lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Sound
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-12-2004, 10:52 PM   #1
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Sound

I decided to create this thread for a good reference regarding SOUND.

I think most of us know how to put MUSIC into the worldspawn. But what I want to know is can we put the soundSet into a trigger_multiple instead of having 30 or more speakers throughout a level. Now, I have done it before with the OLD versions of Radiant regarding JA. But now I'm getting the soundset errors. I have NEVER included the .txt file trying to do this in the past. Why this doesn't work now is beyond me.

To do a speaker:

Key: noise
Value: sound/effects/electric_beam_lp

You can target a speaker or just leave it and check the loop box so that you will get an ambient continuous sound.

To do a trigger_multiple:
Key: soundSet
Value: name of ambient sound

Or...should we use the 'noise' key?

Wedge, you have stated before that the entity menu tells you what each function does. But that's what these forums are for. If the entity menu was as detailed as people wanted it to be there would be a lot less threads on these forums.


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2004, 11:31 PM   #2
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Yeah, dont forget you can also add setsound to other entities (such as fx_runners) and you can script sound, which also can stop and start sounds... which CAN be useful)
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2004, 05:06 AM   #3
{NJO}*Dark
Rookie
 
{NJO}*Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: cyberspace.co.uk
Posts: 149
Re: Sound

Quote:
Originally posted by lauser
Key: noise
Value: sound/effects/electric_beam_lp
i am sure that you have to put .wav or .mp3 on the end of things like sounds, becuase there could be both in there, there must be something to saperate them. With textures there is the shader for referance, or all maps are bsb, but there can be this difference with sound so there must be a referance.

Quote:
Originally posted by lauser
Key: soundSet
Value: name of ambient sound
I think the sound sets are better used with doors and moveables, but you have to look in the pk3 for a txt file in the sound folder that tells you the name of all of the valid soundsets. Even then some of the sound sets there dont work, but most of them work


~Dark
{NJO}*Dark is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2004, 05:23 AM   #4
Mercenary
 
Mercenary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 381
In single player mapping that's what we do for soundsets. Set up trigger_multiples at the doorways of rooms where you want the sound to change. Not sure about MP, there's always some exceptions with that side of the game.
Mercenary is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Sound

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:13 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.