lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Death Star Mod (Download)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-22-2004, 03:52 AM   #1
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Death Star Mod (Download)

While waiting for Jabba's Palace map, feel free to try out my first attempt of creating Death Star Mod. This map includes 32 flyers (16 each) and it fun as hell. You can download mod and/or see screenshots at:

http://www.eline.ba/Default.aspx?tabid=154

Sincle my knowledge creating textures is limited to MS paint, I would appriciate help in making good texture for surface of Death Star. I need to finish some other things too, so feel free to give any suggestions.

eddie.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 09:22 AM   #2
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
Its a very nice start. I'm not very good at textures, or else I would do a more detailed texture for that. It looks like a good space combat map. I would suggest taking out the TIE bomber(s) and making it so that the IMPs only have a few ships (they only scrambled a few ships, the rebels outnumbered them. But then you could add in various anti-air turrets to simulate the death star turrets.


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 09:48 AM   #3
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Good point....

eddie.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 10:27 AM   #4
DarkReborn
Rookie
 
DarkReborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Emperors's Palace
Posts: 159
Impressive..Most Impressible


The Empire Will Crush the Patethic Band of rebels!Long Live To the Emperor!
DarkReborn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 10:52 AM   #5
Cyclone7
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 62
Very nice work in deed. Looking forward to more!!!

Though how does it play. The whole point of this game is to capture and defend CP points. This means you need continously need to land on the death star's surface.

It's definately a good start. Keep working on it and I'm sure it's gonna kick serious ace.
Cyclone7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 11:35 AM   #6
MIdget
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweden, Uppsala
Posts: 4
Really nice map


MIdget is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 11:48 AM   #7
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally posted by Cyclone7
Very nice work in deed. Looking forward to more!!!

Though how does it play. The whole point of this game is to capture and defend CP points. This means you need continously need to land on the death star's surface.

It's definately a good start. Keep working on it and I'm sure it's gonna kick serious ace.
Well in later versions of this map the Spawnpoints could be made destroyable. Once you destroyed all off them the countdown starts...
So there would be no need to land and capture Commandposts.

Rends
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 12:02 PM   #8
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Hih, so many suggestions. I will have to write them down tommorow and do more on this... I will post texture for death star I need someone to do.

EDIT: Texture to be repleaced is posted. Download it and try to make it as good as possible...

http://www.eline.ba/Default.aspx?tabid=154


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 12:53 PM   #9
Visceral
Rookie
 
Visceral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by Rends
Well in later versions of this map the Spawnpoints could be made destroyable. Once you destroyed all off them the countdown starts...
So there would be no need to land and capture Commandposts.

Rends
I agree, this is the way to go. The only destroyable spawn points already in the game are the Hoth shield generator, Endor bunker, Techno Union starships, and of course the walkers. I guess shield generators would be the most appropriate here for the time being. In the future when we're able to add our own models, they could be turbolaser towers.
Visceral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 12:56 PM   #10
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
I'ma go ahead and give that texture a shot.


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 01:04 PM   #11
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Good suggestions but how in the world I will transfer Shield Generator from hoth and make it destructible and incorporated in the game so it affects tickets. Heeh, let us do one step at the time, they I will go over more exotic suggestions and try to impement them.

PS. Any help in moving objects from one level to another using hex is more then welcome...


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 01:41 PM   #12
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
dorsai3d:: try to make it darker then texture 01 posted at my site. texture 01 looks bright from air.

Another thing, when you fly you see that fogy surface far from you wich is brownish (left over from nab2 map). I would like to make it black or dark gray. Any ideas?


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 05:03 PM   #13
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
well, it's not that great, but at least it's the rightish color...



sorry it took me a while to post this, I was teaching my 4-year old sister the basics of PhotoShop


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2004, 10:52 PM   #14
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Thanx Dorsai, your textture is posted.

Check out Texture 03 and tell me what you think?

http://www.eline.ba/Default.aspx?tabid=154


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 02:28 AM   #15
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Death Star v0.3 is out:
- Added Vader's "Summer House"
- Added Turret on Imp side
- New texture (03)
- Added Repair bots
- New Sky
- Added red,blue,yellow, green sector on the map

http://www.eline.ba/Default.aspx?tabid=154

Check out to do list if you want to help...


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 02:31 AM   #16
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
mine looks OK, but texture3 is an inside texture, or for the unfinished deathstar (when it comes along) Also, you look like you are still using the old bumpmap on my texture and that looks kind of tacky...


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 02:50 AM   #17
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
I know about bump map... We will get in cosmetics if I ever go to v0.99 he he, anyhow, texture3 is collection of junk I found on vidiactive's links it is an attempt. Your tex is to bright and looks like stone surface from the air. I could try to make it darker and try. There are a lot of textures around on the net so check that also if you want.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 04:28 AM   #18
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Adding new levels

I have managed to add my death star level to the list and it is working also. follow the link for more info..

http://www.eline.ba/Default.aspx?tabid=155


EDIT* My ISP just called me and said that I have upload (for you guys download) at 100% which I can not have on my company server. So anybody would like to give my some space for my mods?

Anyhow, news that maybe you can not get:

----------------------------------

Thanx to freddy's sugestions, I have managed to add new levels to the list and it is also working...

