lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Endor Siege
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-18-2005, 01:49 PM   #161
Lindsey
Junior Member
 
Lindsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Posts: 340
best of luck, try to make more areas detail or you have a bad brush somewhere, I once had a map screw up the lighting cause of these little spheres that were detail trim on some things.
Lindsey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-18-2005, 11:02 PM   #162
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
What lighting problems?


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-18-2005, 11:43 PM   #163
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Trees!

The problem is of course, the trees.
To get it to look like a forest you need a **** load of these - otherwise it looks like really sparse and not like endor at all.
Hence, the comping time is just phenominal at the moment.

Really, I have to get the enthusiasm to go back through and rework the positions and sizes of all the trees.

Trying to make stuff look like a forest in the Quake engine is a nightmare.

If I could've had a little word to Id/Raven about the way the maps blend into the skybox!!!

So currently it looks like a forest - but I can't be arsed waiting four days for it to comp. (And there's three separate maps now!)

Need to rebuild my enthusiasm for the project.
Perhaps seeing Ep3 tonight after work will get me going again.

Still... it will get finished!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2005, 01:09 PM   #164
Kalos
Rookie
 
Kalos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 28
reb commando

the screens dont show!!!!! i really wanna see the screens of rebel commando. When willl the model come out? I really really really want it!
Kalos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2005, 11:26 PM   #165
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
Is this project still up and running, or dead?

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2005, 03:16 AM   #166
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Exclamation Perfect Hibernation

Ha Ha!
Surprise.
Erm... it's been in hibernation for a while.
Acutally would like some help getting it finished or it may never happen.
I just don't have the time I need to get it done by myself...
It's three maps that form one big map that all link to one another.
+ I still have to finsih my Endor Rebel Soldier - so if anyone is interested in helping it would be greatly appreciated although I realize the community is a lot smaller now.

Monsoontide


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2005, 07:32 AM   #167
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
I do however have another map in development that I am much happier with - it's based on a location in the "Heir To The Empire" novel by Timothy Zhan.
It's about 65% done.
Screenshots when I can.
It's so hard to make time when you have job, wife, kids & mistress!!! LOL


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-31-2005, 10:16 PM   #168
TK-425
Forumite
 
TK-425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Show me the way.
Posts: 623
You devil, you

Actually that wasn't appropriate, but moving on....

TK-425 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2005, 03:11 PM   #169
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
How about this one... dead or still going?

The wife kick you out yet?


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2005, 12:49 PM   #170
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Ha ha, funny you should mention that, as I've just managed to fix some of the map/shader problems I've been having with this one... so things should be back on track (Apart from the fact I absolutley loathe doing handrails!!! LOL) - If I can just get the Siege Battle Posts to work properly everything should be a go!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2005, 07:52 PM   #171
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Endor Siege... Part 1

Alrighty!
Got a list of about 25 things to do and then part one will be ready for Alpha testing...
Mostly small stuff like fixing a few triggers and making sure all the objectives work (currently the Rebel team's all work - haven't had a chance to test the imperial team) and doing all the siege stuff - Making map, Objective Pix and Objective Icons - which kinda have to be done after you've made the map!
Only Major things are finishing all the frickin hand rails and completing the Rebel Commando model... (Currently using the Jan Ors model here)

Once part 1 is finished, then I'll finish off parts two and 3 which are not too far behind part one (about 65%-75% done!)

Screenshots after the next compile... (So hopefully by Saturday/Sunday)


Monsoontide

Last edited by monsoontide; 10-13-2005 at 07:53 PM. Reason: Adding more of an explanation...
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2005, 08:16 PM   #172
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
sweet.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 09:23 PM   #173
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
As per usual, I change something and the map won't comp the lighting stage any more...

OK - its nearly all good to go but I have one problem...
I'm currently using a func_static with the "shader switch" option set so it flips between two images.
What I really need is one that flips between 3 that I can set manually.
i.e. so it starts as neutral (white) and depending on which team activates it, changes to either red or blue.
Anyone know of a key/valu combo, shader or script I can use to do this?

So close and yet still so far....... going craaaaaazy! LOL

Will still post some pix today, but they won;t be lit and will look sucky.


Monsoontide

Last edited by monsoontide; 10-15-2005 at 09:36 PM. Reason: adding some details
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 02:13 AM   #174
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Question Also - A Question on NPC behaviours?

