lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: WIP: TIE Defender
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-06-2004, 11:43 PM   #1
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
WIP: TIE Defender

*sarcasam* Since everyone was dying to make a TIE Defender vehicle *end sarcasm*, I decided to try modeling out myself, and in 3 hours, reconstructed a TIE Fighter with Asteroids TIE Intercepter wings into this:



Now, it is far from complete, but I wanted to get reactions and suggestion early. Remember, it is my first attempt at modeling, so try to be kind. Thanks!

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 08:59 AM   #2
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Thats really nice :D




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 01:18 PM   #3
Zappa_0
JOM Director
 
Zappa_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 2,967
Looking Great!!

Zappa_0 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 01:54 PM   #4
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
awsome!!

cant wait till try this badboy =]


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 02:54 PM   #5
Kain
I'm a ghost
 
Kain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,269
Current Game: Not so much.
Forum Veteran 10 year veteran! 
GODDAMN!!!

Very nice.
Kain is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 02:54 PM   #6
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Wow!! This is really good!! I can't wait.

After it comes out, I may need it for a project. May I have permission to use it?!?! For the:

spoiler:
NJO Asteroids TFFA Mod






- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 03:48 PM   #7
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Sure

Sure you can have permission, but first, as I am a total modeling n00b, I need to find out HOW to make fine details from scratch... I am using the latest version of Milkshape, but I have gmax.

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 04:58 PM   #8
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Yeah, I use GMAX too. Thanx for the permission too. I'll be sure to give you full credit for it.

Hmm, is that how you opened up the TIE Interceptor and messed with it...Milkshape? Milkshape didn't work for me!! It just crashes!!





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 05:27 PM   #9
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Question

Can I somehow import a .map file into Milkshape or Gmax? That would really help.

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 05:33 PM   #10
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
You can wth the Tempest plug-in for Gmax

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 07:29 PM   #11
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
How do you get that? It says something about Quake3, but I don't know what that is... is it a mod for JO/JA?

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 08:25 PM   #12
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Okay, never mind, I have it installed... and not working. When I export the .map file as a .md3, it gives me a "No UV mapping was found on this object. Writing out the texture coordinates of a spherical mapping for each vertex," error. It doesn't make any sense, so what does it mean and out do I make it take a hike?

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 09:43 PM   #13
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
The MD3 exporter in gmax doesn't work. you will need to find another plug-in somewhere for that that.


Also.... If they wouln't have had Quake III You probably wouldn't be editing for Jedi Acedemy.....

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2004, 10:27 PM   #14
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Any ideas on that plugin, Lil?

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 09:32 PM   #15
CodeDrifter
Rookie
 
CodeDrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 58
Excellent model and it will be great to test my favorite Imperial Starfighter once you're able to finish it.


CodeDrifter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2004, 10:17 PM   #16
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Update

All right, I have the engine part done, and I have taken it as far as I think that I can:



The six boxes coming out of the thrusters need to be cut somewhat at the top, but I don't know how.

I need to send it to someone who will fine tune it, skin it, and turn it into a vehicle. Hopefully someone with good skills. It will have six slightly underpowered lasers, two per wing, two torp launchers just below the cockpit, and shields, and will be fast and maneuverable. It's downside will be that it's lasers aren't up to par, even with six of them. It's hit points are also less that others. If you are interested, please post here or PM me. Thanks!

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2004, 12:05 AM   #17
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
Originally posted by mknote
Any ideas on that plugin, Lil?

MK

once you get it instaled fire it (tempest) up and you can open map files in it and save them as gmax files.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2004, 03:52 PM   #18
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Mknote, looking good!! One thing though, the TIE Defender should have higher-than-average health, as it is a defender. They were made to defend, not assault, meaning their weapons aren't all that good, yet their armor/shields are quite good and can take a beating.

You have to add tags to the areas where you want weapons and exhaust ports. Tags are just small triangles, with the names, like, bolt_muzzle1, bolt_muzzle2, bolt_exhaust1, bolt_exhaust2. Of course, you can set as many as you want. The TIE's have only one exhaust port however.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2004, 04:29 PM   #19
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Great work. Don't push too much the polycount. And post images in .jpg format, you can use larger resolutions with less kb. (just a thought).



