lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: directx8
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-13-2001, 03:10 PM   #1
jema
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question directx8

Sine installing directx8 i get something like "unable to initialise resource manager" when trying to run rogue squadron.

Any ideas?

jema
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2001, 06:12 PM   #2
Moff_Kioet
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

how dumb can a person be? no offense or anything meant.

Direct X 8 is completely NOT compatible with rogue squadron, so i suggest you downgrade to 7.0a or b if you'd like to play it.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2001, 07:03 PM   #3
IoanStefanovici
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down

Hello!

I have DirectX 8 and Rogue Squadron works perfectly fine with it.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2001, 07:35 PM   #4
Gold Squadron Leader
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Smile

Hello jema. I play RS with DirectX 7.0a and Windows 98 SE. It is rock solid. Although I don't doubt some people can play RS fine with DirectX 8.0, I have heard WAY too many problems with this version of DirectX with lots and lots of games, not just RS. Therefore, I will not touch it. In the future, I will upgrade to a later release if necessary and leapfrog DirectX 8.0 entirely. IMHO, it is bad news.

------------------
Gold Squadron. The brightest star of the Rebellion Fleet!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-13-2001, 07:42 PM   #5
Moff_Kioet
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

i've been wondering what IMHO meant for over a year now, can anybody explain to me what it stands for?
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2001, 01:59 AM   #6
Lujayne
Nittle Grasper
 
Lujayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: The Vione
Posts: 597
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Post

IMHO, anyone who calls someone else here dumb does not deserve to know what IMHO means.
--L.
Lujayne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2001, 04:52 AM   #7
jema
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I will just point out that RS comes with dx6 unless I'm mistaken and no one suggests you stay on dx6.0.
The directx drivers are meant to be upwards compatible. In fact there is no official way to uninstall dx8. I installed dx8 when it first came out on the promise it held of better performance.

Please reassure me that mindless abuse is not the usual standard of this BB. No one has really managed a technical answer to the question beyond it doesn't work in dx8.
For example is this the common problem with RS in dx8 and has LucasArts a position on it?


jema

[This message has been edited by jema (edited March 14, 2001).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2001, 02:45 PM   #8
Gold Squadron Leader
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Sorry for the other posters, jema. Some tend to overreact and stray off topic too fast and too often.

You'll have to ask LucasArts support if they have received many inquiries on this common problem and if they have a solution. As for my statements I stand behind them as the truth to the best of my knowledge. Just because Microsoft released DirectX 8.0 with promise of better performance doesn't mean it delivers, LOL. DirectX 8.0 IS buggy and uncompatible with many games and system configurations. You can research this yourself. And you are right, there is no official DirectX uninstaller but you can find ones available from third party vendors. Or maybe get the latest version, I think 8.0a or greater is available now. Good luck.

------------------
Gold Squadron. The brightest star of the Rebellion Fleet!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2001, 03:38 PM   #9
Rogue Renegade
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wink

I too use DirectX 8.0 (Windows ME) with NO problems. I think it has a lot to do with your video card. 8.0 may still need to knock out some bugs with various video cards.

Tell me something-- Which did you load first DX 8.0 or RS? You may want to try uninstalling/reinstalling RS.

"I AM THE RENEGADE"

------------------
"I am the Alpha and the Omega," says the Lord God, "who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty." (Rev. 1:8)
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2001, 03:39 PM   #10
Rogue Renegade
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

IMHO -- In My Honest (or Humble) Opinion

------------------
"I am the Alpha and the Omega," says the Lord God, "who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty." (Rev. 1:8)
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2001, 03:54 PM   #11
jema
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

The problem has occurred with both orders of installation. It is occurring now on a GeForceII card, but has also occurred on some voodoo cards.
I really thought this problem would be common knowledge and the position of Lucas Arts on it would be known.
BTW I have gold on all missions, I'm just trying to resurrect the game for my son to see if he can manange it I may deinstall dx8, but certain things like the new 3dmark2001 require its installation.

jema
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2001, 04:55 PM   #12
stevo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Jema,

I too experienced problems with DirectX 8.0a with RS and my MS Force Feedback 2 joystick. I don't know what joystick you're using, but RS was randomly and frequently crashing back to the Win98 desktop until I removed DirectX 8.0a and reinstalled 7.0a. Now RS is rock solid. See the thread "Is anyone using a MS Force Feedback 2 stick with RS?" in this forum for details. Gold Squadron Leader helped me out, so listen to his advice.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2001, 06:02 AM   #13
Redwing
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Hmm.
I too had DirectX 8 problems. Fortunately my brother solved it somehow...he says he uninstalled then reinstalled RS and told it to install DirectX 6.1. Somehow this seems to have installed both at once, because RS works now, and I have DirectX 8.

DirectX 8 is very buggy.

And just ignore our little Imperial turncoat Moff Kiwi. He likes driving people nuts.

------------------
At last we will reveal ourselves to the Jedi.
At last we will have revenge.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2001, 04:40 PM   #14
jema
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Thanks I will try that. It sounds a good idea. I will post if it works!

cheers

jema
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2001, 08:20 AM   #15
speculative
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

I'm having probs with DX8 as well, and would just like to add that in order to "uninstall" DX8 on win98SE you need to reformat your hard drive. Not a very tasty option IMHO Just another reason I have no love for the "Empire"

-speculative

------------------
A Team Picard Gnome
  you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > RogueSquadron.net > 2. Rogue Squadron > Tech Centre > directx8

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.