In the entity definition for spawning NPC's, it says:

"These strings can be used to activate behaviors instead of scripts - these are checked first and so no scripts should be names with these names:
default - 0: whatever
idle - 1: Stand around, do abolutely nothing
roam - 2: Roam around, collect stuff
walk - 3: Crouch-Walk toward their goals
run - 4: Run toward their goals
standshoot - 5: Stay in one spot and shoot- duck when neccesary
standguard - 6: Wait around for an enemy
patrol - 7: Follow a path, looking for enemies
huntkill - 8: Track down enemies and kill them
evade - 9: Run from enemies
evadeshoot - 10: Run from enemies, shoot them if they hit you
runshoot - 11: Run to your goal and shoot enemy when possible
defend - 12: Defend an entity or spot?
snipe - 13: Stay hidden, shoot enemy only when have perfect shot and back turned
combat - 14: Attack, evade, use cover, move about, etc. Full combat AI - id NPC code
medic - 15: Go for lowest health buddy, hide and heal him.
takecover - 16: Find nearest cover from enemies
getammo - 17: Go get some ammo
advancefight - 18: Go somewhere and fight along the way
face - 19: turn until facing desired angles
wait - 20: do nothing
formation - 21: Maintain a formation
crouch - 22: Crouch-walk toward their goals "


What are the KEY/VALUE settings to get these to actually work?
(I know it should be KEY: spawnscript, but what's the value? Is it VALUE: medic, VALUE: medic - 15, VALUE: 15???)
And is there anything else you need to do?
Hell! are these even implemented in JKA?

Thanks
Monsoontide


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 03:50 AM   #175
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Considering the func_static of different colours, should it work for both teams independently? I mean should both team be able to go there and change it to their own colour, or just the team that happens to find it first? To be more specific, should it always be first white for both team, no matter if the other has found it before, or does the first team to find it kind of lock it to their own colour?


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 04:29 AM   #176
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Well, it would start of neutral (unowned) then it would turn eith blue or red depending on which team CURRENTLY "owns" it. Ownership can change hands several times. It would only START as white at the beginning of each round.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 04:46 AM   #177
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Post Some screenshots - currently unlit, so they look EXTRA sh*tty

Hollow Log bridge + River objective (Currently "owned" by the Rebels).


Stolen Imperial Shuttle (Currently "owned" by the Rebels).


A bridge into the Ewok village.


Running through the forest.


Rebel Trooper on Speeder Bike by Imperial Scout Outpost (Currently "owned" by the Imperials)


Inside The Bunker


Oh, I'm using simple 2D textures on things for two reasons 1: SPEED - 2:I'd go INSANE trying to model all those logs in RADIANT! And NO I'm not doing them as a misc_model since every platform is different and then I'd be going mad clipping everything. However as the textures were pinched from BATTLEFRONT and are rather LO-RES, I still have to take the time out to redraw them properly.


Monsoontide

Last edited by monsoontide; 10-16-2005 at 04:50 AM. Reason: Adding more description on texture usage
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 08:25 AM   #178
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by monsoontide
Well, it would start of neutral (unowned) then it would turn eith blue or red depending on which team CURRENTLY "owns" it. Ownership can change hands several times. It would only START as white at the beginning of each round.
So... It starts white. If a Blue team member finds it and uses it, it turns blue (or analogously to red if a Red member uses it). But if the Blue member uses it again when it's already blue, it does nothing. But if a Red member uses the blue entity, it turns red.

A neat problem you have got there... My initial instinct would be to rather use three separate entities, perhaps func_usables, rather than one entity and try to control animmaps (or something).

Func_usable seems to have a "teamuser" key for specifically Siege purposes. If you used it with scripting (or a bunch of target_activates and _deactivates) it should be possible to build a hack that would work like I described in the first paragraph of this post.

Like deactivating the one that's visible and activating the one that's invisible. The white one in the beginning should be accessible to both and would be rendered permanently inactive when used once.

Hmm... Considering the start situation scripting might be easier...

Another solution I have also used (kind of, in SP) would be to have a visible, inaccessible func_usable with 2 frame switchable animmap for boths colours. Then the actual accessible func_usables would be made of caulk and thus invisible, but usable. They would then just use the visible func_usable (or the func_static switch shader you suggested yourself). Of course this solution would also require a completely separate white brush as the empty starting piece.

Well, this is all theoretical and based on my imagination. I wouldn't even know how to test something in Siege. The only thing I can do in MP is to devmap and I think that launches a map always in FFA...


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 02:50 PM   #179
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Had been wondering if it was possible to set each anim frame on a shader as a "parm" parameter on the entity and have a script call the appropriate parameter/frame...
Hmmm.... Currently just using a workaround with just Red & Blue. It's crude but adequate.
Will have to look into this more.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 04:57 PM   #180
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
I don't think that's possible. As far as I know, it's just possible to "scroll" through them all one by one, and after you reach the last, it will begin a new round from the first frame. That's the func_usable function with "endframe" defined.


Frozen by ICARUS
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 08:20 PM   #181
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
The reason I ask about the "default" NPC behaviours, is because when you "capture" an objective, you'll get a couple of NPC buddies spawning in to help you.
I just to be able to set their behavior in the entity window if as suggested, that is actually possible. However, I imagine it'll have to be done the long way!

