lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-18-2004, 04:32 AM   #1
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

With only one vote in the poll, this one was pretty easy to tabulate

The winnier is: Datapads

According to sources on the Obsidian forums the datapads in TSL will open automatically when you pick one up.

I personally think this is pretty cool, because half the time I got so discouraged by the mass of them in my inventory, that I never got around to reading them. Plus Bioware named 80% of the datapads the same

If I can't find something new tomorrow night, I'll use tonight's other choice for that topic.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 04:41 AM   #2
FiEND_138
..
 
FiEND_138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,807
Re: Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
According to sources on the Obsidian forums the datapads in TSL will open automatically when you pick one up
Yeah, I got pretty happy when I read about that too. I was in the same boat & just about never looked through them. More laziness on Bio's part, the least they could have done was used different names for them. I'm glad OE's fixing that problem.

FiEND_138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 04:47 AM   #3
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Re: Re: Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

Quote:
Originally posted by FiEND_138
Yeah, I got pretty happy when I read about that too. I was in the same boat & just about never looked through them. More laziness on Bio's part, the least they could have done was used different names for them. I'm glad OE's fixing that problem.
Did you notice that sometimes you'd find 2 of the same datapad (ala mandalorians on Kashyyyk, or Scientist's Memo on Manaan)? You'd think they could have avoided that somehow.

Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm realizing just how much KotOR's inventory system really sucks. Very glad that OE is overhauling it.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 05:28 AM   #4
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
I would like instead of constantly picking up Datapads that we would have a new tab on your PC's GUI for your personal Datapad, when you find a Datapad the pertinent information on it is simply added to your own eliminating them as items all together.

Just my 2 cents!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 05:30 AM   #5
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Re: Re: Re: Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Did you notice that sometimes you'd find 2 of the same datapad (ala mandalorians on Kashyyyk, or Scientist's Memo on Manaan)? You'd think they could have avoided that somehow.
Yup... they could have with an InvDesturbed script on the each of the opposing Footlockers or Creatures containing the Datapads no less!

Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm realizing just how much KotOR's inventory system really sucks. Very glad that OE is overhauling it.
They are???

How... Inquiring minds want to know!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 09:35 AM   #6
FiEND_138
..
 
FiEND_138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,807
Re: Re: Re: Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm realizing just how much KotOR's inventory system really sucks. Very glad that OE is overhauling it.
Agreed. It was such a crap implementation, can't wait to see what OE do with it.

@ Red.... I'll try & dig ya up a link when I get off work if someone hasn't already

FiEND_138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 10:32 AM   #7
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,343
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Re: Re: Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

Quote:
Originally posted by FiEND_138
More laziness on Bio's part
I highly doubt they made such decisions because they were "lazy." I suspect time, money, and resources had more to do with it.
Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 10:36 AM   #8
FiEND_138
..
 
FiEND_138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,807
Here ya go. This mostly just deals with the datapads & a new filter. I'll look for the rest of the info later *coughstillyesterdaymorningformecough* if no one has linked more info yet.

IIRC, it's mostly a bunch of new filters for the selection screen IE; blasters, rifles, melee, etc. Atleast, thats how I think it was stated. Could be wrong.............

FiEND_138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 10:37 AM   #9
nacho35
Rookie
 
nacho35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 162
Re: Re: Re: Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm realizing just how much KotOR's inventory system really sucks. Very glad that OE is overhauling it.
I just wish that when you are selling items, you would get an option for "sell all". That alone would make the game more enjoyable for me.


_________________________________
Matt1038
nacho35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 10:50 AM   #10
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Re: Re: Re: Re: Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

Quote:
Originally posted by RedHawke
They are???

How... Inquiring minds want to know!
Well if they were nice enough to provide more specifics, I could tell you

One of the first video clips they had (or maybe it was articles) mentioned an extensive redesign of the inventory system. The one thing they did let slip was the weapon quick change button.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 10:54 AM   #11
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Re: Re: Re: Re: Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

Quote:
Originally posted by nacho35
I just wish that when you are selling items, you would get an option for "sell all". That alone would make the game more enjoyable for me.
I was kinda shocked to see that v1.03 would allow you to Shift+Left click to put all of an item stack into a placeable, but wouldn't let you sell all of that item to a merchant. Probably too much work, but you have to admit that selling those swoop racing bonds was almost more trouble than it was worth
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 11:58 AM   #12
nacho35
Rookie
 
nacho35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 162
LMAO!


_________________________________
Matt1038
nacho35 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 02:27 PM   #13
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by RedHawke
I would like instead of constantly picking up Datapads that we would have a new tab on your PC's GUI for your personal Datapad, when you find a Datapad the pertinent information on it is simply added to your own eliminating them as items all together.

Just my 2 cents!
Red,

Just saw this. Good idea! Were you thinking, read and delete or more along the lines of list of entries that you could click on for more details?
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 02:51 PM   #14
RubADucky
Rookie
 
RubADucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 100
Just make it like Doom 3's PDAs.
RubADucky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2004, 03:48 AM   #15
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Red,

Just saw this. Good idea! Were you thinking, read and delete or more along the lines of list of entries that you could click on for more details?
The selectable list of entries was along the lines of what I was talking about, one that would clear the data out after completing the quest or whatever, and non quest ones could be deleted by the player once read.

Far better than hauling around 100K Datapads, and give the player control over their management as well!

