lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Endor Siege
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-12-2004, 11:15 AM   #41
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
The fog is icky. Thin it out a little, make it a light brownish-green fog and add whatever key it is to the worldspawn that makes fog not start being drawn till some distance away from the player. That'll go better with the forest scene.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2004, 03:08 PM   #42
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
It's really hard trying to get some depth to the forest.
I'm working on some custome textures for the skybox.

I've been fiddling with the fog for ages.
BUT - (At least for me) fog doesn't seem to draw in front of a sky shader.
Anyone know a parameter (or shader line) to fix that problem?

Also using a portal sky is problematic - in as much as I can see through the side of the map into the underground bunker!!!
Getting the atmosphere of this thing right is going to require a LOT of tinkering.
Funilly enough, the grass sprite shader I'm using at the moment won't show up when in first / 3rd person view but it does when looking through the sniper scope!!!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2004, 04:19 PM   #43
Lindsey
Junior Member
 
Lindsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally posted by monsoontide

Funilly enough, the grass sprite shader I'm using at the moment won't show up when in first / 3rd person view but it does when looking through the sniper scope!!!

I've had that problem alot too, not quite sure how to fix it, but you might try making a small brush out of the texture, as the sprite seemed to work when the brush was relatively small.

On an related note, Monsoon, any chance I could borrow those tree models your using? They look kick ass, and I was planning on making a small Endor map for the Movie Battles 2 mod, though its hard to find any Endor like trees these days
Lindsey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2004, 12:36 AM   #44
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Hmmm. you can borrow the trees... after I've done a bit more work on them - they're not quite right yet (Currently it's just one tree as well - I need to make a couple more variations.)


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2004, 01:48 PM   #45
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
after all where are the pictures?


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2004, 04:17 PM   #46
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
In the immortal words of Rgoer, "I got phonged up metashaded terrain working."

So the outdoor areas are starting to take shape now and will look er... natural???


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2004, 06:37 PM   #47
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Also, I was asked to do a "better" AT-ST model and since I'm doing this Endor Map, thought it would be as good a time as any. The Raven model isn't really too bad (Though the animation is er... not acurate), but there's a few tweaks I hope to be able to make to improve on it, while still trying to maintain a low poly count.

Will release the AT-ST Pilot and AT-ST as a separate pack as well as with the map.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2004, 05:02 AM   #48
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Hi monsoon, thanks for doing the AT-ST! I will get some reference pictures up soon. Untill then check out www.imageshack.us.

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2004, 12:05 PM   #49
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Won't get a chance to start on it (AT-ST) 'til after Xmas though...

I'm just sending Lil Killa the latest screenshots.

Having trouble creating the right atmosphere...
I want a cross between having fog and being able to see the skybox.
(Anyone know what the nocarve option in a fog shader means?)

Have laid down the foundation for the Ewok village but haven't really started working it yet.

I've redone the interior layout of the bunker and the generator control room.

Also anyone know if it's possible to get sprites to generate on a terrain shader? I've made them work on the individual ground shaders but they won't show up as part of the terrain shader...


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2004, 04:23 PM   #50
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
and the shots:














http://www.lkmods.net/tmp/mon/Endor_11.jpg

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2004, 04:28 PM   #51
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Thats fine.

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2004, 04:52 PM   #52
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally posted by wedge2211
If you move the texture on the control point patches up just a tad, you won't have those wierd floating rings above the gradients.
I also still think the fog should have a brown component, less blue-green and more brown-green (think of the colors you'd see in a forest as it faded into the distance).

You can make a skybox show through fog by adding the line "q3map_nofog" or "nofog" to the sky shader under all the surfaceparms. I forget which specifically, try q3map_nofog first. Then, you can use the skybox as a foghull and the game will stop drawing your map at some distant point beyond the fog, but you'll always be able to see the sky images. I used this trick in my Corellian Platform Encounter duel to achieve a lightning-in-foggy-storm effect.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2004, 05:13 PM   #53
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
You may need to hit "refresh" in order to see the new pix above.

