lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KotOR/TSL GUI Dialog Editor (DLGEditor) - Current Version: 2.3.2
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-13-2004, 01:03 PM   #1
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
KotOR/TSL GUI Dialog Editor (DLGEditor) - Current Version: 2.3.2

DLGEditor v2.3.2
Download here (April 30, 2008)

v2.3.2
- Rearranged some code to prevent unnecessary crashes upon launch and recompiled with PerlApp 7.2

v2.3.1
- Recompiled with PerlApp 7.1 (support for diacritics in username)

v2.3.0
- Fixed bug where undoing an add of a reply to a reply or an entry to an
entry would not undo the creation of the implied entry or reply. Thanks to Dashus for this.
- Fixed bug where Edit: Delete All Orphans was not enabled right after a File: Open command (again, thanks Dashus)
- Animations can now be added without having to select from the list (they can be typed by number)


See readme.txt for more information.

Last edited by tk102; 04-30-2008 at 05:44 PM. Reason: 2.3.2 released
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 01:12 PM   #2
Mono_Giganto
Giant Monkey of Doom™
 
Mono_Giganto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,478
Current Game: Baldur's Gate EE
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Good job tk.

Five bucks says this is merged with the feedback thread within 2 days.




Mono_Giganto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 01:13 PM   #3
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
I'll give it 2 hours.... and another $5 that says both of these posts will be deleted in the process.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 01:28 PM   #4
Doc Valentine
Ha-Ha Kotor Modding
 
Doc Valentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In the eye of the beholder.
Posts: 1,133
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
TK102 this is awsome, i cant tell you how much this will help me in A New Foe.

BTW: Can you do Tokens like in the aurora toolset where you can add a [sir/ma'am] thing?


I don't need you no more in this world. I'll meet you in the next one, and don't be late.
Doc Valentine is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 01:39 PM   #5
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Yes you can use tokens. The one I'm most familiar with is <FullName>. But a quick check using KTLK or whatever your favorite TLK file search utility is, yields lots of them... mostly
<CUSTOMx> where x is a number.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 01:55 PM   #6
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,295
Excellent work t102!!! This is one great tool that will save a lot of headaches and time when editing/creating dialogues. And I love those new functions you added since the last version, especially the copy/cut/paste function.!


And concerning the bets you and Mono have taken: I wont delete Mono's post because he says "good job tk" and I won't merge this thread with the other because posts are inserted in a thread according to the time they were posted and the other posts would be placed at the top of this thread, before tk's announcement. Sooo...conclusion of this story: you both loose... send the money over here!
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 02:34 PM   #7
Darth Dex
Forumite
 
Darth Dex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Look at a Map
Posts: 516
You already now how i feel.


When you start thinking you should just quit right there!

Ben says, "stop ruining my storys! You always ruin my storys."
Darth Dex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2004, 03:02 PM   #8
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.0.1 (an update already!)
http://www.pcgamemods.com/7438/

This fixes the bug that TMPhoenix found in regards to the DelayEntry field.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2004, 02:17 AM   #9
TMPhoenix
Rookie
 
TMPhoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
Great!
TMPhoenix is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2004, 04:32 AM   #10
Tanesh
Rookie
 
Tanesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Great work. I like the option "show orphaned replies/entries". I've just finished a personal dialogue with the old editor with over 200 replies/entries and found a lot "orphans" I forgot to connect with each other. Thank you!
Tanesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2004, 05:07 AM   #11
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
I've seen some pretty cool stuff done with PERL at work, but never anything as great as this. Quite amazing.

Excellent work - keep it up!
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2004, 07:49 AM   #12
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Thanks a lot guys!

And that means a great deal from you Fred. FWIW, I found myself thinking, well what would Fred do here?

Soliloquy: Perl/Tk (the GUI) can be tricky or tedious at times but eventually it lends itself to cut/paste code, which to me, means that you're on the right track design-wise. If you find yourself having to make a lot exceptions for special cases, then it might be time for a redesign. And adding the menubar at the top is surprisingly effective at focussing the purpose of the program.

Please let me know if you find any bugs or have critiques/ideas for this app.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2004, 05:07 PM   #13
Lorden Darkblade
Computer Crazy
 
Lorden Darkblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,474
OMG!!

If this only existed when I was trying to make that last mod when I wanted to be able to use Force Persuade to get the item
Anyway, nice work as usual tk102



Lorden Darkblade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2004, 04:22 PM   #14
beancounter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 169
Very nice work tk! I was just getting the hang of your text based dialog editor, but I am happy to throw that out in favor of this one. Once again nice work!
beancounter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2004, 07:20 PM   #15
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by Tanesh
Great work. I like the option "show orphaned replies/entries". I've just finished a personal dialogue with the old editor with over 200 replies/entries and found a lot "orphans" I forgot to connect with each other. Thank you!
How did you create orphaned nodes in the conversation? Was it by accident? Where you using DLGEdit or (shudders) the GFFEditor?

