lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Error!!!!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-08-2004, 04:31 PM   #1
Winduwt105
 
Winduwt105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Behind Enemy Lines
Posts: 162
Error!!!!

Whenever i start Kotor it is okay but then when i create a new game and hit the play button after creating my character an error message pops up first it was a dwwin.exe error but then i took the mods i had in the override file out and the one that pops up now is something about swkotor.exe would not initialize or something like that.


Winduwt105 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2004, 05:26 PM   #2
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Re: Error!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Winduwt105
Whenever i start Kotor it is okay but then when i create a new game and hit the play button after creating my character an error message pops up first it was a dwwin.exe error but then i took the mods i had in the override file out and the one that pops up now is something about swkotor.exe would not initialize or something like that.
Quote:
"dwwin.exe" is Dr Watson which is used by the error reporting tool. Alot of security related applications will throw up warning flags about this file trying to read, write or modify a number of other .exe files. This isn't anything to worry about because it's only trying to investigate "events" that it believes is causing problems that may lead to crashing.

File can be found:
*:\windows\system32\dwwin.exe

The biggest complaint about the error reporting service is it causing alot of various applications to not load or crash during use. Quite a few of these can be fixed by downloading updates from windows update and scanning for viruses/spyware but alot of others simply won't be fixed with the currently available updates. In that case you'll want to just disable the service! After that 90% of the time the program will then run properly. - source
Concerning initializing, Do/did you have mods installed that placed files in your modules folder as well (new areas, new planets, etc.)? If so, those files could be trying to call up a file in the override (that's no longer there). You'll need to remove those files as well. That 'might' be the problem.

May want to do a fresh install of KotOR, after updating and scanning your system (otherwise you may get the dwwin error again).

Hopefully that helps, but keep us updated


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2004, 02:06 AM   #3
Winduwt105
 
Winduwt105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Behind Enemy Lines
Posts: 162
yes i do have a file in the module folder and will take it out then report back if i have any other problems.


Winduwt105 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Error!!!!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.