Map is currently comping 12+ hours so far... will find out when I get home if it's still going....
Funny you know the map comps fine overnight - then I "fix" the skybox and part of the terrain that weren't lining up properly and WHAM - comp time goes throught the roof!!! Must be doing it "properly" now

If I can get this comp to finish the lighting stage, I'll be putting this map up at www.pcgamemods.com as an ALPHA test. So I can get a bit of feedback on how/if it plays.


Monsoontide

Last edited by monsoontide; 10-16-2005 at 08:24 PM. Reason: ading some detals
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-18-2005, 07:07 PM   #182
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Not so good. Three days of compiling and it still wasn't done... (And it was only taking one night not so long ago) So its back to the drawing board, cuttnig and pasting Elements from one map into a brand new map, piece by piece... doing a test compile. If it works, we move on to the next piece. I hate this... Is there any way to tell if the comp is actually making PROGRESS/doing anything?


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-18-2005, 07:35 PM   #183
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Try asking in the map forum. They might know.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-18-2005, 10:56 PM   #184
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
If you know which compile stage is taking too long, don't log that stage. Just watch the command window and see what part of the process it hangs up on, and we can comment further on possible causes.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 01:31 AM   #185
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Ok, I've worked it out...
Was being slightly naughty and trying to duplicate and flip my terrain to extend it.
However it was originally 4 units off, (and compiled fine) when I aligned it perfectly, it seems that it had problems telling the difference between the two sections of terrain - thus not comping.
I've reintroduced the offset between the terrain entites and it comps fine now!!!
So hopefully that's all it is!


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 10:45 AM   #186
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
That sounds...backwards. Compiling quickly when things are misaligned, I mean.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 09:35 PM   #187
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
In this case I think it was because the compiler is trying to treat the two separate terrain pieces as one was what was the problem.
By offsetting the second duplicate piece, it then regonizes them as being separate...
Not 100% certain - still testing...


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 11:58 AM   #188
Lindsey
Junior Member
 
Lindsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Posts: 340
have you ever considered making a map like this in Half-Life 2?

I've been mapping for it lately and never want to go back to Radiant :P

Glad to see your still working hard on this project and I wish you and your compiler luck!
Lindsey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 03:02 PM   #189
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
I Dunno - I gess I'm just jaded but I found Half-Life 2 really um... well it was OK... but the whole game is really on rails if you know what I mean and I'm OHHHHHHHHH so tired of GRUNGE. They make these wonderful gaming engines that can do some beautiful things and all anyone can do is grungey dilapidated post apocalyptic scenarios.
And all I've seen anyone developing for Half-Life 2 in the mod community is contemporary or near future modern warefare crap.
I just haven't felt inspired enough by the new game engines.
The only reason I did maps for Jedi Knight is 'cos the Multiplayer had SAGA/SIEGE modes which seemed interesting as I'm dead bored of every other multiplayer mode.
Maybe if Battlefront 2 comes with some DECENT modding tools then I might do something - but knowing Pandemic, it won't.
Besides, I've given away my Half-Life 2 now.

OH off topic - but did anyone else think that King Kong demo sucked a*s?


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 03:27 PM   #190
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Ewok Village At Night (WIP)

Darth Vader enters the Ewok Village in pursuit of the Rebels...


Imagine the Ewok carnage!


Thank the Maker?


OK, this is how it is looking... still haven't put my Redwood Tree models back in yet (or any of the Siege Objectives)


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 08:49 PM   #191
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by monsoontide
The only reason I did maps for Jedi Knight is 'cos the Multiplayer had SAGA/SIEGE modes which seemed interesting as I'm dead bored of every other multiplayer mode.
http://www.moviebattles.com/

*hint* *hint*


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 11:22 PM   #192
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
If this ends up to your liking, you're welcome to include it in Movie Battles.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 06:50 AM   #193
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
Well that was not really my intention.
I would though but our maps objectives are quite different than in siege, but we'll see once it's out.

You said JKA bored you and that you only played Siege/Saga so I thought I'd just direct you to our mod since it contains everything those two offer in a polished and improved form.

But enough of the advertise-abuse in this thread.


