lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: kicked back to desktop
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-23-2004, 03:56 AM   #1
annas_feet
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
kicked back to desktop

Hi,
I installed the game as well as direct x 9.0c
when i launch the game the screen goes black and after a second or so i am back on my Desktop ... no error message, no nothing.

I have tried running this syscheck.exe thing - it sais "no sound hardware"
However , when i run dxdiag I pass all the sound tests ... nothing out of the order. I already updated my sound drivers, it did not help.
Does anyone have the same problem ?
Any suggestions ?
annas_feet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2004, 05:33 AM   #2
Sam Fisher
eh.
 
Sam Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,466
Does it still show on the toolbar? My computer, at every load, go back to desktop, but all I have to do is click it and its back, no problems. Its annoying, but I have to live with it.

Happens with a lot of my games interestingly enough.




stuck in an eternity of sunshine and chocolate.
Sam Fisher is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2004, 06:50 AM   #3
annas_feet
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
problem could be solved by setting region code to us.
stupid but it works .
annas_feet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2004, 07:23 AM   #4
ChicoMan
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
where do you set this region code?
ChicoMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2004, 10:15 AM   #5
ToB17
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
where do you set this region code?
ToB17 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 09:30 AM   #6
chrishaolin
Rookie
 
chrishaolin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 140
control panel -> regional and language options..

i get kicked to the desktop (game closes) randomly every once in awhile.. no idea why...


feeling froggish? leap..
chrishaolin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 12:06 PM   #7
ChicoMan
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
ya my brother has the same problem on one of his machines- except he can't even get in the game. When he tries to run the game he gets a Windows XP error message immediately. Oddly enough he can run the game on one of his older computers. The newer one he has is an overclocked 2500+ with GT 6800 Ultra and Gig of Corsair with Raid Raptor drives - I am thinkin it has something to do with the graphics drivers on newer cards. Anyhoo- can play on my machine and I likes it Aloooot! -- Goodluck
ChicoMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 12:32 PM   #8
Hallowicious
Rookie
 
Hallowicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 13
quote: i get kicked to the desktop (game closes) randomly every once in awhile.. no idea why...



Christhaolin, I have this problem too. I was thinking that maybe it kicks players who have been in a server for awhile to let other people in. It really bothers me though, it usually happens to me after about an hour of play when I'm really getting into it.
Hallowicious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 01:16 PM   #9
chrishaolin
Rookie
 
chrishaolin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally posted by Hallowicious
quote: i get kicked to the desktop (game closes) randomly every once in awhile.. no idea why...

Christhaolin, I have this problem too. I was thinking that maybe it kicks players who have been in a server for awhile to let other people in. It really bothers me though, it usually happens to me after about an hour of play when I'm really getting into it.
Hmmm, that's possible, but the fact that I am kicked to the desktop and the game terminates itself from the process list leads me to believe that it is a bigger issue than that.


feeling froggish? leap..
chrishaolin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2004, 02:17 PM   #10
SaberGryphon
Lurker
 
SaberGryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Universityof Southern Mississippi
Posts: 2
ive had the same problem.. that where I start the game, the screen goes black, then goes back to desktop.. i've tried messing with the regional and language settings, and it didn't work. I've also completel updated directx and my video drivers. Still i haven't fixed the problem. Guess i'm s.o.l.
SaberGryphon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2004, 04:18 PM   #11
BioVader
Lurker
 
BioVader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Warren, PA
Posts: 5
Out of all the people having problems and getting kicked back to the desktop, What sound card do you have... I really think it's the sblive sound cards... Then again it could be the new video cards.. I have the X800 XT PE with the 4.9 drivers installed and a SBlive 5.1 Plat...
BioVader is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2004, 06:49 PM   #12
chrishaolin
Rookie
 
chrishaolin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 140
video card

nvidia geforce 5900... anyone else running this card and notice that the fan is a bit noisy?


feeling froggish? leap..
chrishaolin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2004, 07:12 PM   #13
Janek Sunber
Rookie
 
Janek Sunber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
I've a geforce2 mx 200 and a cmedia sound card
Janek Sunber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2004, 07:45 PM   #14
JediGreenLizard
Rookie
 
JediGreenLizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 23
These kick to the desktop problems should be easily solved by installing a different video driver. Try the newest Detonator driver if you have a GeForce card, if that doesnt work, try an older driver. They have an archive on their (nvidia) website.
JediGreenLizard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2004, 06:26 AM   #15
Mufti
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Ok, I tried that, but it doesnt help.

Last edited by Mufti; 09-26-2004 at 07:05 AM.
Mufti is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2004, 06:23 PM   #16
Estilia Bane
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CT
Posts: 12
I also have the problem of getting booted out of the game in the heat of battle to the desktop...really annoying.

I run the Radeon 9800 Pro, if that makes any difference.


Estilia Bane is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 03:51 AM   #17
wikki
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
strange thing. i had the same problem, reinstalled the video driver, put in a new sound card (soundblaster 4.1 digital), changed the country settings, closed every possible program and got it to work.
now i am trying the same thing, and of course it doesn't work.
i figured, it had something to do with the soundcard. i turned my onboard soundcard off (via bios) and ran the install syscheck on cd1. everything fine.
then i reinstalled every driver but it won't work anymore. i installed the newest patch, and even reinstalled the game. nothing.
getting tired of not being able to play.

athlon 3000+, 512mb, geforce 5700le 256mb
wikki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 12:35 PM   #18
JIMPY
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
The game freezes for me during gameplay on SP and MP. It use to freeze on the 2 map for clone wars campaign which is theed i think. i changed some stuff around on my PC and now it crashes on genanosis when i go to the mountain thing in the center. Anyone know what else i can do to change it?
JIMPY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2004, 03:32 PM   #19
wikki
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
i think, i found a way to keep you in the game instead of being kicked back to the desktop.
after clicking on start game, leave the left mouse button pressed. it works for me. it won't jump back on the desktop!
wikki is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Technical Help > kicked back to desktop

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:31 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.