If someone who has created/can create one of these, kindly send it to me (email in the KT readme..blah..blah..blah) so I can make sure that it can be checked for in the Kotor Tool conversation editor.

Also, should it be called a conversation or dialogue editor? NWNs' toolset uses the former....
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2004, 08:27 PM   #16
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Hi Fred,
If you want, you can download the VFX Armband for an example of a .dlg with orphaned nodes. When I was building it, I was too lazy to remove the nodes for the effects that didn't work.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2004, 08:54 PM   #17
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
So what you're saying is that there are EntryList items that don't appear in any ReplyList item's EntriesList or ReplyList items that don't appear in any EntryList item's RepliesList, correct?

If that's so, I think I am OK due to the way I parse the DLG file; non-referenced entries are not processed, so only the actual "tree" (or directed graph, if you prefer) is loaded and rewritten into GFF when you save.
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2004, 12:49 AM   #18
Tanesh
Rookie
 
Tanesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally posted by Fred Tetra
So what you're saying is that there are EntryList items that don't appear in any ReplyList item's EntriesList or ReplyList items that don't appear in any EntryList item's RepliesList, correct?

Yes, that's it. I used tk's old DLGEdit to write my dialogue and because it was so big, I missed to connect some dialogue options with each other. And then the happy searching begun ... especially with the empty replies ... *sigh*

But tk, I've got a little problem now. When I want to open said dlg file, I get an error message:
"Can't call method "get_field_ix_by_label" on an undefined value at dlgeditor_101.pl line 1361. (menu invoke)"
and the option "View" in the menu is missing until I choose with right click an option like show conditionals or indices. But still after that I can't fold or unfold the trees ...

It's only with one file and it worked fine a day ago. What could that be?
Tanesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2004, 06:08 AM   #19
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Interesting. Tanesh, I PM'd you. Send the dlg to me along with the exact steps involved in generating the errors. Hopefully it will lead to an improvement.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2004, 07:43 AM   #20
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
While I emailed you this response, I decided to also share it here for the benefit of other folks....

"Ok, while I don't have the time to fix it for you, I did find the problem in you file to be a circular reference as I had guessed.

If you open up your file in the GFF Editor, you'll find that EntryList(126) has a RepliesList index entry of 172 into the ReplyList, and likewise ReplyList(172) has an EntriesList index entry of 126 into the EntryList.

This breaks the rule that conversation trees go down only by direct reference and up only by virtual links. Since I can't take the time to trace out your intended tree, you'll have to patch it up manually."

P.S. Yours is the largest conversation tree I've ever seen at 160 KB! Some of the largest in KotOR are only around 36KB
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2004, 09:09 AM   #21
Tanesh
Rookie
 
Tanesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Yes, I had a typing error (184 instead of 144) and accidently switched the lines (172 instead of 173). Man, I'm getting old ...

And I know it's quite large, it hast 342 replies/entries, the "connections" and starting list not counted. I only wanted to have a nice background story for my sabers ... I guess it got a bit out of control. But now I have a personal conversation file almost like the other pary members.
I'm not sure if I want to translate the whole thing ... it would take a lot of work, that's for sure.
Tanesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2004, 10:11 AM   #22
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
This breaks the rule that conversation trees go down only by direct reference and up only by virtual links. Since I can't take the time to trace out your intended tree, you'll have to patch it up manually.

Am I missing something because this rule has no "teeth" to it. I don't know about NWN, but KotOR doesn't mind moving up the dialog tree without the "IsChild" flag being set. The dialog behaves itself.

DLGEditor does nothing with this flag (other than create the field).


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2004, 11:06 AM   #23
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.0.2 released (see link in first post of this thread.)

* v1.0.2 - added error checking for StartingList, EntriesList, RepliesList so that if the Index field points to a non-existant structure, a dialog box will appear prompting the user to take action. (Thanks Tanesh.)


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2004, 02:14 PM   #24
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
TK102,

Thanks for the updated version. I'm working with it right now to create a new dialog and it seems as though there is some general weirdness with the copy/paste functions.

If I try to copy and paste a node, the application will only paste the copy in the same tree as the entry I'm copying.

For instance:

Entry 0
Reply 0

Entry 1
Reply 1

If I try to copy R0 and add it to E1's tree, it pastes it directly below R0

Not sure if this is user error, but I thought I would share this in case it's not.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2004, 03:00 PM   #25
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Hi Achilles,

Are you sure that E1 is properly selected in the tree at the time you initiate your Paste? Sometimes the tree doesn't respond as quickly as expected.

If the problem is persistent and is repeatable, could you send me the .dlg in question along with the exact steps involved in causing the bug.... email is in the Help: About screen.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2004, 03:29 PM   #26
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
Hi Achilles,

Are you sure that E1 is properly selected in the tree at the time you initiate your Paste? Sometimes the tree doesn't respond as quickly as expected.

