lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: force breakable walls
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-16-2004, 05:01 PM   #1
JkRaVeN
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 22
force breakable walls

Hi i want to know how do i make a wall thats breakable by force push?

thx
JkRaVeN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2004, 05:18 PM   #2
{NJO}*Dark
Rookie
 
{NJO}*Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: cyberspace.co.uk
Posts: 149
the fastist way i can see this is to have a func_door over where you want it, or just below the surface with the force tag checked and a wait of -1 and a lip of -8 (or something). then link the door to the breakable so that when the door opens (never returns) the breakable will break, giving you the disired effect. but the door should be very fast and have no sound


~Dark
{NJO}*Dark is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2004, 05:59 PM   #3
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Make your breakable wall. Give it a targetname.
Make a func_static brush the same size as the breakable area, and very thin, and right infront of it. Cover it with clip so the player cant see it. Click 'use_push' or something like that (press N, and there should be a few options) click the force push one, or pull... then tell the func_static to use a script. Give the func_static a targetname also. In the script, say "use" then the breakable wall targetname. After the use line, put remove then the func_static targetname... and thats it.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2004, 08:07 PM   #4
JkRaVeN
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 22
ok the wall is destroyed by force push but the invisible wall doesnt disapear and you can still destroy the wall with your lightsaber, i want it so you can only destroy it with force push and how do i change the animation it plays when the wall is being destroyed? because its like an explosion and looks wierd instead it should break like the one in the jedi training grounds ( yavin2)

Last edited by JkRaVeN; 07-16-2004 at 09:40 PM.
JkRaVeN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2004, 10:29 PM   #5
JkRaVeN
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 22
nevermind i found out how to do it i checked the "invincible" tag, gave it the noise sound/effects/wall_smash.mp3 and then gave it the key material and value 5 and i also changed the func_statics texture to caulk so i could walk through it and it worked thx again

Last edited by JkRaVeN; 07-17-2004 at 11:13 AM.
JkRaVeN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > force breakable walls

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.