And an FYI: Swoop Racing Bonds sell really well on Yavin Station to little ol' Suvam Tan!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2004, 05:22 AM   #16
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by RedHawke
And an FYI: Swoop Racing Bonds sell really well on Yavin Station to little ol' Suvam Tan!
Yeah, I caught that right away, but I hated having to sit there for 30 minutes clicking until my finger fell off selling the damned things.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2004, 05:39 AM   #17
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Yeah, I caught that right away, but I hated having to sit there for 30 minutes clicking until my finger fell off selling the damned things.
Yup... and it is still annoying us today.

I also wish that selling in KOTOR could have been drag and drop, put your sale list on one side and the vendor list on the other and then pick up the item or stack of items and drop them on the merchants side and then a confirm sale box pops up giving you your one last chance, click yes and boom you complete the sale... and do just the opposite to buy items... Oh well.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2004, 05:42 AM   #18
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by RedHawke
Yup... and it is still annoying us today.

I also wish that selling in KOTOR could have been drag and drop, put your sale list on one side and the vendor list on the other and then pick up the item or stack of items and drop them on the merchants side and then a confirm sale box pops up giving you your one last chance, click yes and boom you complete the sale... and do just the opposite to buy items... Oh well.
Like dungeon siege, but better
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2004, 06:05 AM   #19
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Like dungeon siege, but better
I have never played dungeon siege... but if that is how merchants are done in that game, then yeah... like that!

*Note to self... look at Dungeon Siege the next time in store*


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2004, 06:17 AM   #20
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by RedHawke
I have never played dungeon siege... but if that is how merchants are done in that game, then yeah... like that!

*Note to self... look at Dungeon Siege the next time in store*
They're getting ready to release II soon, so it may pay to wait a little while.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2004, 09:44 AM   #21
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,343
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally posted by FiEND_138
Here ya go. This mostly just deals with the datapads & a new filter.
The more I read about this game, the more kick ass it sounds...
Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2004, 10:36 PM   #22
jedi_5002
Rookie
 
jedi_5002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA in CST
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Yeah, I caught that right away, but I hated having to sit there for 30 minutes clicking until my finger fell off selling the damned things.
Use the enter key.





There is emotion as i love Bastila
There is ignorance as other people think they love Bastila too
There is passion as i want Bastila
There is chaos as everyone else wants Bastila too
There is death to anyone who tries to take Bastila from me

811 posts until I'm a Jedi Master
jedi_5002 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 01:06 AM   #23
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by jedi_5002
Use the enter key.

And that does....???
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 01:12 AM   #24
FiEND_138
..
 
FiEND_138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,807
^^ Pretty much the same.....


So instead of clicking for 30 mins, you just push for 30 mins...

FiEND_138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 01:40 AM   #25
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by FiEND_138
^^ Pretty much the same.....


So instead of clicking for 30 mins, you just push for 30 mins...
But my finger still falls off right?

Hey, thanks 5002! Wow...
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 02:12 AM   #26
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally posted by FiEND_138
^^ Pretty much the same.....


So instead of clicking for 30 mins, you just push for 30 mins...
I din't know about the Enter key either... Thanks Jedi & FiEND!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2004, 10:46 PM   #27
kome566
Junior Member
 
kome566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sitting next to a laying Malak trying to hack his plate off.
Posts: 333
It would be neat if you could have your own datapad...so you could write in it...like...release anger...love for another....and so on


I have nothing else to do... : You can never kill a Sith... Achilles is my man ! (Not in that way..)
kome566 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-29-2004, 12:49 AM   #28
jedi_5002
Rookie
 
jedi_5002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA in CST
Posts: 189
^^^Yes it would. Maybe in KotOR:TSL.

Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
But my finger still falls off right?

Hey, thanks 5002! Wow...
It is a little better than hitting the mouse button for 30 minutes. You can rotate between using your finger, and using you wrist (and, if your chair has arms, it feels much better, than mouse button punching).


Also, you have called me Jedi, you have called me Jedi_5002, now you are calling me 5002.... Make up your damn mind!
I'm just messin' with ya. Please don't take offense.





There is emotion as i love Bastila
There is ignorance as other people think they love Bastila too
There is passion as i want Bastila
There is chaos as everyone else wants Bastila too
There is death to anyone who tries to take Bastila from me

811 posts until I'm a Jedi Master

Last edited by jedi_5002; 08-29-2004 at 01:25 AM.
jedi_5002 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2004, 04:45 AM   #29
Toa Tahu
 
Toa Tahu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Yavin IV
Posts: 487
They(Bioware) should also allow us to drop items.
Or did they,and I missed it?
Please correct me if I'm wrong,ok?
Just my 2 cents'.


When you slice a person, do you slice him with the fastest stroke, or do you forcefully incapacitate him?
Toa Tahu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2004, 06:26 AM   #30
Prime
Am I a truck or robot?
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,343
Current Game: Skyrim, Macross PS2
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally posted by Toa Tahu
They(Bioware) should also allow us to drop items. Or did they,and I missed it?
You did miss it. You are able to drop items you don't want into containers...
Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-01-2004, 07:32 PM   #31
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally posted by Prime
You did miss it. You are able to drop items you don't want into containers...
Or sell them to the merchants in the game... at least get some credits for that stuff...


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Game Discussion > Telos Tourist Bureau > Tonight's "reboot topic" is datapads

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.