds are still chock-full of debug code...

No-one has ever triggered a debug command in my mod - EVER. And I've never had to go hunting down these commands in code either.
You wanna know why? Because my mod doesn't have debug code in it...


/* RenegadeOfPhunk */

OJP forums
OJP website - WIP

Movie Battles!
RenegadeOfPhunk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 01:24 PM   #47
Slider744
Junior Member
 
Slider744's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France
Posts: 260
of course the _debug flag is not in the release versions


******************************
Slider
JA+ MOD Author for Jedi Academy
the lastest version on

http://www.japlus.net/


******************************
Slider744 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 02:03 PM   #48
RenegadeOfPhunk
 
RenegadeOfPhunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 731
Ahh -I think I see your problem slider.

I've just downloaded v2.0_fixed of your mod, and the windows .dll looks to be the right size (Debug builds are a LOT bigger than Final builds - about twice the size)...

....but your linux .so file is way too big to not be a debug build.
It's nearly 2MB's!! It should actually be around half the size if it was a proper final build - 0.7 MB or so...

So looks like your windows build is ok, but your linux build is DEFINELTY debug.

Do you build the linux files yourself?


/* RenegadeOfPhunk */

OJP forums
OJP website - WIP

Movie Battles!
RenegadeOfPhunk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 03:32 PM   #49
Slider744
Junior Member
 
Slider744's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France
Posts: 260
no it is not debug

the _debug flag is not set

if it is debug it would spam the games.log with debug message

check it
and you will see
there is not _debug message

the flags used in windows version are the same as the flag in mu linux makefile execpt several differences due the difference betweend the 2 OS

i think the difference of sizze is due to the fact the instrution in linux OS is totally differenct from the windows one

i use the last versions of GCC and it compiles of the code for i586

if you think that the _degug code is compile in the linux version try to execute cmds that appear only in _degug blocks or find debug message in the games.log for example damage saber, or move trace debug.....

you will see they do not appear

perhaps if i had used ICC it would given the same size as in windows dll...
but i doubt of it because the official basejka linux .so file is about 2Mo and was compiled by raven itself
so it is the same size as mine
and they used ICC
so i don't really see the need of using ICC when you have a free programm as GCC
iCC is not free, and i have not money to spend in that


******************************
Slider
JA+ MOD Author for Jedi Academy
the lastest version on

http://www.japlus.net/


******************************

Last edited by Slider744; 06-16-2004 at 06:42 PM.
Slider744 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 03:50 PM   #50
RenegadeOfPhunk
 
RenegadeOfPhunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 731
Quote:
i think the difference of sizze is due to the fact the instrution in linux OS is totally differenct from the windows one
Heh -whatever you say...

So you obviously think it's sheer co-incidence it's only certain mods that have (ever) had this problem then?!


Well - I tried guys. If you wanna keep using JA+, expect to find some more interesting little 'features' in the linux version...

...call it a hunch if you will

..just out of pure morbid curiosity though - please mention one example of a debug command that Raven let 'slip' into their final builds which you have subsequently had to 'fix'...

[edit]
Obviously send in a PM rather than post in the open here...
[/edit]


/* RenegadeOfPhunk */

OJP forums
OJP website - WIP

Movie Battles!

Last edited by RenegadeOfPhunk; 06-16-2004 at 04:30 PM.
RenegadeOfPhunk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2004, 03:59 PM   #51
Slider744
Junior Member
 
Slider744's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France
Posts: 260
well if you see any features from _debug mod that is working in linux versions
let me know, it will be for me with pleasure that i will correct it immedialty

but normally execpt i missed something, it should be just fine...


send me a message on my email if you find any problem
thanks for your time


******************************
Slider
JA+ MOD Author for Jedi Academy
the lastest version on

http://www.japlus.net/


******************************
Slider744 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2004, 07:48 PM   #52
Nalukai
Banned
 
Nalukai's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Swamp Chef
Posts: 518
yeah you can do all kinda of weird combos with the set saber move.... any move that causes you to pause at the end you can auto escape the freeze by hitting a bind of one of the debug move

my favorite combo with that is single saber side kick/lunge/saberbutt o-o
Nalukai is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2004, 08:12 PM   #53
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Wink

Don't post the actual commands please.

If you're right and "everybody knows them already" then there's no need.

But for now, just.... no.

Screw around with your cheats on your private server, and email the mod authors and tell 'em to fix their code up without the debug, if you want to make yourselves useful...


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2004, 08:53 PM   #54
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,697
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
so, no one has this prob with basejka ?

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2004, 07:40 AM   #55
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Apparently it's a simple matter of mods that forget to remove the "debug" functions when they compile.

Since that's all it seems to be, it shouldn't be a problem... except for those server admins who continue to (ignorantly) use the goofed up mods, leaving themselves open to exploit abuse.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn

Last edited by Kurgan; 07-17-2004 at 05:09 PM.
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2004, 06:37 PM   #56
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
i'm a bit confused, Renagade and Slider, how do we fix this in our mods? Do we just remove all functions with the #ifdef _DEBUG and #endif things around them?


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2004, 01:17 AM   #57
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
All you have to do is compile your public releases in "final" configuration instead of "debug" mode.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2004, 07:36 AM   #58
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
I've known about these from JA Reloaded 1.2 for a long time, many people know about it.

There is definately no need to block each debug command individually in a mod, releasing final builds should do the trick. I believe this is how Ja 1.4 has fixed it (It's definately fixed, play on a server that runs it).
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2004, 08:06 PM   #59
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by razorace
All you have to do is compile your public releases in "final" configuration instead of "debug" mode.
An important lesson for all mod makers then it sounds like!

I'm moving this to General Editing for future reference.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Is there some new saber hack utility out or something?(Modder/Admin Alert!)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.