lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Report your experience with 30 FPS Servers
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-23-2004, 12:01 PM   #1
[RNGD]Tyrant
Rookie
 
[RNGD]Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 149
Report your experience with 30 FPS Servers

I set my server up with the command line tweek to 30 FPS


Since then I have noticed that it is hard to get into vehicles...you hit the E key and you hop in and out again...kind of weird.

I have also noticed the alternative weapon key togles itself too


anyone else notice anything strange? or any other performance issues?
[RNGD]Tyrant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2004, 12:15 PM   #2
{FRG}Bones
Lurker
 
{FRG}Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2
I've seen several posts concerning this, your post claims anything above 30 doesn't work and others claim you can set it up to 80 fps and it works great.

Which is true??
{FRG}Bones is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2004, 12:37 PM   #3
avonnied
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 53
if i where to take a stab at the issue..

just from the description it sounds like hte /tps increases the amount of bandwidth the server is using..

jsut a guess but what maybe happening is the server is lagging the player out (maybe a desync issue) and not recording the action of entering a vehicle.

i know BF42 has a similar effect when you are getting heavy PacketLoss..


just a guess.. but worth looking into ..
avonnied is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2004, 12:40 PM   #4
ReturnFire
Rookie
 
ReturnFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 48
Weapons toggling and the vehicle hopping is an issue on normal servers as well. Doesn't appear to be a delay on the switch command and it keeps sending repeatedly.


Nuke America - Because the French could.

Force Gamers : Battlefront Divison | FORCEGAMERS.COM - 4 thumbs down for your...
ReturnFire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2004, 12:45 PM   #5
italegion
Rookie
 
italegion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 206
i prefere this issue than a fps locked to 20 or 30.


[size=1]Apology accepted, Captain Needa...
www.italegion.altervista.org
italegion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 12:47 AM   #6
bob4432
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
do you really notice a difference at 20 vs 30? is it that much smoother?
bob4432 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 01:55 AM   #7
italegion
Rookie
 
italegion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 206
no - i noticed the difference over 40fps.


[size=1]Apology accepted, Captain Needa...
www.italegion.altervista.org
italegion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 03:47 AM   #8
{DeV}Plasma
Rookie
 
{DeV}Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Re: Report your experience with 30 FPS Servers

Quote:
Originally posted by [RNGD]Tyrant
I set my server up with the command line tweek to 30 FPS


Since then I have noticed that it is hard to get into vehicles...you hit the E key and you hop in and out again...kind of weird.

I have also noticed the alternative weapon key togles itself too


anyone else notice anything strange? or any other performance issues?
Yea, i'm having the exact same problem with my server. i set FPS to 50, and last night it was just horrible trying to get into vehicles. I'm going to put it back to 20 until the server is patched (if the patch helps with this problem).


{DeV}Battlefront Server
67.18.69.146

Ventrilo
64.246.48.71:3200

www.thedevastation.com
{DeV}Plasma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 02:13 PM   #9
Valkyrie
Rookie
 
Valkyrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 22
Same here, the higher the setting the worse the game was. I left it at thirty. Tried it at 80 but the lagg was unbearable.


ValkyrieKrazo on XFire

Admin of (OC-192) Clan Krazo Battlefront servers and Savage servers
Valkyrie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 03:55 PM   #10
jasa-chosen
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 42
i run fine and it is so smooth with a 60 fps setting but my other clan mates clan it lags them so bad. But then agian i am running a x800 pro 1 gb of ram and a 3400 64 bit. So i dunno. I also notice my ping goes to normal like 60 when i do that. When it is set to 20 my ping is 100. Hmmm. But i cant use more then 20 cause it lags my members. But i run fine and it feels so good at 60 for me.
jasa-chosen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 04:36 PM   #11
Billy10Men
Lurker
 
Billy10Men's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Well I was amazed to find the multiplayer side of SWBattlefront to have a capped frame rate of 20fps client side.

The Single players great but Mutliplayer is a joke! I thought someone had removed my graphics card and I was running in software mode!...but no...it rearly was crap!

Servers set to run at 30fps are enough to overcome the jerky graphics, TV set's work fine at 25 fps - yes you end up with the vehicle entry problem but it is far worse if you increase above 30 as not everyones graphics card can keep up..hence lag! on there machine.

We need to see a patch!...fast!
Billy10Men is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2004, 06:06 PM   #12
frayedends
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 39
If the /tic setting is any correlation to other game engine settings, it's in reference to the processing of a 'frame' of data. A ticrate of 30 would mean the server processes 30 seperate frames of data, taking from the input buffer, and crunching that data, spitting it out to clients in the form of a frame, rinse and repeat.

The drawbacks to high framerates are obvious - increased CPU load, and the possibility the timing of other functions will be disrupted due to changing the default rate.

There's also an issue that if the buffer can't be emptied, some data sits and waits for the next frame. If the rate is too low, there will be a constant lag effect, beyond ping. You could also run the rate too high, where there isn't any data in the buffer, yet a frame is still pushed to clients, which is wasted bandwidth.

Until we get some explanations as to what it is, and what we can do with it, I'd not suggest screwing too much with it. We need some developer interaction here rather than speculative answers.


Michigan Burbs Public Gaming - www.michiganburbs.com
BF1942 - BF:Vietnam - RTCW-Enemy Territory - Jedi Academy
Upcoming: SW:Battlefront (cancelled) - Battlefield2 (Spring 2005)
frayedends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2004, 01:18 PM   #13
Canine
Lurker
 
Canine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
TPS 15 on Athlon 750 Dedicated

A data point from outside the curve:

I'm running a dedicated server on an Athlon 750 (768MB RAM) and had to set the TPS to 15. At 20 there were weird warping issues; at 30 it was entirely unplayable (connecting with an Athlon XP2000, 1GB DDR266, nVidia 5600 Ultra 128MB)

Strangely enough, at 15 it's quite smooth. I haven't measured the client performance with any tools but I'd have to guess that I'm getting far more than 15fps.

This box also runs my mail, web, ftp, etc.

Based on my experience and what I've read in the forums, it looks like TPS is for data frames not video frames - and my poor little server doesn't have power to push more than TPS 15.

Also noticed that SWBF seems to use significantly less CPU than BFV.



This isn't right. This isn't even close enough to be considered wrong.
Canine is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Server Administration > Report your experience with 30 FPS Servers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.