I really don't want to have much fog - like in the last two screenshots (It's supposed to be more of a haze - and I' have it blue since making it more yellow or brown makes everything look really dirty - besides, distance haze tends more towards blue - since that's what I'm trying for rather than a fog as such - but I'm still tinkering and these are by no means final in any way) but it's that whole fps thing and I'm trying to disguise my distancecull settings.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2004, 07:03 PM   #54
Lindsey
Junior Member
 
Lindsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Posts: 340
Nice Battlefront textures
Lindsey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2004, 09:47 PM   #55
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Thanks... They've been very handy... Just like using a regular texture set - though it's taken some work to convert them to JA


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2004, 06:47 AM   #56
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally posted by monsoontide
making it more yellow or brown makes everything look really dirty
You can probably avoid this by making the fog not be drawn until some distance away from the player. That can be achieved with a worldspawn key that I unfortunately don't know...think GothiX does. That way things'll look "clean" until they suddenly fade into the forest.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2004, 08:45 AM   #57
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
_fogstart

And those terrain textures look horrible. Relief should be achieved via architecture, not textures.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2004, 11:42 AM   #58
Nokill
Veteran
 
Nokill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Unknown
Posts: 832
i have to say there is some nice progress in this map hope it will keep on getting better



Site: Clicky
Nokill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2004, 03:22 PM   #59
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
GothicX - what are you talking about????

I know the ewok platform textures look terrible, but I haven't had a chance to "res them up" yet, and haven't decided the best way to make the platforms yet, whether using brushes, or making a md3 or ase - but it's a trade of between detail and fps, quality and speed.
As for the terrain, it was generated by that terrain generating program. The textures themselves are unforunately small, but since I can't just wander out into a redwood forrest and take photo's I'm kinda limited.
If you know where I can get better redwood forrest textures, by all means let me know.
Currently I'm just trying to get the damn map working fast enough for multi-player.
I am always open to helpful advice and input.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 12:06 AM   #60
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
you should make the triangles those "limbs" are on a lot bigger. It's a huge pole with some green sticking out of it



Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 07:06 AM   #61
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
I've built a couple more tree models, so will try and get them in the game soon.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 09:00 AM   #62
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
Why use Easygen when you can use sweet new alphaMod blending? Bah, people these days. Also, default JA has better, more flat textures, that'd work quite well for this map.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 10:53 AM   #63
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
You could make some nice low-growth vegetation by making a leafy alpha shader and putting it on some patch meshes that snake all over the ground...that'd add some depth to the terrain.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 02:02 PM   #64
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
alphaMod blending??? Perhaps if you have a tutorial (or link to tutorial) - really, I'm just trying to make this look as best I can.
The JA textures are nice but don't look like redwood forrest textures - they tend to be a bit more er... "swampy" looking.
I'll probably have to make my own - just not yet.

I've been trying to make a sprite shader for undergrowth and while it works fine as a shader by itself, I can't get it to work as part of the terrain shader - it shows up in occasional places and then only from certain angles.

Does anyone know the location of some sprite shader tutorials - it seems easy enough and my early tests looked fine - there just seems to be some conflict between the terrain shader and generating sprites.

And again, please feel free to make suggestions for what you'd like to see / be able to do as part of the Siege map.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 04:56 PM   #65
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
Socks Tutorial on Simland:

http://www.planetquake.com/simland/p...terrain1_1.htm

What GothiX is talking of is the
"DotProduct2 + Alpha Fade Terrain" Function.

I'm also fiddling around with it ... it's by far the most advanced way to texturize a terrain in Q3.


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 06:10 PM   #66
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Reference pictures...










TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 06:45 PM   #67
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Hmm... I must be missing something - Isn't that what Easy-Gen does - alpha blending two textures together over a series of brushes to create seamlessly mapped terrain? It just all depends on the textures you are using I guess.

Thanks for the ref pix. I'm gettin 4 days off over Xmas and another 4 over New Year so hope to get some work done...

Current priority is to get the whole Siege thing up and working so if anyone is interested I'll be able to do some ALPHA testing to get the gameplay right, then I'll concentrate on getting all the detailing right.