This is just first attament and so far I have found the following:

What is important:
1. Make a folder in AddOn folder (Eddie_DeathStar_v03) or what ever...
2. Copy AddMe.script from tat3 to your folder
3. Hex AddMe.script and change name and folders you will load (eg. TAT, TAT3...)
4. Make Data as _lvl_pc folders like in original game
5. _lvl_pc have mission.lvl and core.lvl as follows
6. Old mission.lvl from original game
7. new core.lvl from tat3
8. Make map folder (in my case (BES1)
9. Have level in map folder bes1.lvl

The good thing is structure of addon's. I could acctualy have Eddies_Mods folder then inside AddMe script could add all of my maps, mission could be for my mods and map folders structure and levels could behave in same way as original game. This would be harder for updates, but we will see.

EDIT*** NEVER MIND ALL OF THIS - ALL BAD - I WILL TRY IT FIRST IN THE FUTURE BEFORE I POST!


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com

Last edited by Servant; 11-23-2004 at 06:28 AM.
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 04:58 AM   #19
Pad
.¬¬.
 
Pad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bellzium
Posts: 4,478
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Re: Adding new levels

Quote:
Originally posted by Servant
EDIT* My ISP just called me and said that I have upload (for you guys download) at 100% which I can not have on my company server. So anybody would like to give my some space for my mods?
You can always get hosted at swbattlefront.net (The LF site)
Pad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 08:25 AM   #20
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Thanx Pad. I will use it if I have to. let me follow stats for a while and see what happens.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 08:27 AM   #21
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Yes would be nice to have some mirrors. It´s hard for me to get the files from the current servers. I wasn´t able yet to get version 0.3 even if i tried it a few times.

Rends
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 11:04 AM   #22
MIdget
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweden, Uppsala
Posts: 4
That map does'nt work for me .
When i'm running my winrar it gives me a message that the file was corrupt. Then finaly i got the file, but when I launched the map it the game freezes and a message saying "the memory could not read" or something like that comes up.


MIdget is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 01:19 PM   #23
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
What version do you have 0.1, 0.2 or 0.3?

0.1 was corrupted. What version of SWBF do you have if that matters?

There was a huge download request to my site in past two days so I am not sure... Any how, I will move my mods soon to another (faster) server/connection so it should be better.

RENDS::

http://starwarsbattlefront.filefront.com/ have my mods too so try there. They are bit slow in releasing mods, I think they have 0.2 now.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 01:34 PM   #24
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
I would download this, but it's in a rar, and I despise rars (plus I can't open them).
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 02:27 PM   #25
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Tomorrow in zip, OK? need to sleep now....


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 02:51 PM   #26
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
Quote:
Your tex is to bright and looks like stone surface from the air.


too bright? if anything, mine's too dark.


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2004, 09:16 PM   #27
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Sorry mate did not want to make you angry. I am sure I will change a lot of textures on this map until I am satisfied.

Thank you for helping tho, your help is allways appriciated.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2004, 02:00 AM   #28
MIdget
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweden, Uppsala
Posts: 4
I have the latest patch v.1.11 and I have deathstar 0.3 or what its called.


MIdget is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2004, 03:43 AM   #29
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Explorer should state 13,576 KB for Eddie_DeathStarV03.rar. If you have smaller size, try to download again.

General remark: Soon I will trasfer all my stuff to real and fast server so stay tuned.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2004, 07:17 AM   #30
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
I'm not upset. I'm just trying to steer your texture search in the right direction. Hell, I even said mine was bad...you were more diplomatic to me than I was.


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2004, 08:53 AM   #31
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
he he cool.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2004, 11:10 AM   #32
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally posted by TK-8252
I would download this, but it's in a rar, and I despise rars (plus I can't open them).
Zip is also out TK


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2004, 07:19 PM   #33
Inv8r_ZIM
Lurker
 
Inv8r_ZIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Well, if anyone wants to let me know where I can find specs on the format requirements, I'd be delighted to have a crack at some textures...I'm thinking of some Maya renders as a way of getting some nice looking stuff.
Inv8r_ZIM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-26-2004, 01:18 PM   #34
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
Just post it as any photoshop-readable format, it doesnt matter. I'll convert it (or he will, whoever gets to it first)

Also, in some pics I've seen of this, I think you put in the wrong type of turrets...I think that one (or two at the most) bespin AA turrets would do well. If you want, I could re-texture them so that they fit into the map better.


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2004, 12:57 PM   #35
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
No, these types of turrent are the ones available for all levles (Small ones). AAT are exclusive bes1 map weapons. Death Star is based on nab2 so AAT's for now, there are not movable to other levels...


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2004, 02:03 PM   #36
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
I thought you said that it was based off of the bes1 map because it allowed for the most flyers...


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2004, 02:32 PM   #37
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
He he, well let me explaint it this way. misson.lvl is from bes1 which is set to highest number of flyers - level.lvl is based on nab2 map which is flat (without hills) so I could turn it into death star kinda map. Now, all stuff defined in mission is from general side folder and AATs are exclusivly defined in bes1 map.lvl so I could not use it in nab2 map. It would be great if they defined AATs in SIDE so they could be used in any level like all other weapons... maybe one day...


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-27-2004, 02:39 PM   #38
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
Have you tried copying the whole turret? just ge the meshes, textures, sound references, and everything else from bes1.


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2004, 12:27 AM   #39
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Dorsai:: Easy to say, hard to do. I will get to it eventualy...

Anyhow, I have moved all of my mods/maps to http://www.gametoast.com

Now you can get them much faster. (under downloads - mini mods)


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-02-2004, 05:04 AM   #40
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
I started to make complitly new death star map based on mod1. Thanks to dorsai's suggestion i managed to import AAT's in my map. So far so good.

You can follow the progress at:

http://www.eline.ba/Default.aspx?tabid=155

eddie.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Modding & Editing > Death Star Mod (Download)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.