lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Adding the MTT, Shuttle etc. to maps
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-02-2004, 03:45 AM   #1
Drawde1
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Question Adding the MTT, Shuttle etc. to maps

I've been using the excellent BViewer utility to view the SWBF vehicle textures, and have
found the ones for the "missing vehicles" - Imperial Shuttle (imp_fly_trooptrans), Rebel Hovernaut and Attack Speeder, and Droid MTT.
From looking through the .lvl files with a hex-editor, it seems that the 3D models for these vehicles
are there too.

So has anyone had any success adding these to maps? I tried a while ago (with the MTT, on Naboo) but though it appeared
on the spawn point vehicle list (on the spawn menu screen), the actual vehicle did not appear.

Unfortunately, there do NOT appear to be any Imperial Officer or Rebel Spy textures (at least, I didn't see any)
Drawde1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2004, 04:19 AM   #2
arachon
Rookie
 
arachon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: If I say cold weather blue and yellow flag, big amusment park, vikings, what do you think of
Posts: 116
if there are no textures for the imp officer maybe you could give him the imperial pilots textures (the one in endor,yavin,mos eisly) when he looks like an AT-ST pilot
arachon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2004, 06:58 PM   #3
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
The Imperial Officer's model (I'm pretty sure, but not positive) and skin (I'm positive) are still in the files.
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-02-2004, 09:45 PM   #4
Destroyder121
 
Destroyder121's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: No Where
Posts: 229
I would love to see the MTT in some maps(geonosis, plains..)
Destroyder121 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2004, 11:21 AM   #5
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
i've tried the hovernaut and the kwing, and the kwing crashes the game (but its in there, do a search for it in all.lvl), and the hovernaut wont show up, but it's name will...maybe they took out the vehicle characteristics file or something to disable it.


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2004, 06:46 PM   #6
psych0fred
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Mission.lvl

Mission.lvl holds the mission settings for each level. If you want to add a vehicle that doesn't exist you have to add it in two places in that file, one is for the count, the other is to tell the level the assets are required. For example there is a line that says readdatafile all.lvl and then lines after that telling what needs to be loaded from that lvl. SO if the hovernaut is part of the all.lvl then it needs to be loaded from that lvl for each mission in the mission.lvl. HOWEVER, there are also memory pools that need to be allocated for vehicles in the mission.lvl (setmemorypoolsize) and if the vehicle is part of a class that has no memory pools set up, a ine has to be added to accomodate that class. The same goes for Aimers, mounted turrets, etc. When you add a vehicle with lots of guns, not only do you have to add it to the vehicle count for that class (flyer, hover, etc) you also have to compensate for it's weapons and aimers by upping the aimer count, etc.
psych0fred is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2004, 07:18 AM   #7
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
Lightbulb

AHA! I havent changed the aimer memory pool sizs, so even though its got enough memory for the hover, it wont load because their isnt enough mem set aside for aimers...


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2004, 04:37 PM   #8
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
i've just started working on adding lost vehicles, starting with the landspeeder (which can hold two, and has no weapons). here's a couple of pics:



a pair of landspeeders



now, to add this speeder to any level, you need to load it from the all.lvl file as tat_hover_landspeeder. have fun and watch for more lost vehicles...


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-05-2004, 05:53 AM   #9
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
nice i didnt know there was lost vehicles




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2004, 01:55 AM   #10
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Here is a screenshot of the imperial troop transport:

Thanks to Dragonum who unhide this vehicle!
You need to scroll down to Dragonums 4th posting in the thread and click on the attached "imp_fly_trooptrans_RGB16.jpg " link

Rends
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2004, 02:56 AM   #11
Alegis
In hiding
 
Alegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,880
LFN Staff Member 
Always posting pics here with source and everything but not doing the same when copying from here to there eh gj though, hopefully of any use later when theres mod support


-"The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty: it's twice as big as it needs to be."
Alegis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2004, 04:39 AM   #12
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally posted by Alegis
Always posting pics here with source and everything but not doing the same when copying from here to there eh gj though, hopefully of any use later when theres mod support
Rgr that, ive linked the posting at battlefront.de to this topic here.

Rends
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2004, 08:13 AM   #13
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
mmmh, also i dont see the textures much worked, maybe is because they werent going to add them or it's cuz im crazy




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2004, 09:38 AM   #14
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
thanks soo much for that image, it gave me exactly what i needed...



i havent flown it yet, i just got a couple screens, so i'll tell you more about it's characteristics later (its imp_fly_trooptrans in imp.lvl)


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2004, 02:08 PM   #15
kingguru
Rookie
 
kingguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gametoast.com
Posts: 175
Looks fun , nice work


Star Wars Battlefront 1 & 2 Mod Site.

-=Gametoast.com =-
kingguru is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2004, 06:41 AM   #16
Drawde1
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Looks interesting.. I saw the tat_hover_landspeeder file but I assumed that this was the "Skiff" vehicle
which was already on the map. Though, with no weapons, it wouldn't be much use except for getting around
quickly (and the speeder bike's better for that)

I also saw "Attack Speeder" textures in the file; is this the same as the standard Combat Speeder, or is it a
different vehicle? I seem to remember an Attack Speeder being mentioned as one of the vehicles which was "cut".

Finally - is there any possibility of a mission.lvl editing program being created, for those of us who don't speak
hexadecimal as a second language ?
Drawde1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2004, 06:51 AM   #17
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
well, I dont think that a program to edit the mission.lvl file is all that high on the list of things to do, when that list includes extracting the models and sounds from the game. the model extraction is almost done, btw.

besides, there's nothing wrong with knowing hex so well you can write essays in it...is there?


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2004, 01:37 PM   #18
lord_xander
Rookie
 
lord_xander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 83
nice work guys, if u wanna submit ur work here, i can then post them on swbffiles.


"The ability to speak does not make you intelligent. Now get out of here!"

"Who's the more foolish: the fool or the fool who follows him?"

lord_xander is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Modding & Editing > Adding the MTT, Shuttle etc. to maps

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.