On my last SIEGE map I think I ended up changeing about 50% of the level after the last BETA test 'cos everyone was having trouble with the lifts.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2004, 07:00 PM   #68
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Your welcome. Btw are you going to start from scratch with the AT-ST?(Ooo I hope you are going to) And I cant wait to see the animations

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2004, 06:36 AM   #69
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
Quote:
Originally posted by monsoontide
Hmm... I must be missing something - Isn't that what Easy-Gen does - alpha blending two textures together over a series of brushes to create seamlessly mapped terrain? It just all depends on the textures you are using I guess.
No, Easygen only uses stupid triangles. TWith this, you can make it all by hand. As well, Easygen doesn't do things as smoothly, and as CUSTOMISED as alphaMod.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2004, 02:38 PM   #70
Mongo05
Rookie
 
Mongo05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 143
Oh yeah, well Easygen saves you time when you actually have a life!!


Mongo05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2004, 04:50 PM   #71
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Stop that now...

Yes, I see, I've read the article a bit more thoroughly - or more to say I've glanced at it a bit more thoroughly. But you'd still have to build the terrain out of brushes anyway - I was planning to do it that way but I have MAJOR time contraints on how long I can work on this each day.
While I'm sure you are very busy yourself GothicX, perhaps you could assist me with making something better. I'm all out for making this as good as it can be as I've said before, and sometimes I just don't have either the experience or time to take care of certain aspects as well as I'd like... (Testing and retesting until you get something just right can eat up sooo much time!)

P.S. Is there a way to rotate (Non animated - just for positioning within Radiant) an .md3 model around an axis other than the vertical? (I haven't researched this yet - just thought somebody may know)


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2004, 06:06 PM   #72
Mongo05
Rookie
 
Mongo05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 143
I think you have to remodel it which sucks.


Mongo05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2004, 06:23 PM   #73
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Which is why I'm currently using the flat textures for the Ewok stuff...


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2004, 10:46 PM   #74
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
MonGo is wrong, use an "angles" key, use an X Y Z value.

And I'd love to help, but I don't map anymore, I'm afraid. You can always PM me though, if you have questions.

As for time constraints: It's Christmas soon, holidays should brig some time (assuming your boss is friendly enough to give you those days off), and hey, it's not like you have a deadline, right?


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 06:04 AM   #75
Mongo05
Rookie
 
Mongo05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 143
Oh, I know that GothiX, I thought he meant like flipping it upside down you know?


Mongo05 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 05:52 PM   #76
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Eh, you just rotate it till it's upside-down. For freestanding things like trees, the angles x y z key is all you need.

And hey, isn't there a way to make a shader generate copies of a model on its surface? The might help with grass/bushes/shrubs. Downside would be, of course, that you can't clip them, so don't try it with trees.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 07:53 PM   #77
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
I have the code for generating models on a shader surface, but I don't know if it works. Also I was reading another thread and it said that ydnar had removed that code from the current version of q3map - but I haven't confirmed that for myself yet...


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2004, 05:27 AM   #78
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
surfaceModel worked for me last time I tried.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2004, 11:21 PM   #79
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Wow..not a bad map. Not as good as mine but not bad. :P

Been a long time chaps. I don't map anymore like Gothix there. I am thinking of finishing up 2 or more old JK2 maps lying around though.

Monsoon, I gave LDJ all my files regarding my ENDOR map for JA. If you like maybe email him or I might be able to get some old PK3s lying around. That's 'IF' you want them. I spent a while building a terrain model for a portalsky that turned out real nice. This is also included in the PK3. Pahricida has my tree model you might like. I don't know if he fixed it though...(was Z fighting :S)

If anyones interested you can email me for the files since I wont be needing them. Lots of custom textures and models by me. Map itself is UBER BIG.

rkbrode@hotmail.com

Quote:
Originally posted by GothiX
surfaceModel worked for me last time I tried.
surfacemodel = PWNS


Good seeing you guys still at it........


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-30-2004, 11:43 AM   #80
Neon
Veteran
 
Neon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 980
Hmm, but we also need ewoks
Neon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Mapping > Endor Siege

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.