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 08:38 PM   #194
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
RANTING!!!! LOL

No, no - you misunderstand me... I really enjoyed Jedi Academy... Otherwise I wouldn't be wasting my time doing this...
It's more that recent fps games have been kinda dull and samey...
Doom 3, Half-Life 2, Quake 4 (Currently giving it a whirl but my poor PC can barely cope with it!!! LOL). From the Demo I've played of FEAR, that sucks too. Gears Of War on X-box looks like more of the same - impressive game engines but just nothing going on originality wise or really trying to push the games with something really new GAMEPLAY wise. Sure there's buckets of atmosphere but thats about it.
The only games I've enjoyed of late has been Grand Theft Auto SanAndreas (Free roaming total environment), Star Wars Battlefront (Star Wars Combat on large scale), Lego Star Wars (Cos it was kinda cool in a silly way and had lots of secret stuff to find), oh and I like Far Cry (cos it had a cool open ended approach to achieving things (and was in a cool environment - well mostly)).
There just seems to be this huge movement towards making everything grungy and ugly and all sort of near future urban combat.
Its dull, dull, dull.
I loved Halo but the 2nd one, I just couldn't get into (probably cos I was playing on the X-box and just hate using contorllers for FPS games)
Everything gets dumbed down for console releases now.
Personally, I'd love to make a really kickass Jedi Knight sequel thats somewhat of a cross between Jedi Academy, KOTOR2, Gran Theft Auto and Battlefront.
And it would have to have really solid saber combat (You know, like where the lightsabers don't pass through each other) and really solid force powers, I mean with the current physics engines, you should be able to pick up an entire X-wing and wave it around... LOL.

But its all my opinion and since I've been playing video games for like twenty years I guess I'm just looking for something new gameplay wise.
Pretty graphics do not a decent game make.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2005, 03:41 PM   #195
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
I tend to agree.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2005, 08:40 PM   #196
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
OK back on Topic!!! I have nearly everything working (and lighting!) so - just need to do a few more tweaks (like adding more spawn points for the teams - currently there's only one each! LOL) maybe adding a couple more tree models.
It's far from complete but I WILL be releasing it for ALPHA testing in the next week.
NO!!! REALLY!!!
Though I won't be interested in any feedback about how crap it looks and that I haven't done all the handrails yet and that textyre X looks crap. I'm just wanting to know if it plays well and if the teams are balanced and if the objectives are um, for want of a better word "playable!"
Alas PC Gamemods is down at the moment...


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2005, 11:59 AM   #197
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
so I assume it'll be open for testing to everyone.
What about Lucasfiles?


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2005, 03:22 PM   #198
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Yep... open Beta (Alpha.. whatever)
I'll try and post it to a few places.
Was gonna have it for today, but I updated a texture and it didn't replace it properly, so I have to go through the map and realign every instance. Sigh.
Should get it done tonight and have it ready for tomorrow


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-26-2005, 03:18 AM   #199
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Arrow

Please, please, please tell me that even if you decide to toss this map in with moviebattles, that you DO release a version for us "vanilla" Siege folks!

Some of us would rather just run a siege map than that mod (no offense to the MB2 fans of course).

There are so few addon Siege maps as it is, don't let MB2 suck up EVERY good idea! Don't get me wrong, MB2 looks to be a quality mod, but it changes the gameplay of basejka (plus it's over 90 megs!). Plenty of us find Siege quite fun as it is. We just want more maps to play it on!

Also, don't forget to include the Objectives icons on the radar! (Too many maps have just glowing dots, which gets confusing and looks crappy).

Looks awesome so far. I had given up hope somewhat on this, as many other awesome siege projects that got sidetracked or died (like the ill-fated Siege Hoth).

Good luck!

PS: I can post a mirror of any files if you want, in a reasonable timeframe, if that will help. Just email them to me zipped with instructions.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-26-2005, 08:09 AM   #200
CerberuS_21
Rookie
 
CerberuS_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurgan
Please, please, please tell me that even if you decide to toss this map in with moviebattles, that you DO release a version for us "vanilla" Siege folks!
Well, as far as I can see monssontide only stated that if Pahricida wanted to convert it to a MBII map he could do it. He didn't say he was making it as a MBII map

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurgan
There are so few addon Siege maps as it is, don't let MB2 suck up EVERY good idea!
I don't think we've ever "sucked up" any good idea for Siege maps (as in - persuaded people who originally wanted to make a basejka map to make it a MBII one). All our maps are either heavily modified FFA maps (which were originally released for basejka/basejo - e.g. Jabba's Palace, Sith-J's Tatooine map etc) or have been made specifically for MBII (i.e. the mappers didn't want it to be a Siege map in the first place).

Don't get me wrong - I'm taking no offense from your post. Just wanted to clear that up Before I joined the MBII team I've been a long-time Siege player as well and I agree that Siege desperately needs some (good) new maps.

------------
On topic:

Looks very nice, monsoontide.

I've already been a big fan of Bast Castle and I'm sure as a map that's been designed with a more linear layout this one will turn out even better playability-wise Just don't include lifts of doom

Out of curiosity - which filesize does Endor have atm? If it's close to the one of Bast Castle you might want to hint server admins at increasing sv_timeout - I remember that when testing Bast Castle quite a few people couldn't join the server (due to the filesize they timed out before the map had finished loading on their comp) if that cvar was set to the standard value.


Last edited by CerberuS_21; 10-26-2005 at 08:27 AM.
CerberuS_21 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Mapping > Endor Siege

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.