lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Change player size in first person view.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-27-2004, 08:54 PM   #1
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Change player size in first person view.

Is it possible to change the player's height in first person view? See, I've recompiled the humanoid skeleton to be three times smaller than the original humanoid. In thid person view the recompiled models look tiny, but in firt person view the player is still as big as the original.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2004, 04:34 AM   #2
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Oh wow, you actually went ahead with that?

Any plans on doing the levels? And have you noticed any side effects from this scaling? I'm sure it'll effect hit detection.

And how much have you scaled it?

*edit*
on another note if its not a cvar it'll require code changes. But I don't think its a complicated one.
*edit*


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2004, 06:45 AM   #3
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
I beleive the height is hardcoded.

Secondly, why scale the animations in the first place?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2004, 10:06 AM   #4
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
No side effects, besides the funny looking of small humanoids holding large weapons, or not beign able to raise the lightsaber over the floor level.

I scaled the complete skeletal animations to 0.25 instead of 0.64 (normal humanoid scale). I mean to scale everything down, and have real ATATs walking around or ships buzzing by. There're a lot of issues with the idea, concerning not only coding but also the art, like textures being too washed at that scale.

I don't know if the JA engine can manage large scale, Rebel Strike like, battles, but I'm gonna try it, cuz I'm sick and tired of Jedis and stupid siege maps with no SW movies feeling at all.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2004, 11:30 AM   #5
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
If someone at OJP wants to consider my idea as a project, go ahead. I think it would be great to make a real battlezone, with players and NPC's.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2004, 05:18 PM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Ok first off, you don't have to touch the scale at all. The engine can handle maps larger than you need to worry about for large maps.

Secondly, you can do model scaling very easily inside the code.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2004, 05:59 PM   #7
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Quote:
Originally posted by razorace
Ok first off, you don't have to touch the scale at all. The engine can handle maps larger than you need to worry about for large maps.

Secondly, you can do model scaling very easily inside the code.
It can? I wonder why nobody built a good huge Hoth map with ATATs or something... I must be getting old and melancolic, hehe. Ok then, project scrapped.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2004, 03:27 AM   #8
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Quote:
Originally posted by CortoCG
It can? I wonder why nobody built a good huge Hoth map with ATATs or something... I must be getting old and melancolic, hehe. Ok then, project scrapped.
Lack of motivation or lazyness is my guess. Why else do you think I seem to have a lot of JKO/JKA "firsts" under my belt?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2004, 09:22 AM   #9
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Good point. Besides, the unreal engine is much more powerfull and better suited to make a large scale, gorgeous visuals, non-jedi, star wars mod .



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2004, 12:46 PM   #10
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Yep, but I don't really see anyone doing that with BattleFront right around the corner. It would be wiser to just wait and see how that turns out if that's what you're looking for.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2004, 01:23 PM   #11
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Maybe I will :P. Or not, I think it will be kept on my to do list for a long time.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > Change player size in first person view.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.