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-21-2004, 10:31 PM   #20
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Back Again

All right, I know I can do no more. I now want to send it to someone skilled who will skin it and make it into a vehicle. Does anyone care to do so?

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-21-2004, 11:24 PM   #21
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
It is awesome!! I suggest...well, they might get mad for advertising them and getting them in a position to have to help you...because of me. But, two very cool, and good modellers are helping me with my model (maybe models).





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-21-2004, 11:54 PM   #22
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Oh, I won't force anyone to help, but I guess that I need names to at least start. If you can't tell me, point them to this thread.

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2004, 12:06 AM   #23
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
O.K., I'll point one to this thread.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-23-2004, 05:34 AM   #24
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
You know, Bishop3660 or something like that had finished a Tie Defender which Mike Gummelt and the rest of the Asteroids crew had considered at one point in implementing into the TFFA Mod, but we stuck with strict OT ships only, but it would be nice to see the T/D in action .


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 01:13 PM   #25
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy867
...Mike Gummelt and the rest of the Asteroids crew...
Aaaah... Good ole Mikey is all words, period.

I would like to see that model ingame too, cuz it's looking really nice. No preassure though.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 05:50 PM   #26
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
If I can get someone to send it to, you will see it ingame. Still waiting...

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2004, 10:55 AM   #27
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
tFighter pilot is really good and has a lot of experience putting new vehicles ingame, have you contacted him already???



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2004, 11:21 AM   #28
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
You do realize that without Mike Gummelt, vehicles in JKA wouldnt be possible since he designed the code for it. So I believe he is more than "just words, period." my friend.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2004, 11:38 AM   #29
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy867
You do realize that without Mike Gummelt, vehicles in JKA wouldnt be possible since he designed the code for it. So I believe he is more than "just words, period." my friend.
here comes the old question, there will be any actualization to fix that veh limit? :P




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-29-2004, 10:08 PM   #30
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,387
Current Game: Tetris
The model looks great! Cant wait to see it in-game.

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2004, 12:45 AM   #31
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
Well, the vehicle limit has been bumped up to 64 for total possible vehicles to have(up from 16), but other than that, its up to the coders for mods to do more than that.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2004, 06:30 AM   #32
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy867
You do realize that without Mike Gummelt, vehicles in JKA wouldnt be possible since he designed the code for it. So I believe he is more than "just words, period." my friend.
That's his job, somehow he got it, no doubt about it. I'm not questioning his skills as programmer.
Your message is clear, there's no point to corrupt mknote's thread with this unproductive subject.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2004, 06:58 AM   #33
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy867
Well, the vehicle limit has been bumped up to 64 for total possible vehicles to have(up from 16), but other than that, its up to the coders for mods to do more than that.
Then tell me how, i just can have 16 in base folder




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2004, 10:53 PM   #34
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
There are several mods, including the RGB mod, as well as most new big mods and TCs that are coming out that change the single line of code that says something along the lines of max number of vehicles x<16 /64 (max)

Someone with an understanding of the exact coding can better explain where to find the code and how to make it work.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 04:31 PM   #35
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
I have been waiting for some time for someone to say that they would skin the Defender and .veh it. But alas, nobody wants to. So, I am digging up this thread for the purpose of asking (agian) for someone to do what is needed with it.

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 04:36 PM   #36
Zappa_0
JOM Director
 
Zappa_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 2,967
I know a person that would love to .veh, but not really no one to skin it. Ill ask my friend and let you know if hes interested.

Zappa_0 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2004, 07:27 AM   #37
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
Well, I volunteer myself for doing the bump mapping and specular lighting for whenever the skin is finished and its in-game.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2004, 09:44 AM   #38
se7enraven
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Earth...most of the time.
Posts: 24
I can take a crack at the skin, but I need a uv map.
se7enraven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2004, 11:27 AM   #39
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
Quote:
Originally posted by se7enraven
but I need a uv map.
very clever




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2004, 02:19 PM   #40
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
...

Majin Reven, do you think you could take up this project? I have been waiting for almost 2 months for some sort of request to skin and whatnot my ship, but I have not gotten one. If not you, then someone else. I just want to get this out of the way.

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Modelling > WIP: TIE Defender

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.