If the problem is persistent and is repeatable, could you send me the .dlg in question along with the exact steps involved in causing the bug.... email is in the Help: About screen.
Yeah, it tried it 5 or 6 times just to make sure that I wasn't doing something incorrectly.

Unfortunately, I soldiered through it a finished the dialog by copy/pasting text into new entries, so I don't have the problem file any longer

If I come across the same issue again, I'll save you a copy.

Thanks!
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2004, 09:38 PM   #27
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.0.3 released

- fixed bug: Comments not being stored (thanks T7Nowhere)
- improved cut/delete operations (thanks Achilles, T7Nowhere)
- fixed bug that affected StartingList entries after one was deleted
- added Paste options to context menu when root node is selected


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-19-2004, 07:18 PM   #28
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by tk102
Am I missing something because this rule has no "teeth" to it. I don't know about NWN, but KotOR doesn't mind moving up the dialog tree without the "IsChild" flag being set. The dialog behaves itself.

DLGEditor does nothing with this flag (other than create the field).
According to the Bioware Aurora Conversation Format document, table 2.3.2, the flag has this description:

IsChild - BYTE - 1 if this is a link, and there is a LinkComment.
0 if this is a direct reference to the dialog, and there is no LinkComment.


Sometimes apps do not follow standards and still work (e.g. Internet Explorer), but I generally try to write to them for future compatability.

My editor builds its data structures by walking the actual conversation, which has the side effect of weeding out orphan nodes. The downside is that it expects that files follow the Bioware format specs and chokes when they're not Well, at least it used to when cyclic edges were present between the nodes. Now I use a hashtable to tell if a node has been visited during the traversal of the tree, so it is easier to detect nodes that should likely be marked as links, which it then does.

I let my editor try this on Tanesh's file, then I sent it back to her { }; we'll see if my technique is any good.

Last edited by Fred Tetra; 09-20-2004 at 06:33 AM.
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2004, 03:37 AM   #29
Tanesh
Rookie
 
Tanesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Unfortunately, the file doesn't work correctly, Fred. Seven of the eight entries of the starting list are missing and there are some problems with dialog options that should only appear with a script. I sent you a mail with the whole error list.
Oh, and it's "her", not "him".
Tanesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2004, 06:39 AM   #30
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
I discovered a bug this morning that was causing the "Script that determines if node is available" script name to be written to "Script to run for this node" script's field. This is a bad thing. I corrected it and a new version of Kotor Tool is available for those who'd like to try it. Also, I sent Tanesh a new version of the conversation to see if it works better.

I realize this is more of a Kotor Tool-thing than something directly relevant to tk102's cool tool, but I wasn't sure how to otherwise address it
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2004, 12:11 PM   #31
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.0.4 released

Adds support for extended characters such as ä,ß,à etc.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2004, 05:26 PM   #32
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
GUI DLGEditor v1.0.5 released.

- Added enhancements to the code to make it more compatible with those DLG files created with KotOR Tool.

I noticed some DLG files that didn't have certain fields (eg. Sound, SoundExists, Quest, etc.) These caused DLGEditor some trouble, but no longer.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2004, 05:59 AM   #33
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
I ran into the same problem! In fact, I used to unconditionally add many fields whether or not they were used, but now I only create them if either (a) I know from experience that they have to be there or (b) the user entered data that needs to be stored in a node. This makes the DLGs I output much smaller with less 'waste'. This follows my observations ofseveral of the in-game DLG files.
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2004, 06:08 AM   #34
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Well this version puts all of those fields back in -- just in case people want to modify the files in GFF Editor later. The file size difference that I've seen was about 15%.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2004, 09:41 AM   #35
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
DLGEditor v1.0.6 Released

DLGEditor v1.0.6 Released 11/21/04

- Fixed bug in AnimationList where Animation descriptions containing a space were not being recorded correctly

- Added support for QuestEntry field. Thanks Xavier2!


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2004, 10:34 AM   #36
T7nowhere
Did you reset?
 
T7nowhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,972
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Cool, Thanks tk102.
T7nowhere is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2004, 12:37 PM   #37
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,295
thankstk102, I gonna need that journal entry thing soon
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2004, 09:25 PM   #38
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
DLGEditor v1.0.7 Released 12/4/04

Fixed problem where user would paste a Unicode character such as a smart quote or a smart apostrophe into the Text field and then get a "Wide Character" error when trying to save the dialog. Now, Unicode characters will appear in the Text field, but will become strange ASCII characters in the Treeview when Apply button is pressed. This eliminates the error at save. Thanks svösh and Darth333!


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2004, 07:29 AM   #39
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,295
And thanks to you for making this update!
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2004, 08:39 AM   #40
svösh
 
svösh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 733
Veteran Modder Helpful! Contest winner - Modding 
Big thanks for this Tk

svösh


pixel, poly builder
svösh's kotor mods
svösh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > KotOR/TSL GUI Dialog Editor (DLGEditor) - Current Version: 2.3.2

Tags
dialog, editor, kotor modding tool

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.